Skip Maine state header navigation
Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation
|Home | Contact Us | About Us | Forms, Publications & Applications| Laws & Rules|
Training and Certification
The Property Tax Division provides three basic courses in property tax administration for local assessors, which are offered periodically at various locations throughout the State. Our staff also conducts an annual one-week intensive Maine Property Tax School. The School provides a review of the basic courses as well as more advanced material, and serves as preparation for the 7-hour certification exam, administered four times each year. Exams are provided at two levels; a limited designation of Certified Assessment Technician and a more comprehensive designation of Certified Maine Assessor.
Assessment Technicians and Certified Assessors must complete 16 hours of classroom training each year to maintain certification. This requirement can be fulfilled with directly related training in appraisal or indirectly related but relevant subject areas.
If you have any questions, contact the Chief of Training and Certification,
Note: PDF format requires the free Adobe Reader to view.
|Copyright © 2005 All rights reserved.|