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PREAMBLE

WHEREAS, the Executive Branch of the State of
Maine (hereinafter referred to as "State" or "employer")
and the Maine State Troopers Association (hereinafter
referred to as the "Association") desire to establish a
constructive, cooperative and harmonious relationship;
to set forth the Agreement in relation to salaries, wages,
hours of work, and other terms and conditions of
employment; to promote and increase efficiency and
quality of service from employees; to avoid any
interruption or interference with the operation of the
employer; to promote effective service towards the
accomplishment of the mission of the Bureau of State
Police; and to establish an equitable and peaceful proce-
dure for the resolution of differences;

THEREFORE, this Agreement by and between the
parties is entered into December 29, 2021.

ARTICLE 1
APPROVAL OF THE LEGISLATURE

It is agreed by and between the parties that any
provision of this Agreement requiring legislative action
to permit its implementation by amendment of law, or
by providing the additional funds therefore, shall not
become effective wuntil the Legislature has taken
necessary action. The parties agree to mutually support
all necessary legislation. The State shall be responsible
for preparing such legislation and securing its introduc-
tion.

ARTICLE 2
ASSOCIATION RECOGNITION

Pursuant to the Maine Labor Relations Board
certification dated March 28, 1977, the State recognizes
the Maine State Troopers Association as the sole and
exclusive bargaining representative for negotiations with

respect to wages, hours of work and other conditions of
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employment of employees included in the State Police
Unit.

For the purpose of this Agreement the terms
"employee", "employees", "member" and "members" refer
to employees included in the State Police Unit who have
completed six (6) months of continuous service in the
Bureau of State Police.

Nothing in this article shall affect or impair the
right of the State to consult or meet with individual
members or a group of members.

In the event of a dispute between the parties as to
future inclusions or exclusions from the unit, either
party to this Agreement may apply to the Maine Labor
Relations Board for resolution of the dispute.

ARTICLE 3
BEREAVEMENT LEAVE

Each employee covered by this Agreement shall be
allowed up to forty (40) hours leave with full pay for
absences resulting from the death of a spouse,
significant other (as defined in the Sick Leave Article,
child, or parent, and up to twenty-four (24) hours leave
with full pay for absences resulting from the death of
any other member of the employee's immediate family,
as defined in the Sick Leave Article.

Employees may use bereavement leave in hourly
increments.

40 hours of leave for the death of the following relatives:
Relatives of the employee
Spouse
Significant Other
Child

Parent

24 hours of leave for the death of the following relatives:

Relatives of the employee Relatives of the
Spouse/Significant Other

Stepparent Parent

Guardian




Brother
Sister
Stepbrother
Stepsister
Grandparent
Grandchild
Stepchild
Ward

ARTICLE 4
BULLETIN BOARDS

The State agrees to make space available on each
barracks bulletin board for posting of Association
notices of meetings, recreational or social affairs,
elections or other appropriate notices and literature.
The Association is solely responsible for posting in terms
of accuracy and ethical standards. In no case shall
information be posted that is obscene, profane or
derogatory to any individual or State official.

In the event of a dispute of appropriateness or
material posted, a representative of the Association shall
meet with the Troop Commander and the material shall
be removed until the dispute is resolved.

ARTICLE 5
CELL PHONE ALLOWANCE

Members are required to provide cell phone
availability during core hours or while in work status.
Members will receive a cell phone allowance of sixty
dollars ($60.00) per month. This allowance shall be paid
on a semiannual basis in January and July and shall be
prorated for those employees who become eligible or
terminate employment between the semi-annual
payments.



ARTICLE 6
COMPENSATION

1. Pay Cycle

A. Effective after the implementation of the State’s
new payroll system, the State will move to one pay cycle.
In order to accomplish this, employees currently on
cycle B will move to cycle A. Information regarding the
change to one pay cycle will be communicated with
employees in advance.

B. The State shall prepare, secure introduction
of and recommend passage by the Legislature of
necessary and appropriate legislation to provide the
economic benefits described in this article.

C. The State agrees to continue to pay the costs
of the seven and one-half percent (72%) retirement
contribution as previously agreed to pursuant to 5
M.R.S.A. §17702.

2. General Salary Increase

A. Effective with the pay week commencing
closest to March 6, 2022, employees shall be provided an
across-the-board salary increase of two (2%) added to the
base hourly rate, rounded to the nearest cent. Salary
schedules shall be increased accordingly.

B. Effective during an employee’s payday closest
to March 6, 2022, full time employees receiving a
paycheck for hours worked or leave time in lieu of time
worked will receive a two thousand dollar ($2000) lump
sum payment, less applicable taxes and deductions. This
lump-sum amount will be pro-rated for seasonal and
part-time employees. Intermittent employees covered by
this Agreement will be eligible on a pro-rated basis based
upon hours worked in the twelve months immediately
prior to January 1, 2022.

C. Effective with the start of the pay week
commencing closest to July 1, 2022, employees shall be

provided an across-the-board salary increase of four
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percent (4%) added to the base hourly rate, rounded to
the nearest cent. Salary schedules shall be increased
accordingly.

3. Trooper Step Adjustments

Step 1 is the “Academy Rate”; should the salary
grade change, the Academy Rate goes at the beginning
of the new salary grade as Step 1, and the former Step 1
becomes Step 2, etc.

a. A recruit that is hired as a blue pinner with 5-9
years of full time service from another Law Enforcement
Agency, shall be placed at step 3 upon hire.

b. A recruit that is hired as a blue pinner with 10+
years of full-time service from another Law Enforcement
Agency, shall be placed at step 4 upon hire.

A Trooper that has not been hired as a blue pinner
shall advance to step 2 upon graduation from the
BLETP. A Trooper shall thereafter be advanced
pursuant to the Salary Schedule Progression paragraph
below. Promotions, demotions, and transfers will be
implemented pursuant to Personnel Rules.

4. Salary Schedule Progression

Employees in this unit who have not yet reached
the maximum of their grade shall be advanced to the
next higher step of their grade upon the completion of
each year of service which satisfactorily meets
performance standards.

Once the HRMS system has the capability, merit
increases earned as set forth above shall be effective on
the employee’s anniversary date.

Any grievance arising from the denial of a merit
step increase shall not be arbitrable under this
Agreement, but shall be handled pursuant to existing
procedures.



5. Non-Standard Workweek Premium

A. Classifications determined by the Bureau of
Human Resources to meet the following criteria shall be
designated as non-standard:

(1) Positions in a classification have been
determined by the Bureau of Human
Resources to be exempt for overtime
compensation from the Fair Labor
Standards Act;

(2) Employees are required by working
conditions to work a variable workweek
in excess of hours specified for non-
exempt employees; and

(3) Employees’ workweek are irregular and
work hours cannot be scheduled or
determined except by the employee.

B. Employees in a classification which is
designated as non-standard shall be compensated at a
rate of sixteen percent (16%) above the basic rates in
their salary grades, except that any position that is
found by the Bureau of Human Resources not to be
exempt from the Fair Labor Standards Act for overtime
compensation purposes shall not be designated non-
standard.

C. In the event that the exempt status of any
employee in any position designated by the Bureau of
Human Resources to be non-standard is subsequently
found to be incorrect by the U.S. Department of Labor
or a court of competent jurisdiction, the parties agree
that the State may:

(1) Put the member on the standard work
schedule consistent  with  other
bargaining unit employees who are
covered by the FLSA; or

(2) Readjust the employee’s duties to meet
FLSA exemption requirements.

The parties agree further that nothing in this
section restricts the State from exercising any appeal
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rights the State may have in relation to such
determination of coverage.

6. Court Time

Any member of the bargaining unit who, in his/her
official capacity is called to appear as a witness by an
administrative, Federal, district or superior court in civil
proceedings or criminal proceedings on a regular
scheduled day off or scheduled time off, shall be paid for
the hours so spent at one and one-half (1'2) of his/her
regular hourly rate for a minimum of four (4) hours.
This paragraph provides benefits in addition to those
presently provided pursuant to 25 M.R.S.A. §1504.

In those instances where a member is on vacation
or compensating time off, he/she shall be paid at the
appropriate hourly rate for the hours so spent, unless
the vacation or compensating time was approved prior
to the establishment of the court date or during the
member's off shift.

7. Acting Capacity

When the Chief or Deputy Chief specifically assigns
an employee the full responsibilities of a higher rank for
a period in excess of six (6) consecutive workdays, the
employee shall be paid as if he/she had been promoted
during such assignment unless it is otherwise mutually
agreed upon by the member and management. In the
case of such agreement, the employee may remain at
his/her current pay and status for up to sixty (60) days,
after which time the employee shall assume Acting
Capacity and shall be paid as if he/she had been
promoted during such assignment.

8. Availability Pay

In recognition of the unique on-call availability
requirement of Law Enforcement, availability pay of
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eighty-five cents ($.85) per hour shall be added to the
base hourly rate for all members of the association.

Effective until June 30, 2022, Pilots, Sergeants,
Pilot Supervisors and Polygraph Examiner Supervisors
shall be eligible to receive $3,800 annually, as they are
required, during their ‘on call time’, to take calls of
pending complaints or questions and answer those
questions or assign the question or call for service to
staff as appropriate. This availability pay also covers the
times when Pilots, Sergeants, Pilot Supervisors and
Polygraph Examiner Supervisors field similar calls
during their off time.

Members receiving this payment who are covered
by the FLSA will have any stipend paid on an hourly
basis rather than annually or semi-annually. Members
who are exempt from the FLSA will receive this payment
on a semi-annual basis, with half paid in January and
half paid in July to eligible employees on the payroll at
the time of the payment.

o, Special Detail Pay

Employees in this unit shall be eligible to receive
Special Detail Pay at one and one-half (1'2) of their
regular hourly rate with a four (4) hour minimum for
working in non-emergency situations when they are off
duty, but not when in on-call status. Officers assigned
to wide load, over-length, and construction special
details, shall be provided with at least twelve (12) hours’
notice of cancellation of such work. In the event
notification is not given at least twelve (12) hours in
advance of such detail, the officer shall be compensated
for the minimum four (4) hours pay at time and one-half.
Any member assigned to court duty (not as a witness)
on a scheduled day off or scheduled time off shall receive
Special Detail Pay.

When the State establishes Special Details,
including Escort Special Details, and is unable to
adequately staff the special detail, the State shall assign

employees within the work location involved from the
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appropriate work group to perform the special detail by
continuing rotation in inverse order of seniority. Prior to
inversing, members shall be allowed to schedule
vacation or CTO after the posting of the special detail
pending operational needs. When using vacation or
CTO scheduled after the posting of the special detail,
assignment shall be determined by using the existing
seniority processes. Barring a breakdown in normal
procedures, escorts which require a permit from the
Secretary of State's Office shall be performed by off duty
personnel.

When an escorted load travels more than one
hundred (100) miles from the point of origin, employees
will be compensated at the appropriate rate for return
travel to the point of origin or to their residence,
whichever is greater.

Sergeants will be eligible for special details after
all personnel within the troop/unit have declined the
special detalil.

When a division roster is utilized, assignment will
be made based upon date of hire regardless of rank.

In order to qualify for a special detail the member
must wear the uniform of the day specified for the
assignment and must utilize the type of vehicle, if a
vehicle is integral to the assignment, specified for the
assignment. In those instances when the member’s
issued vehicle does not meet the requirements the
member must secure a spare vehicle prior to the start of
the special detail. Time spent securing a vehicle is not
compensable.

Employees who are eligible for overtime and who
are inversed to work a special detail on their regularly
scheduled day off, shall be paid double their regular
hourly rate.

10. Overtime

A. Excepting employees designated as non-
standard, and employees assigned to the Executive

Protection Unit, employees shall be paid at one and one-
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half (1'2) times the regular hourly rate of pay after
actually working beyond eight (8) hours in any day, or
after their regularly scheduled hours if greater, or eighty
(80) hours of actual work in any fourteen (14) day work
cycle.

Employees assigned to the Executive Protection
Unit shall be paid at one and one-half (1 1/2) times the
regular hourly rate of pay after actually working beyond
eight (8) hours in any day, or after their regularly
scheduled hours if greater, or one hundred sixty (160)
hours in a twenty-eight (28) day work cycle.

In lieu of premium pay employees may, upon
mutual agreement, take compensating time at the rate
of one and one-half (1 1/2) hours of compensating time
for each hour of overtime worked.

B. There shall be no pyramiding or duplication
of compensation by reason of overtime or other premium
pay provision of this Agreement. It is understood,
however, that with this limitation, the method of
payment which gives the greatest amount will be
followed.

C. Troop G personnel, if assigned to a patrol on
a regularly assigned shift which is fifteen (15) miles or
more from the closest toll of entrance, shall receive one-
half (1/2) hour premium pay.

D. A member may not be extended past the
Department’s 80-hour work rule (Addendum A) except
under exigent circumstances based on an identified
operational need, as determined by the Troop OD, Troop
Commander or Specialty Team Commander.

11. Call Out

A. Bargaining unit employees below the rank of
Sergeant who are eligible for overtime, who are called out
by their supervisor or manager within the twelve (12)
hour shift shall be guaranteed a minimum of three (3)
hours at one and one-half (1'2) times their regular hourly
rate. These same employees when called out outside of

their twelve (12) hour shift or called out on a day off or
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on a previously scheduled and authorized vacation or
compensatory day off shall be guaranteed a minimum of
four (4) hours pay at one and one-half (1%) times the
regular hourly rate. Employees assigned different work
schedules shall be eligible if called outside of their
scheduled shift or called out on a day off.

Sergeants who are eligible for overtime under the
FLSA, who are called out by their supervisor or manager
within the twelve (12) hour shift, shall be guaranteed a
minimum of three (3) hours pay at one and one-half (1%2)
times the regular hourly rate. These same employees,
when called out outside of their twelve (12) hour shift,
shall be guaranteed a minimum of four (4) hours pay at
one and one-half (1%) times the regular hourly rate.

FLSA exempt Sergeants, Polygraph Supervisors,
Pilots and Pilot Supervisors who are called out within
the twelve (12) hour shift, shall be guaranteed a
minimum of three (3) hours pay at one and one-half (1'2)
times the regular hourly rate.

B. Sergeants, Polygraph Supervisors, Pilots and
Pilot Supervisors who are required to work on any
regularly scheduled day off or on a previously scheduled
and authorized vacation or compensatory day off shall
be guaranteed a minimum of three (3) hours pay at one
and one-half (1%2) times the regular hourly rate.

C. When a Sergeant, Polygraph Supervisor, Pilot
or Pilot Supervisor is called to work on the calendar day
following a day off but prior to the start of his/her 12-
hour shift, he/she shall be guaranteed a minimum of
three (3) hours pay at one and one-half (1%) times the
regular hourly rate. When a Sergeant, Polygraph
Supervisor, Pilot or Pilot Supervisor is called to work on
the calendar day prior to a day off but after the end of
his/her 12-hour shift, the Sergeant, Polygraph
Supervisor, Pilot or Pilot Supervisor shall be guaranteed
a minimum of three (3) hours pay at one and one-half
(1%2) times the regular hourly rate. However, when a
Sergeant, Polygraph Supervisor, Pilot or Pilot Supervisor
is required to extend work on the calendar day prior to

a day off and after the end of his/her twelve (12) hour
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shift, the Sergeant, Polygraph Supervisor, Pilot or Pilot
Supervisor shall be guaranteed a minimum of three (3)
hours pay at one and one-half (1%) times the regular
hourly rate.

D. Work related telephone calls received by
employees, except employees exempt from the FLSA, or
other work related public contact on non-work time or
outside the regular scheduled shift, which do not require
an employee to actually be called out to work (leave their
residence or otherwise respond), shall be compensated
at a fifteen (15) minute minimum at the appropriate rate
for such time. Additional calls received or made by the
officer or additional public contact during one fifteen
(15) minute period shall not be subject to another fifteen
(15) minute minimum.

12. Special Unit Pay

A. Underwater Recovery Unit, Assigned
Dives

(1) When on duty, members of the State Police
Underwater Recovery Unit shall be paid ten dollars
($10.00) an hour in addition to their hourly rate when
actually diving or when actually called to an emergency
rescue dive.

(2) When off duty, members of the State Police
Underwater Recovery Unit shall be compensated at time
and one half (1'2) of their regular hourly rate for a
minimum of four (4) hours, plus ten dollars ($10.00) an
hour when actually diving or when actually called to an
emergency rescue dive.

B. Underwater Recovery Unit, Training Dives

(1) When on duty, members of the State Police
Underwater Recovery Unit shall be paid ten dollars
($10.00) an hour in addition to their hourly rate when
actually diving.
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(2) When off duty, members of the State Police
Underwater Recovery Unit shall be paid ten dollars
($10.00) an hour when actually diving plus
compensating time at the appropriate rate during
training.

C. Tactical Team Assignments

(1) When on duty, members of the State Police
Tactical Team shall be paid ten dollars ($10.00) an hour
in addition to their hourly rate when actually called.

(2) When off duty, members of the State Police
Tactical Team shall be compensated at time and one-
half (1Y) of their regular hourly rate for a minimum of
four (4) hours plus ten dollars ($10.00) an hour when
actually called. When off duty, but not on day off,
sergeants, except those sergeants covered under the
FLSA, who are members of the State Police Tactical
Team shall be paid fifteen dollars ($15.00) an hour when
actually called. When on day off sergeants who are
members of the State Police Tactical Team shall be paid
ten dollars ($10.00) an hour in addition to their hourly
rate when actually called.

(3) Members of the State Police Bomb Squad,
Crisis Negotiation Team, and members of the State
Police K-9 Unit, when tracking a criminal suspect or who
are bomb dog handlers, and when on a bomb call, shall
be eligible for benefits under this section.

D. K9 Assignment

Except for days during which the dog is kenneled,
the Department will pay members assigned to the K9
Squad time and one-half of their regular hourly rate for
one (1) hour per day for servicing their K9.

E. Clandestine Lab Assignment

When on duty, the employee assigned to

investigate and/or to dismantle an actual or suspected
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Clandestine Lab shall be paid ten dollars ($10.00) an
hour in addition to their hourly rate when called to the
site of a Clandestine Lab.

When off duty, the employee assigned to dismantle
a Clandestine Lab shall be compensated at time and
one-half for a minimum of four (4) hours and ten dollars
($10.00) an hour when called to the site of a Clandestine
Lab.

13. Compensating Time

A. The maximum accumulation of compensating
time shall not exceed two hundred forty (240) hours. It
shall be the employee’s responsibility to ensure that
his/her accumulation does not exceed two hundred
forty (240) hours. Except where operational needs
require otherwise, employees shall be entitled to use
compensating time at times of their choice.

In no instances will the State pay for more than the
maximum allowed accumulation upon an employee's
separation from State service.

B. Employees, at their option, shall be eligible to
earn up to forty (40) hours of compensating time in lieu
of overtime compensation, at the appropriate rate, each
calendar year.

Employees with fifteen (15) or more years of
consecutive service, at their option, shall be eligible to
earn up to eighty (80) hours of compensating time in lieu
of overtime compensation, at the appropriate rate, each
calendar year.

C. Solongas there is mutual agreement between
the employee and management, an employee may
convert up to forty (40) hours of compensating time for
pay in September and/or March of each fiscal year.

14. Longevity Pay

A. Employees with ten (10) years but less than
fifteen (15) years of continuous State service shall
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receive longevity pay of a total of twenty cents ($.20) per
hour to the base upon eligibility.

B. Employees with fifteen (15) years but less than
twenty (20) years of continuous State service shall
receive longevity pay of thirty cents ($.30) per hour to
the base.

C. Employees with twenty (20) years of
continuous State service shall receive longevity pay of a
total of forty cents ($.40) per hour to the base.

D. Employees with twenty-five (25) years of
continuous State service shall receive longevity pay of a
total of sixty cents ($.60) per hour to the base.

E. Continuous State service is defined as
continuous employment, including all authorized leaves
of absences since the last date of hire into a status-
granting position.

15. Special Detail/Underwater Recovery/
Tactical Unit Premium Pay

All exempt employees shall be compensated on the
basis of the non-exempt overtime hourly rate for all work
performed on special detail/underwater recovery, and
Tactical Unit.

16. Forensic Specialist Classification

Members who promote to the Crime Lab into a
Forensic Specialist position, specializing in ballistics or
fingerprints but who are not certified as experts in
Forensics by the State Police Crime Lab Director, shall
be placed in a Trainee Program and paid at the Range
specified for a State Police Detective until such time as
they are so certified. Thereafter, they shall be placed in
the Range specified for a State Police Forensic Specialist.
During the entire period of time a member is in such
Trainee Program, he/she shall have no promotional
rights to any job classification other than Forensic
Specialist. Salary adjustments shall be governed by

Civil Service Rules applicable to State Trainee Programs.
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17. Night Shift Differential

A shift differential of forty-five cents ($.45) per hour
shall be paid for shifts starting between 1:00 p.m. and
9:59 p.m. for members of the unit regularly assigned to
such shifts. A shift differential of fifty-five cents ($.55) per
hour shall be paid for eight (8) hour shifts starting
between 10:00 p.m. and 2:59 a.m., and for ten (10) hours
shifts starting between 9:00 p.m. and 2:59 a.m., for
members of the unit regularly assigned to such shifts.

18. Standby Pay

Detectives and Sergeants assigned to the Major
Crimes Unit required by the Colonel or their designee to
perform weekend standby shall receive sixteen percent
(16%) of their regular hourly rate for such standby time.

19. Standby

Effective with the beginning of the pay week closest
to June 20, 2022, members who are specifically directed
by the Colonel or their designee to standby in a specific
location or locations for the remaining four (4) hours
within their twelve (12) hour core, and are available for
immediate recall duty, shall be paid at sixteen percent
(16%) of their regular hourly rate for each of those
remaining four (4) hours within their twelve (12) hour
core. When such member or employee is being
compensated pursuant to other provisions of the
agreement or in any type of leave status during the
standby period for which such member or employee is
responsible, they shall not receive 16 % standby pay.

20. Weekend Differential

Members regularly scheduled to work weekends
shall be eligible for a weekend differential of sixty cents
($.60) per hour to the base for shifts beginning between

9:00 p.m. Friday and 8:59 p.m. Sunday.
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21. Evidence Response Technicians

MSP Evidence Response Technicians shall have
the following stipends added to their base hourly rate for
attaining the following certification levels:

e Level 1: one dollar ($1.00)
e Level 2: one dollar and twenty-five cents ($1.25)
e Level 3: one dollar and fifty cents ($1.50)

The maximum number of MSP Evidence Response
Technicians eligible for this pay shall be set by
management.

22. Crash Reconstruction Specialists and
Forensic Mappers

Crash Reconstruction Specialists shall have
twenty-five cents ($.25) added to their base hourly rate;
Forensic Mappers shall have twenty-five cents ($.25)
added to their base hourly rate; and dual-disciplined
Crash Reconstruction Specialists-Forensic Mappers
shall have fifty cents ($.50) added to their base hourly
rate.

23. Drug Recognition Experts

Certified Drug Recognition Experts shall have
twenty-five cents ($.25) added to their base hourly rate.

24. Field Training Officers

Designated Field Training Officers shall receive one
dollar ($1.00) per hour added to the base when actively
training a probationary trooper on field training status.
Management shall determine the number and
composition of Field Training Officers, as well as the
length and content of the formal Field Training Program.

17



25. Specialty Teams

Specialists on the Tactical, Underwater Recovery,
Crisis Negotiation and Bomb teams who are subject to
emergency call out will receive a $500.00 annual
payment.

Commanders and Assistant Commanders on the
Tactical, Underwater Recovery, Crisis Negotiation and
Bomb teams who are subject to emergency call out will
receive a $750.00 annual payment.

Members receiving this payment who are covered by the
FLSA will have any stipend paid on an hourly basis
rather than annually or semi-annually. Members who
are exempt from the FLSA will receive this payment on
a semi-annual basis, with half paid in January and half
paid in July to eligible employees on the payroll at the
time of the payment.

26. Recruiting Stipend

Members who recruit a new Trooper that ultimately
graduates from the Maine Criminal Justice Academy
may be eligible for up to a $300.00 stipend as
determined by the State Police Colonel.

ARTICLE 7
CONTRACT ADMINISTRATION

The parties agree that problems of general
administration (as opposed to individual employee
grievances) may arise during the administration of this
Agreement which may require the State and MSTA to
meet from time to time for purpose of reviewing the
general administration of the Agreement. The parties
agree to so meet within a reasonable time at the request
of either party. Unless a problem is of any emergency
nature, the party requesting a meeting will submit a
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written agenda one (1) week in advance of any such
meeting.

ARTICLE 8
DENTAL INSURANCE

For full time employees, the State agrees to pay the
full cost of individual coverage of dental insurance as
provided by the State Employee Health Commission.

The State agrees to continue to provide payroll
deduction for dependent dental insurance, provided
such arrangements are agreed to by the insurance
carrier. Itis understood that dependent coverage will be
available provided that there is sufficient employee
participation in the dental insurance program. Any
dependent coverage shall be at the employee's expense.

ARTICLE 9
DEPENDENT CHILDREN POST-SECONDARY
EDUCATION BENEFITS

In the event an employee is killed during the
performance of his/her job duties, the State shall pay
the tuition of his/her dependent children who are
accepted as students through the normal admissions
process to attend the University of Maine System, the
Maine Community College System, or the Maine
Maritime Academy. Each dependent child shall be
eligible for this benefit for five (5) years from his/her first
admission date to either system or until the requirement
for a degree has been met, whichever comes first.

ARTICLE 10
DUES DEDUCTION

The State agrees to continue to deduct from wages
money for Maine State Troopers Association dues and
insurance premiums. New members' dues shall be
deducted upon receipt of individual written

authorization from members of the bargaining unit.
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In the event that the dues are increased, the Maine
State Troopers Association shall notify the State at least
thirty (30) days prior to the effective date of the dues
increase.

The Maine State Troopers Association shall
indemnify, defend and hold the State harmless against
any claims made in any suits against the State on
account of payroll deductions of said dues, or the failure
to make such deductions.

The Maine State Troopers Association agrees to
refund to the State any amounts paid to it in error upon
presentation of proper evidence.

ARTICLE 11
EDUCATIONAL INCENTIVE STIPEND

1. Employees who provide notice and proof of a
degree shall be eligible for an educational incentive
stipend. It is the responsibility of the employee to inform
the department and provide documentation of the
degree of higher education in order to receive this
incentive stipend. Degrees must be job related. The
amounts below shall be added to the base as
appropriate.

Associate Degree $.24 /hour

Baccalaureate Degree $.36/hour or $.12 per hour
after Associates Degree

Master's Degree or above $.48/hour or $.12 per hour
after Baccalaureate Degree

Payment shall begin following attainment of the
degree and paid only for the highest degree obtained.

2. Employees shall be reimbursed by their
appointing authority for tuition, course-related fees and
other course-required and approved costs paid for
advanced courses in their field which will help improve
their skills and improve the services provided by the State
and which are taken while in the employ of the State,

provided that prior approval for taking any such course
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shall have been obtained from the appointing authority
and provided that the employee shall have met the
agency's requirements for satisfactory completion of the
course. Each appointing authority shall endeavor to
allocate a reasonable amount of available funds in each
fiscal year to reimburse employees for such approved
advanced courses.

ARTICLE 12
EMBODIMENT OF AGREEMENT

Except as herein provided, neither party shall
demand any modification to this Agreement nor shall
either party be obligated to bargain collectively with the
other with respect to any subject or matter specifically
referred to or covered herein.

This is the entire Agreement between the parties
and terminates any other agreements in place prior to
the signing of this Agreement, except those written
agreements impacting specifically named individual(s)
only.

ARTICLE 13
EXCLUSIVE NEGOTIATIONS WITH THE
ASSOCIATION

The State will not bargain collectively or meet with
any other employee organization with reference to terms
and conditions of employment of employees. If any such
organizations request meetings, they will be advised by
the State to transmit their requests concerning terms
and conditions of employment to the Association.

ARTICLE 14
EXTRA-HAZARDOUS DUTY INJURIES

Employees covered by this Agreement who are
injured on the job while performing extra-hazardous
duties in accordance with the rules, regulations, policies

and procedures of the State Police, shall receive, in
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addition to compensation paid or payable under the
Workers Compensation Act, an amount sufficient to
bring them up to full salary for up to one hundred
twenty (120) workdays from the date the injury was
incurred. Absence because of such injuries shall not be
charged to accumulated sick leave during this one
hundred twenty (120) day period.

Extra-hazardous duty injuries shall be defined as
follows:

1. Injuries sustained while making an arrest.

2. Injuries sustained from firearms discharge,
unless self-inflicted.

3. Injuries sustained while actively engaged in
suppressing riots, insurrections and similar civil
disturbances.

4. Injuries sustained while maintaining a
roadblock as defined in Title 29A 82414 M.R.S.A. or
while directing traffic or assisting motorists. Such
injuries shall only be considered when they are the
result of the action of another party.

5. Injuries sustained when engaged in high
speed chase.

6. Injuries sustained when responding to an
emergency call with lights and sirens.

7. Injuries sustained while performing required
patrol duties during extreme weather conditions as
determined by the Colonel of the Maine State Police of
his/her designee.

8. Injuries sustained by a canine handler while
on an active canine track, which does not include
training.

ARTICLE 15
GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

1. Definitions and Scope

1.1 Employees within the bargaining unit shall
have the right to present grievances in accordance with

the procedures prescribed in this article, except that
22



employees in their initial probationary period, as
specified in the Seniority Article, paragraphs 1.1 and
1.5, shall not have the right to grieve disciplinary action.

1.2 For the purpose of this Agreement a grievance
is defined as a dispute concerning the interpretation or
application of a specific term or provision of this
Agreement or the regulations, rules, directives or orders
referred to in the Maintenance of Benefits Article. A
grievance may be presented by a member, group of
members or by the Association.

1.3A Disputes over the terms, conditions and
administration of the pension and insurance programs
shall not be subject to the provisions of this article.

1.3BAny disputes over the classification or
allocation of new positions, or the reclassification or
reallocation of existing positions, and any disputes over
performance appraisals, promotions, and transfers shall
be processed pursuant to existing procedure.

1.4 Any written grievance, which is submitted,
must expressly specify identification of the article,
clause, section and alleged violation of the contract or
written regulation, as well as a statement of facts
surrounding the issue and the remedial action
requested.

1.5 Unless otherwise provided, the provisions of
this article shall replace all preexisting grievance
procedures for employees in this unit, and shall be the
exclusive procedures for resolving differences which
arise under this Agreement and other disputes between
employees and the employer.

2. Procedure

2.1 Step 1 An employee shall present his/her
grievance in writing to the Chief of Police within thirty
(30) calendar days of the act or omission which gives rise
to the grievance, or within forty-five (45) calendar days
from the date when the grievant should reasonably have
been expected to become aware of the event which gave

rise to the grievance. The Chief of Police shall be
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responsible for taking such steps as are advisable,
including meeting with the grievant, an MSTA
representative, and any necessary witnesses for a review
of the grievance. The Chief of the State Police will issue
a decision within twenty (20) calendar days from the
date the dispute was presented.

2.2 Step 2 If the grievance is not resolved at
Step 1 then within fourteen (14) calendar days after
receipt of the written decision of the Chief of the Police
or the Department head, the employee and or the
representative may appeal to the Office of Employee
Relations. Such an appeal must be specific in stating
the reasons for appealing the decision and include a
copy of the Step 1 answer. A representative of the Office
of Employee Relations may issue a written Step 2
decision within twenty-one (21) calendar days after
receipt of the written appeal or meet with the grievant
and/or his/her representative and provide a written
specific response within twenty-one (21) calendar days
following the Step 2 meeting.

2.3 Step 3 (a)In the event that an arbitrable
grievance has not been satisfactorily resolved at Step 2,
then a request for arbitration may be brought only by
the Association through the President of the MSTA, or
his/her designee, within twenty one (21) calendar days
from the day the Association received the Step 2
decision, by mailing, faxing or emailing, a request for
arbitration to the Office of Employee Relations. A request
for arbitration shall contain the names of the
department or agency and employee involved, copies of
the original grievance, appeal documents and written
decisions rendered at the lower steps of the grievance
procedure. Only a single grievance shall be submitted
for hearing by an arbitrator at one time.

(b) The request for arbitration along with a
request for a list of arbitrators must be received by LRC
within six (6) calendar weeks of the Office of Employee
Relations’ receipt of the request for arbitration, in order
for the LRC administration fees to be shared equally by

the parties. If such request is not received by LRC by the
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expiration of the six (6) weeks but is received within
twelve (12) weeks, MSTA shall pay the entire LRC
administration fee. If a request has not been received by
LRC within twelve (12) weeks of the Office of Employee
Relations’ receipt of the request for arbitration, MSTA
will be deemed to have waived its right to appeal the Step
2 decision to arbitration.

(e) Within fifteen (15) working days from the day
of receipt of said list from LRC, the parties shall meet for
the purpose of selecting an arbitrator. The parties shall
select the arbitrator by alternately striking one name
from the list until one name remains. The right of a
party to first strike a name from the list shall be deter-
mined by lot. In the event the last name on the list is
unsatisfactory to either of the parties, the matter shall
then be submitted that day to LRC for selection of an
impartial arbitrator within five (5) days.

(d) The arbitrator's authority shall be limited to
disposing of the grievance submitted to him/her on the
basis of the applicable provisions of this Agreement.
He/she shall confine himself/herself to the precise issue
submitted for arbitration and shall have no authority to
determine any other issues not so submitted to him/her,
nor shall he/she submit observations or declarations of
opinion which are not essential in reaching the
determination. The arbitrator shall have no power or
authority, directly or indirectly, to add to, subtract from,
alter, or otherwise modify any provisions of this
Agreement. The decision or award of the arbitrator shall
be binding consistent with applicable law and this
Agreement. All fees and expenses of the arbitrator shall
be divided equally between the parties except that each
party shall bear the costs of preparing and presenting
its own case, and except that a party canceling within
seven days of arbitration for a reason other than a
catastrophic event involving a primary participant in the
arbitration shall bear the full cost of the arbitrator fee. No
arbitrator at any time or under any circumstances shall
have authority to change, adjust, or modify in whole or
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in part any compensation plan, wage rate or
classification plan.

(e) The arbitrator shall hold the hearing at a time
and place convenient to the parties within twenty (20)
calendar days of his/her acceptance to act as arbitrator.
The arbitrator shall issue a written decision within thirty
(30) days after completion of the hearing. The arbitrator
shall be bound by the rules of the Labor Relations
Connection, which are applicable to labor relations
arbitrations and which are in effect at the time of the
arbitration. In the event a disagreement exists regarding
the arbitrability of an issue, the arbitrator shall make a
preliminary determination whether the issue is
arbitrable under the express terms of this Agreement.
Once a determination is made that such a dispute is
arbitrable, the arbitrator shall then proceed to
determine the merits of the dispute.

3. General Provisions

3.1 All of the time limits contained in this article
may be extended by mutual agreement of the parties and
shall be confirmed in writing.

3.2 In no event can a grievance be taken to the
next or any succeeding step of this procedure unless the
employee files notice in writing to the appropriate State
official within the time period specified. If the employer's
representative, fails to meet the time limits, the
grievance shall be considered as automatically appealed
to the next step of the procedure with the exception of
Step 4 arbitration.

3.3 The parties may mutually agree, when
circumstances warrant, to bypass steps of the grievance
procedure.

3.4 An aggrieved employee shall not suffer any
loss of base pay or be required to charge leave credits as
a result of processing grievances during such employee's
regularly scheduled working hours, provided, however,
that when such activities extend beyond such
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employee's scheduled working hours such time shall not
be considered as time worked.

3.5 The settlement or award upon a grievance
may or may not be retroactive as the equities of each
case demand, but in no event shall such resolution be
retroactive to a date prior to the date on which the
grievant was aware of the act or omission or should
reasonably have been expected to be aware of the act or
omission.

3.6 The Bureau of State Police is a semi-military
organization and orders must be obeyed and grievance
procedures invoked later. Any member of the Bureau of
State Police who fails to carry out orders or comply with
the rules, regulation or instructions is subject to
disciplinary action, including discharge. Normal
courtesy shall be observed by all parties in the
processing of grievances.

ARTICLE 16
HEALTH PLAN

The State shall provide health plan coverage for
employees pursuant to Title 5 §285. The State shall pay
sixty percent (60%) of the cost of dependent premium for
each eligible employee who selects dependent coverage.

ARTICLE 17
HOLIDAYS

There shall be thirteen (13) paid holidays as
follows:

New Year's Day Labor Day

Martin Luther King Day Indigenous Peoples Day
Presidents’ Day Veterans' Day

Patriot's Day Thanksgiving Day
Memorial Day Day after Thanksgiving
Juneteenth Christmas Day

Independence Day
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Any holiday falling on Saturday shall be observed
on the preceding Friday and any holiday falling on
Sunday shall be observed on the following Monday.
Employees who work the calendar date and who are off
on the observed date shall be paid the appropriate
holiday rate for the calendar date only. Employees who
are off on the calendar date and who work on the
observed date shall be paid the appropriate holiday rate
for the observed date only. Employee who work both the
calendar date and the observed date shall be paid the
appropriate holiday rate for the observed date only.

In addition to regular pay for holidays, all members
of the unit shall be entitled to one and one-half (1'%)
times their hourly rate for time worked on holidays.

When a holiday falls on a regularly scheduled day
off, such employee shall be compensated by equivalent
time.

Employees shall be eligible for holiday pay only if
they were in pay status on the normal workday
immediately preceding and following the holiday for
which payment is made.

In the event that compensating time by mutual
agreement is allowed in lieu of overtime payment, the
parties agree that compensating time may be used and
accrued consistent with the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Time during which an employee is excused from
work on holidays shall be considered as time worked for
the purpose of computing overtime.

ARTICLE 18
HOURS AND WORK SCHEDULES

The State will maintain the present on-call practice
for non-exempt employees. They shall not be worked in
excess of twelve (12) hours a day except under unusual
circumstances or conditions described in the Scheduled
Days Off Article. Although Patrol Sergeants are an
exempt position within FLSA, they will be regularly
scheduled to work the same shift as those employees

they supervise.
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Except employees assigned to the Executive
Protection Unit, any employee who is eligible for
overtime shall be scheduled to work eighty (80) hours in
each fourteen (14) day work cycle. Employees assigned
to the Executive Protection Unit shall be scheduled to
work one hundred sixty (160) hours in each twenty-eight
(28) day work cycle.

State Police Sergeants covered by the Fair Labor
Standards Act (FLSA) shall be scheduled to work eighty
(80) hours in each fourteen (14) day work cycle.

Employees covered under paragraphs 2 and 3
above shall be paid a base hourly rate of pay in
accordance with the appropriate salary schedules.

The State agrees to continue the schedule for
Uniformed Patrol Troopers, Corporals and Sergeants
assigned to Troops A, B, C, D, E, F, G and J. The
schedule will be four (4) days on, two (2) days off and
shall consist of one hundred sixty (160) hours within a
28-day cycle unless otherwise mutually agreed to by the
parties. It is understood that this work schedule may be
altered to accommodate training assignments that are of
a limited duration.

Other schedules will continue to be assigned based
on operational need and pursuant to Article 23,
Management Rights.

The State agrees to provide at least fourteen (14)
days’ notice for any temporary schedule changes that
are required by operational needs. Schedule changes
that exceed the fourteen (14) day or twenty-eight (28)
day cycle, whichever is applicable, shall be considered a
permanent schedule change. At least a sixty (60) day
notice shall be given prior to any permanent schedule
changes. Such schedule changes shall not be made on
an arbitrary and capricious basis.

29



ARTICLE 19
LABOR/MANAGEMENT COMMITTEES

Employee Health

There is established by law (Title 5, Chapter 13,
Subchapter II, Section 285-A) the State Employee Health
Commission. Commission members may participate in
the work of the Commission during work hours without
loss of pay or benefits.

Labor Management Committee on Student Loans

A Labor/Management Committee on Student
Loans comprised of one (1) representative for each
participating bargaining unit appointed by the
respective bargaining agent and an equal number of
management members appointed by the Governor shall
be established to make recommendations to the parties
on options for assisting employees with student loan
repayment for consideration in bargaining for the next
successor agreement. Committee members may
participate in the work of the committee during working
hours without loss of pay or benefits.

ARTICLE 20
LIFE INSURANCE

The State shall pay the basic group life insurance
premiums for those employees who are members of this
bargaining unit. This provision shall not diminish the
right of employees to carry additional insurance on
themselves or their dependents under present statutes.

ARTICLE 21
ELECTRONIC DATA

Upon request, the State of Maine agrees to provide
the Association with an electronic file containing the

names and addresses of all Association members. Such
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electronic file will be supplied at no cost to the
Association and within a reasonable period of time.

ARTICLE 22
MAINTENANCE OF BENEFITS

With respect to negotiable benefits or terms and
conditions affecting members of this unit which are not
covered by this Agreement, but which are presently
provided pursuant to law, written regulations, personnel
rules, written directives or special orders, the State
agrees to make no changes without appropriate prior
consultation and negotiations with the Association.

ARTICLE 23
MANAGEMENT RIGHTS

The Association agrees that the State has and will
continue to retain the sole and exclusive right to manage
its operations and retains all management rights,
whether exercised or not, unless specifically abridged,
modified or delegated by the provisions of this
Agreement. Such rights include but are not limited to:
the right to determine the mission, location and the size
of the agency and facilities; the right to direct its work
force; to administer the merit system, including the
examination, recruitment, selection, hiring, appraisal,
training, promotion, assignment or transfer pursuant to
law; to establish specifications for each class of positions
and to classify or reclassify and to allocate or reallocate
new or existing positions in accordance with the law; to
discipline and discharge employees for just cause; to
determine the size and composition of the work force; to
participate in reciprocal mutual assistance pacts; to
determine the operating budget of the agency; to install
new, changed or improved methods of operations; to
relieve employees because of lack of work or for cause in
accordance with the Seniority Article of this Agreement;
to maintain the efficiency of the government operations

entrusted to them; and to take whatever actions may be
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necessary to carry out the mission of the agency in
situations of emergency.

ARTICLE 24
MEAL ALLOWANCES

When employees are entitled to reimbursement for
meals pursuant to present policies, reimbursement will
be provided as allowed by Section 40 of the Manual of
Financial Procedures, Travel and Expense
Reimbursement Policy.

Reimbursable amounts for extended days will not
exceed five dollars ($5.00) for breakfast; fourteen dollars
($14.00) for dinner; no reimbursement for lunch.
Receipts will be required for all meal reimbursement
requests for extended workdays that are for five dollars
($5.00) or greater. Reimbursements will only be made
for the actual amount that was spent on meals when the
employee was not able to get home to eat.

ARTICLE 25
MEMBERS' RIGHTS

The Chief or Deputy Chief shall be responsible to
ensure that all allegations of misconduct and other
violations shall be investigated. Such investigation shall
be completed within a reasonable time based upon the
circumstances or the alleged misconduct and the
investigation. If the investigation is as a result of a
complaint from the public, misconduct or other
violations that come to the attention of a superior officer,
the following procedure shall be followed:

Upon receipt/knowledge of an allegation of
misconduct or other violations(s) by a member, the
Lieutenant or Sergeant of the Office of Professional
Standards (OPS) will seek to determine if there are
recordings or reports related to the circumstances
surrounding the allegation. The Lieutenant or Sergeant
will consider several issues, including but not limited to,

the following before moving forward:
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a. nature of the allegation(s); and

b. history of the member(s) involved.

If deemed appropriate by the OPS Lieutenant or
Sergeant, they or their designee will take steps to review
the available recordings and/or reports in an effort to
gain further information and insight about the
allegation(s) and member’s conduct.

UNFOUNDED/EXONERATION: If review of the
recording(s) prove the member’s actions are within
policies, procedures, rules and regulations, and provide
a clear and complete rebuttal of the allegations, the case
will be closed as Unfounded or with the member being
Exonerated, and the designated representative of the
Association will be notified.

FURTHER INVESTIGATION NEEDED: If review of
the recording(s) reveals a need to continue further efforts
to fully investigate the circumstances surrounding the
allegations, the OPS Lieutenant or Sergeant shall
provide formal notice of the investigation to the member
and the designated representative of the Association
pursuant to the following:

The Chief or Deputy Chief (or designated officer)
shall investigate all such allegations. Such investigator
shall inform any member under investigation and
his/her commanding officer of the nature of the
investigation before it commences. If diligent efforts to
contact the member fail, the investigator shall advise the
designated representatives of the Association. If the
investigation is the result of an outside complaint, the
Investigator shall mail written notice or e-mail notice to
the member and the MSTA within fourteen (14) calendar
days after providing verbal notice. The member’s notice
shall be sent to the member’s work location. The MSTA’s
notice shall be sent to their business address. Sufficient
information to apprise the member of the specific
allegations will be provided. The investigating officer
shall be allowed to interview the complainant prior to
notifying the member. In the case of a third-party
complainant, the investigator may also interview the

actual person whom the complaint was made on behalf
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of. Where no probable cause is found, the investigation
will terminate and the record will indicate the same in
the member's personnel file.

When an investigator believes that there is
reasonable cause to interview a member under
investigation concerning an alleged violation of the
Department's operating procedure or misconduct, the
member shall be afforded forty-eight (48) hours, unless
an emergency exists or such right is waived, to contact
and consult privately with an attorney or other counsel
of his/her own choosing before being interviewed.

When, as part of an investigation, a member is to
be interviewed as a “witness only,” the member shall be
afforded forty-eight (48) hour notice, unless an
emergency exists or such right is waived, to contact
counsel of his/her own choosing before being
interviewed. In instances where a member is being
interviewed as a witness only, and s/he chooses to have
representation present, said representation shall not be
the same individual representative/counsel as the
member who is the subject of the investigation unless
mutually agreed to by the parties. Initial notification of
the member (whether verbal or in writing) shall be made
concurrently to the Association. The Chief or Deputy
Chief (or designated officer) shall mail written notice or
e-mail notice to the member and the MSTA within
fourteen (14) calendar days after providing verbal notice.
The member’s notice shall be sent to the member’s work
location. The MSTA'’s notice shall be sent to its business
address.

The interview of any Department member shall be
at a reasonable hour, preferably when the member is on
duty, and during the daylight hours, unless the course
of the investigation dictates otherwise, and such
interview will be conducted without unreasonable delay.

The interview shall take place at a location
designated by the investigating officer and shall be at a
State Police headquarters when feasible. If requested, a
representative may be present at the initial interview
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and shall be allowed to confer privately with the
employee.

The member of the Department being questioned
shall be informed of the identity of all persons present
during the interview. If it is known that the member of
the Department being interviewed is a witness only,
he/she shall be so informed. The interview shall be
conducted with the maximum amount of confidentiality
possible. The questions shall be specifically related to
the alleged violation. If any other previously undisclosed
matter is discovered which may be subject to
investigation, it shall be handled pursuant to this
procedure.

If after the investigating officer has interviewed the
complainant and the member in question and it is
determined by the Chief or Deputy Chief that such
misconduct, or other violation, is not a dismissible
offense or of such magnitude that a suspension or
demotion would result, the findings shall be provided to
the member's commanding officer for disposition within
ten (10) days of such determination, and the member so
informed.

Upon completion of such investigation where
probable cause exists to warrant suspension, demotion
or dismissal, the results of such investigation and
interviews shall be provided to the Chief or Deputy Chief.
In such cases, when formal charges are preferred, such
charges shall be provided the member in question in
writing and a copy provided to the President of the
Association. In cases where probable cause exists that
a criminal offense has been committed, the member may
be suspended immediately without pay pending
disposition of the charges.

If the member under investigation is requested to
submit to a polygraph examination, he/she will be
furnished a list of the questions to be asked, sufficiently
prior to the examination to enable the member to confer
with counsel of his/her choosing prior to the polygraph
examination. If a member is requested to submit to any

other type of test, he/she shall be advised of the type of
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test and the member will be afforded an opportunity to
obtain a similar independent test if available.

Within fifteen (15) calendar days of the completion
of the investigation, the member shall be advised of the
final outcome. No charges shall be brought before a
Disciplinary Board or Administrative Hearing by the
investigating officer unless the proper interview
procedures were followed as outlined in the previous
paragraphs and probable cause was found by the
investigating officer.

Failure to follow the above procedures, unless
waived by the member in question, shall result in
dismissal of all charges, with prejudice and destruction
of all related records.

ARTICLE 26
MILITARY LEAVE

Employees who are members of the National Guard
or other authorized State military or naval forces, and
those employees who are members of the Army, Air
Force, Marine, Coast Guard or Naval Reserve shall be
entitled to a leave of absence from their duties, without
loss of pay, and shall accrue sick and annual leave and
seniority during periods of military training that do not
exceed seventeen (17) workdays in any calendar year as
specified by the National Defense Act or Armed Forces
Reserve Act of 1952. In addition, employees whose
training is extended beyond the seventeen (17) days
shall receive the difference between their regular pay
and their military pay, if there is a difference, for an
additional five (5) days.

ARTICLE 27
MOVING EXPENSES

When an employee is permanently reassigned or
transferred to a new work location thirty-five (35) or
more miles away from his/her present work location to

accommodate the State's operational needs, he/she
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shall be reimbursed for actual reasonable and necessary
moving expenses by common carrier. If the State
requires an employee to live in a specified zone or district
after initial assignment, the employee will be reimbursed
for actual reasonable and necessary moving expenses by
common carrier.

The State shall provide sixty (60) days advance
notice of such relocations whenever possible, and in the
event that less than sixty (60) days’ notice is provided,
the State will pay reasonable temporary relocation
expenses, pursuant to the Lodging and Meals Article of
this Agreement, for any period of less than sixty (60)
days’ notice.

This article does not apply to employees relocating
in connection with any reduction in force or to
employees in job classes which traditionally have
required performance of duties at other than a fixed
location.

ARTICLE 28
NON-DISCRIMINATION

The State agrees to continue its established policy
against all forms of illegal discrimination, including 1)
discrimination with regard to race, creed, color, national
origin, sex, marital status, age, physical or mental
disability, and sexual orientation, unless based upon a
bona fide occupational qualification; and 2) intimidation
or harassment on the basis of race, creed, color, national
origin, sex, marital status, age, physical or mental
disability.

The MSTA agrees to continue its policy to admit all
members to membership and to represent all members
without regard to race, creed, color, national origin, sex,
marital status, age, physical or mental disability, or
sexual orientation.

The MSTA and the State agree that discrimination,
intimidation, or harassment of employees, including
sexual harassment in all its various forms is
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unacceptable conduct and will not be condoned or
tolerated by MSTA or the State.

The State and the MSTA agree that any disputes
arising out of the provisions of this article may be
processed through the grievance procedure contained in
the Grievance and Arbitration Procedure article subject
to the State's right to have any such grievance
considered at the appropriate level or steps by the State.
This provision shall not preclude other legal remedies
provided by law.

ARTICLE 29
PAID LEAVE

All employees eligible for overtime shall accrue and
use leave credits on the basis of an eight (8) hour day.

ARTICLE 30
PARENTAL LEAVE

Paid Parental leave for childbearing and adoption
shall be granted to an employee with pay for hours
regularly scheduled to work during a period of time not
to exceed twenty-eight (28) calendar days, taken
continuously, beginning no later than eight (8) weeks
directly following the birth or adoption of the child(ren).
Employees shall be allowed to retain insurance benefits
during such leave.

Employees are encouraged to consult with their
agency Human Resources Office to determine if they are
eligible for benefits available under the Federal Family
and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), and time available under
FMLA would run concurrent with both paid and unpaid
parental leave.

ARTICLE 31
PERSONNEL FILES

Upon request of an employee, corrective memos

shall be removed from his/her personnel file after one
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(1) year from the date of the corrective memo if the
employee has received no further discipline. Upon
request of an employee, reprimands shall be removed
from his/her personnel file after three (3) years from the
date of the reprimand if the employee has received no
further discipline. Upon request of an employee,
suspensions shall be removed from his/her personnel
file after five (5) years from the date of the suspension if
the employee has received no further discipline. Upon
written request of an employee sixty (60) days prior to
his/her retirement date, corrective memos, reprimands
and suspensions shall be removed from his/her
personnel file if the employee has received no further
discipline = within the past three (3) years,
notwithstanding the time frames stated above. However,
if the employee then decides not to retire, the removed
record of discipline will be returned to his/her personnel
file.

The Chief of the State Police or his/her designee
shall comply with the law and reporting requirements of
the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in reporting acts of
misconduct by employees. Only a synopsis of the alleged
misconduct shall be provided to the Academy Board, not
the complete investigation file, unless the Department is
required to do otherwise under the law.

ARTICLE 32
POLICE PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE

The State agrees to continue the present level of
Police Professional Liability Insurance for members of
this unit during the term of this Agreement.

ARTICLE 33
PRINTING OF AGREEMENT

The State and MSTA will share the responsibility
for printing copies of the Agreement.
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ARTICLE 34
PROMOTIONAL PROCEDURES

The State shall consult with the Association before
making any changes in the promotional procedures
used for selecting Corporals and Sergeants. Such
consultation shall cover the nature of any changes
under consideration and the timing of the
implementation of any changes finally adopted.

An employee may refuse two (2) appointments from
a promotional register. If the employee refuses three (3)
appointments from a promotional register, his/her
name shall be removed from the register.

Positions assigned to the training unit for the
Maine State Police shall be allowed to utilize a Physical
Assessment Test (PAT) as part of the selection process
for Academy-based assignments.

ARTICLE 35
PROPERTY DAMAGE

The State shall continue to reimburse employees
for personal property of reasonable value damaged,
destroyed or stolen while in the performance of their
duties in accordance with established procedures as
long as there is a clear connection between the property
damaged and work activities. Personal items which are
already provided by the State (e.g. computers, cameras,
weapons, etc.) and items which do not have a connection
to any work-related tasks (e.g. jewelry, personal
electronics, etc.) shall not be reimbursable.

ARTICLE 36
RECLASSIFICATIONS

1. Definitions. For the purposes of this
Agreement the following terms are defined as follows:

(a) Classification and Reclassification.
Classification and reclassification are the assignment or

reassignment, respectively, of a position or group of
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positions to an occupational classification which is appro-
priate for compensation and employment purposes.

(b) Allocation and Reallocation. Allocation and
reallocation are the assignment or reassignment,
respectively, of a classification to the appropriate grade in
the compensation plan.

2. MSTA may appeal to and binding arbitration a
determination of the Director of Human Resources on the
classification, reclassification, allocation or reallocation of
a position or classification. Such appeal shall be made
within twenty-one (21) calendar days of the Director of
Human Resources' determination. Arbitration cases will
be heard chronologically, by date of appeal, unless the
parties mutually agree otherwise. The parties agree to
utilize the services of an arbitrator experienced in job
evaluation disputes. If the parties cannot agree on the
selection of arbitrator(s), they shall seek the assistance of
the American Arbitration Association or Labor Relations
Connection. The parties shall share equally the costs and
expenses of the arbitrator(s) and each party shall bear the
costs of preparing and presenting its own case.

3. The Arbitrator shall not assign any existing
classification to a new salary grade unless there has been
a significant change in duties except as provided below.
The Arbitrator's decision shall be binding on:

(@) The combination or merging of classifications
and the allocation of the resulting new classifications to
pay grades;

(b) Reclassification or pay grade reallocation of
positions the duties of which have changed since their
last classification or allocation;

() Assignment to classifications or the
establishment and pay grade allocations of new classifi-
cations for new positions;

(d) The establishment of separate classifications
and pay grade allocations for positions within the same
classification on the basis of significant difference in
duties.

4. Except for reclassifications and reallocations

in connection with a reorganization, any reclassification
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or reallocation decision of the Director of Human
Resources or the Arbitrator or Alternate shall be effective
as of the date of the written initiation of the
reclassification or reallocation request by the employee,
MSTA or State and shall be implemented retroactively
when the funds are provided pursuant to budgetary pro-
cedures. However, if the Director of Human Resources’
determination is made within twelve (12) months of the
date of the written initiation of the reclassification or
reallocation request, any retroactive pay will begin
accruing on the date of the Director of Human Resources’
determination. If the Director’s determination is made
more than twelve (12) months after the date of the written
initiation of the reclassification or reallocation request
any retroactive pay will begin accruing as of the initiation
date.

The State shall pay the employee reclassified or
reallocated interest one sixth of one percent (1/6%) per
month on all monies due as a result of the reclassification
or reallocation from the date of the final decision until
payment.

5. Reclassifications and  reallocations in
connection with a reorganization shall be effective on the
date they are approved and implemented.

6. No employee shall be reduced in salary as a
result of reclassification or reallocation.

7. An employee shall be provided with a copy of
his/her job description and specifications when
appointed to a position and whenever the job description
and /or specifications are changed.

8. If qualifications for a classification change,
affected employees currently working in the class will be
grandfathered except where licensing, registration, cer-
tification or special qualifications are required by state
law, federal law or court order, or except where licensing,
registration, certification or special qualifications are
required to obtain or maintain federal funds.

9. The provisions of this Article shall be effective
as provided in the Term of Agreement Article; provided,

however, that provisions of this Article shall be reopened
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for negotiation upon thirty (30) day written notice, or
demand to reopen, given by either party when such
notifying party has concluded that reopened negotiations
are necessary relative to current compensation system
bargaining being conducted pursuant to 26 M.R.S.A.
§979-D(1)(E)(1)(g), (h) and (i). Such re-opened
negotiations shall be conducted only as a part of
compensation system bargaining and only pursuant to 26
M.R.S.A. §979-D(1)(E)(1)(h).

ARTICLE 37
RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE PARTIES

Each of the parties hereto acknowledges the rights
and responsibilities of the other party and agrees to
discharge its responsibilities under this Agreement.

The Association, its officers and representatives at
all levels, and all employees, are bound to observe the
provisions of this Agreement.

The State and its officers and representatives at all
levels are bound to observe the provisions of this
Agreement.

In addition to the responsibilities that may be
provided elsewhere in this Agreement, the following shall
be observed:

(a) There shall be no intimidation or coercion of
anyone employed by the State into joining the
Association or into continuing his/her membership
therein.

(b) There shall be no interference with the right of
anyone employed by the State, and within the applicable
bargaining unit, to become a member of the Association
or to continue his/her membership therein.

(c) The Association agrees to fulfill its duties to
represent all employees in the bargaining unit and to
handle grievances for all employees in the bargaining
unit, not merely for its members.

(d) There shall be no discrimination, restraint or
coercion against anyone employed by the State because
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of his/her membership or non-membership in the
Association.

(e) The employees recognize that the State has a
right to require from every employee efficient and
economical services in the performance of his/her
duties.

(ff Employees shall promptly and efficiently
execute the instructions and orders of their supervisors
and of other authorized executives of the State.

(g) The applicable procedures of this Agreement
shall be followed for the settlement of all grievances. All
grievances shall be considered carefully and processed
promptly.

ARTICLE 38
RETIREMENT

The State agrees to continue to provide retirement
benefits to employees pursuant to applicable statute.

ARTICLE 39
SCHEDULED DAYS OFF

Regularly scheduled days off shall not be canceled
or rescheduled except in cases of emergencies, as
declared by the Chief, Maine State Police, Deputy Chief
or his/her designee.

When an employee has his/her day off canceled,
the employee shall be paid for the actual hours worked
at the appropriate rate.

ARTICLE 40
SENIORITY

1. Probationary Periods

1.1 For the purpose of administering discipline or
discharge, an employee will be considered a
probationary employee for a period of twelve (12)

consecutive months of service beginning with the date
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the employee graduates from the Maine State Police post
school. If a member is assigned to a pre-field training
evaluation period prior to attending the Maine State
Police post school, the time assigned shall be counted
towards the probationary period. In no case shall the
probationary period after graduating the Maine State
Police post school be less than six (6) consecutive
months.

1.2 For all other applications of this Agreement,
an employee will be covered after a period of six (6)
consecutive months of service, beginning with the
employee's date of hire.

1.3 Upon completion of the six (6) consecutive
months of service after graduation, employees will have
their names placed on the appropriate seniority list and
his/her seniority shall then be computed from the most
recent date of hire.

1.4 For the purpose of layoff, recalls to work and
demotions in lieu of layoff, seniority shall be considered
as being from the date of entrance into the applicable
affected classification, and shall be cumulative as to
positions in lower rate ranges than that from which
he/she is being laid off. However, time spent in project
status will be calculated as part of total seniority for the
purposes of layoff, recalls, demotions in lieu of layoff and
Special Detail assignments.

1.5 Any ex-member who is reemployed within
three (3) years of separation shall be on probation for
twelve (12) months.

2. Loss of Seniority

An employee shall lose his/her seniority if he/she:

(a) resigns from his/her employment.

(b) is discharged for just cause.

(c) is absent from work without just cause for a
period of three (3) consecutive days without notifying the
appropriate State authority.

(d) is laid off and not recalled for work within

three (3) years from the date of layoff.
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(e) accepts a position outside of State service.

(f) accepts a position outside of the agency but
within State service and does not return to a vacancy
within the agency for a period of six (6) months
beginning with the date he/she left the position in the
agency.

(g) fails to notify the appropriate State authority,
within five (5) calendar days of the receipt of the notice
of recall, if such notice has been mailed to the last
known address, of the intent to return to work, unless
extenuating circumstances beyond the control of the
employee prevent the employee from doing so.

(h) When an officer is suspended without pay for
disciplinary reasons, the suspension will not affect the
officer’s seniority with the Maine State Police so far as
the seniority relates to the assignment of the officer to
special details and other overtime duty.

3. Layoffs

When an appointing authority determines that a
reduction in force is necessary, he/she shall determine
the positions which are to be abolished. An employee
whose position is abolished may exercise his/her right
to displace the least senior employee in his/her
classification within the Bureau of the Maine State
Police.

(@) The least senior employee(s) within the
classification shall be laid off or may exercise his/her
right to displace the least senior employee in the lower
classification the employee previously held in the
bargaining unit. Should the employee desire to be laid
off, and not exercise his/her right to displace the least
senior employee in the lower classification the employee
previously held in the bargaining unit, he/she may sign
a waiver attesting to his/her desire to be laid off and
subject to the conditions outlined in the waiver.

(b) In those instances where the employee(s)
affected in paragraph (a) cannot exercise the right to

bump, such employee(s) shall be laid off.
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(c) Employees to be affected by a layoff shall
receive notice as soon as practicable, but at least fifteen
(15) calendar days before the effective date of the layoff.
Employees who are laid off as a result of other
employee's bumping rights shall also be given notice as
soon as practicable, but at least seven (7) calendar days
before the effective date of the layoff.

4, Recalls

4.1 Recalls to work shall be made on the basis of
the most senior employee who has previously held the
applicable classification shall be the first to be recalled.

4.2 Recall registers shall carry the name of a
former employee for a period of three (3) years from date
of layoff.

4.3 Should a job vacancy occur in a classification
held by an employee who exercised the right to bump,
the State must return the employee to such
classification and the employee will be required to return
to such original classification.

4.4 The recalled employee on layoff must report
to work, to the position for which recalled, within
thirteen (13) calendar days of the date of receipt of the
notice of recall if such notice has been mailed to the last
known address. Failure to do so shall be considered as
a break in service and terminate all rights of recall.

4.5 Notices of recall shall be sent by certified mail,
return receipt requested, to the employee's last known
address. Employees on layoff are required to keep the
appropriate State authority informed of their current
address.

4.6 No new employees shall be hired until all
employees on layoff status from the applicable
classifications have been recalled.
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5. Promotions to Supervisory Positions Outside
Bargaining Unit but Within the Agency

5.1 An employee who accepts a promotion to a
supervisory position outside the bargaining unit, but
within the agency, shall have the right, at any time, to
return to a position in the bargaining unit, provided
such return is occasioned by a layoff or a reason beyond
the control of the employee.

5.2 If such employee returns to a position within
the bargaining unit, he/she may exercise the right to
bump the most junior employee in the highest rate range
position he/she held prior to his/her promotion.

5.3 Such employee will be returned to the
bargaining unit with all credited seniority at the time of
his/her return, including continuous service
accumulated in the supervisory position.

6. Leaves of Absence

6.1 Should an employee accept a position outside
the bargaining unit and yet within State service, he/she
may, within six (6) months from the date of leaving the
agency, return to a vacant position he/she has
previously held. In such case, the employee will be
returned with credited longevity held at the time of
leaving the applicable classification minus the time
spent in the position outside the agency.

6.2 The aforementioned six (6) month period may
be extended upon application of the employee and at the
sole discretion of the appointing authority of the agency.

ARTICLE 41
SICK LEAVE

Sick leave shall be earned at the rate of 3.7 hours
per completed two-week pay period of service. Service
shall begin on the date of State employment and time on
layoff, suspension or leave without pay, except as

otherwise provided by law or this Agreement, shall not
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be counted in determining the completion of a full two-
week pay period. Should the HRMS system calculate
earned sick leave at a different rate, in no case shall the
calculation of earned sick leave result in an amount less
than the 3.7 hours identified above. The maximum
amount of sick leave which employees may accumulate
shall be one hundred twenty (120) days. However, the
amount of unused sick leave accruals which can be
credited toward State service for retirement purposes
shall continue as presently provided for by statute.
When maximum limitation has been accumulated, days
that would normally thereafter be earned shall lapse but
shall be recorded by the appointing authority. Any
employee who has such lapsed sick leave to his/her
credit may apply to the Director of Human Resources to
have the sick leave restored in the event of an extended
illness. The Director of Human Resources shall grant
such request unless just cause is shown to deny the
request. Part-time employees employed normally the
year-round and established on a regular hourly work
schedule shall be allowed sick leave credits prorated on
the amount of time worked.

Employees may utilize their allowance of sick leave
on the basis of application approved by their respective
appointing authorities and reported to the Director of
Human Resources, for absences necessitated by
inability to perform the duties of their positions by
reason of illness or injury, by necessity for acute medical
or dental care, by exposure to contagious disease under
circumstances in which the health of the employees with
whom associated or members of the public necessarily
dealt with would be endangered by attendance on duty,
or by illness in the immediate family of the employee for
such periods as the attendance of the employee shall be
necessary. Immediate family as used in this article shall
mean the employee’s spouse, or significant other, the
parents of the spouse or significant other, and the par-
ents, stepparents, guardian, children, brothers,
stepbrothers, sisters, stepsisters, grandparents,

grandchildren, stepchildren or wards of the employee.
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For the purpose of this Article, “significant other” means
that a relationship exists between two people, neither of
whom is married, that is intended to remain indefinitely
and where there is joint responsibility for each other’s
common welfare, there are significant shared financial
obligations, and they must be living together in a shared
primary residence. This relationship must have existed
for at least six (6) continuous months before benefits
under this Article may be provided. Employees are
encouraged to consult with their agency-department
Personnel Officer to determine if they are eligible for
benefits available under the Federal Family and Medical
Leave Act. Either the appointing authority or the
Director of Human Resources may require such medical
examination or certificate as he/she deems necessary
before approving the utilization of sick leave.

All sick leave shall expire on the date of separation
from State service, and no employee shall be reimbursed
for sick leave outstanding at the time of termination of
his/her State employment.

A former State employee who is reappointed within
four (4) years of his/her separation from the service
under the provisions of the personnel law and these
rules, with probationary or permanent status, may have
his/her previously accumulated and unused balance of
sick leave revived and placed to his/her credit upon
approval of the new appointing authority.

ARTICLE 42
UNIFORMS

The State shall issue such uniforms and accessory
equipment as it may require members to use in the
performance of their duties, including any such
replacement parts thereof as may reasonably be
necessary, provided, however, that nothing in this
article shall excuse a member from being accountable
for such uniforms and equipment as required by the
rules, regulations and instructions of the Department.
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The State shall pay an allowance of sixty-five
dollars ($65.00) per month to members who are required
to wear uniforms, to be used toward the cost of cleaning
and maintaining uniforms and equipment which they
have been issued. Members of this unit assigned to work
in civilian clothes shall receive an allowance of seventy-
five dollars ($75.00) per month toward the cost of
supplying and maintaining civilian clothing. In
addition, the State shall pay an annual coat/shoe
allowance of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) to
members assigned to work in civilian clothes.

These allowances shall be paid on a semiannual
basis in January and July and shall be prorated for
those employees who become eligible or terminate
employment between the semiannual payments.

ARTICLE 43
UNION SECURITY

Within thirty (30) days following the execution of
this Agreement, all employees covered by the Agreement
and who are not members of MSTA shall be provided and
required to choose from the options of membership in
MSTA or exclusion from membership.

Any employee thereafter who is or becomes covered
by the Agreement and is not a member of MSTA shall be
provided and required to choose from such options
within thirty (30) days after such conditions are met. A
failure to choose membership shall constitute a choice
of exclusion from membership.

Any employee choosing the option of membership
in MSTA may sign a written payroll deduction
authorization form authorizing deduction from his/her
pay of the membership dues from the thirtieth (30th) day
following the execution of the Agreement or the day
thereafter the employee becomes covered by the
Agreement and such written authorization shall be
irrevocable for the term of this Agreement.

Any employee choosing exclusion  from

membership shall be bound by such choice for the term
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of the Agreement and shall be entitled to the services of
MSTA under the Agreement only upon payment to MSTA
of reasonable fees and costs, including reasonable fees
for employee representative services and attorneys' fees,
and costs and expenses, including arbitrators' fees and
expenses, incurred by MSTA.

Any such employee complying with these
conditions shall be entitled to MSTA services under the
Agreement only on the same basis and under the same
terms as MSTA members.

MSTA shall indemnify, defend and hold the State
harmless against all claims and suits which may arise
as a result of action taken pursuant to this article.

ARTICLE 44
USE OF STATE VEHICLES

1. The State agrees to insure or indemnify each
bargaining unit member for personal liability up to a
total amount of three hundred thousand dollars
($300,000) per occurrence for the personal use of a State
vehicle which is authorized by State Police General
Order E-80. The State also agrees to provide
comprehensive coverage, with a fifty-dollar ($50.00)
deductible and collision coverage with a one-hundred
dollar ($100.00) deductible, for the personal use of a
State vehicle which is authorized by State Police General
Order E-80.

2. The State agrees to reimburse each employee
five dollars ($5.00) per week towards the cost of keeping
his/her assigned state vehicle clean and presentable to
the public. This payment will be done on a semi-annual
basis in January and July and shall be prorated for
those employees who become eligible or terminate
employment between the semi-annual payments.
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ARTICLE 45
VACATION

Each employee shall earn vacation with pay on the
following basis: 4.7 hours shall be earned for each
completed full two-week pay period of service during the
first ten (10) years of service with the State. Therealfter,
provided the last three (3) years of service shall have
been continuous, vacation shall be earned on the
following basis: for each completed two-week pay period
of service with the State, 4.7 hours shall be earned until
ten (10) years shall have been completed; 5.6 hours shall
be earned until fifteen (15) years shall have been
completed; 6.5 hours shall be earned until twenty (20)
years shall have been completed; thereafter, 7.4 hours
shall be earned.

Upon implementation of HRMS, each employee
who completes a full two-week period shall earn their
biweekly accrual on the following basis:

Thereafter, provided the last three (3) years of service
have been continuous:

1 through 10 years — 4.7 hours
11 through 15 years — 5.6 hours
16 through 20 years — 6.5 hours
20+ years — 7.4 hours

Should the HRMS system calculate earned vacation at a
different rate, in no case shall the calculation of earned
vacation result in an amount less than those identified
above.

Service shall begin on the date of State
employment, and time on layoff, suspension, or leave
without pay shall not be counted in determining the date
of completion of a full two-week pay period or a full year
of service.

Vacations shall be granted at such time or times as
shall be mutually agreeable to the employees and

appointing authority involved. Employees having less
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than fifteen (15) completed years of service may
accumulate vacation leave to a total of two hundred sixty
(260) hours. Those employees having more than fifteen
(15) years of service, the last five (5) years of which have
been continuous, may accumulate vacation time to a
total of three hundred forty (340) hours, provided,
however, that an employee who is about to lose vacation
leave because of the limitation of accrual imposed by
this rule, upon advance notice to the appointing
authority, may within thirty (30) calendar days following
absent himself/herself with the consent of his/her
appointing authority to prevent the loss of such time.
Continuous service for the purpose of determining
eligibility for vacation leave benefits shall be defined as
all uninterrupted State service, to include both classified
and unclassified service employment.

An employee on military leave shall not be limited
to two hundred sixty (260) hours or three hundred forty
(340) hours accrual of vacation leave, whichever applies.
He/she may, immediately upon his/her reinstatement
from military leave, take all vacation leave in excess of
two hundred sixty (260) or three hundred forty (340)
hours accrued, whichever applies, with or without the
consent of his/her appointing authority. In the
alternative, he/she may elect to be credited with the
vacation leave in excess of two hundred forty (240) or
three hundred twenty (320) hours, whichever applies,
but such leave shall be taken at a time determined by
the appointing authority within two (2) years of the date
of reinstatement.

Any employee who is separated from State service
by layoff, resignation, death or otherwise, shall be paid,
or shall have payment made to his/her estate, for the
unused vacation leave and overtime accumulated to
his/her credit.

Previously approved vacation schedules shall not
be canceled except in emergencies.
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ARTICLE 46
VOLUNTARY WELLNESS INITIATIVE

Members who voluntarily show proof of (a) a meeting
with a mental health professional at least once annually,
will be eligible to participate in physical fitness testing
twice a year as part of an Agency Wellness Protocol.
Members must successfully meet the following
minimum physical achievements to qualify for any
wellness incentive payment. An employee will be tested
in three different areas to be determined by the
Department. In each separate test, an employee may be
eligible for a one-time payment of up to one hundred
dollars ($100.00) annually with a maximum annual total
incentive for all three tests of six hundred dollars
($600.00) annually.

e To be eligible for the minimum fifty-dollars
($50.00) stipend, an employee must meet the 60th
percentile level of physical fitness testing.

e To be eligible for a seventy-five dollar ($75.00)
stipend, employees must meet the 70th percentile
level of physical fitness testing.

e To be eligible for the maximum one hundred
dollar ($100.00) stipend, an employee must meet
the 80th percentile of physical fitness testing.

Participation in this program is strictly voluntary.
Nonparticipation will not result in any adverse
employment action.

ARTICLE 47
WITHDRAWAL OF RESIGNATION

Members are required to submit a written notice of
resignation to the employer at least fifteen (15) calendar
days prior to the effective date of the resignation. During
the first ten (10) days of such fifteen (15) day period, the
member may retract his/her resignation in writing
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without prejudice and the employer must accept such
retraction. Any retraction submitted during the period
beginning five (5) days prior to the effective date and
extending through ten (10) days after the effective date
may be accepted at the sole discretion of the Chief of the
Maine State Police.

Members who intend to utilize accrued vacation
credits and/or compensating time immediately prior to
separation in lieu of a lump sum payment (“termination
leave”) are required to submit a written notice to the
employer at least fifteen (15) calendar days prior to the
first day of such “termination leave”. During the fifteen
(15) day notice period and the first fifteen (15) calendar
days of “termination leave”, the member may retract
his/her resignation without prejudice and the employer
must accept such retraction. Any retraction submitted
fifteen (15) days after the commencement of
“termination leave” may be accepted at the sole
discretion of the Chief of the Maine State Police.

ARTICLE 48
WORK STOPPAGE AND SLOWDOWN

Employees within the bargaining wunit, the
Association, and its officers at all levels, agree that they
will not instigate, promote, sponsor, condone or engage
in any work stoppage, sympathy work stoppage,
slowdown or any other interruption of the operations of
the State.

The officers of the Association at all levels,
individually and collectively, agree that it is their
continuing obligation and responsibility to maintain
compliance with this article, including the remaining at
work during any interruption or slowdown of work
which may take place.

The parties agree that the grievance procedure is
the sole and exclusive means of settling grievances
under this Agreement.
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ARTICLE 49
WORKERS' COMPENSATION

The State shall make every possible effort to
promptly pay all compensation awards in accordance
with the decisions of the Workers' Compensation
Commission. Upon each award of the Workers'
Compensation Commission, interest shall be assessed
from the date on which the petition is filed at a rate of
six percent (6%) per year, provided that if the prevailing
party at any time requests and obtains a continuance
for a period in excess of thirty (30) days interest will be
suspended for the duration of the continuance. From
and after the date of the decree, interest shall be allowed
at the rate of ten percent (10%) per year.

Where an employee has been unable to work for
one (1) year, the employee may be terminated from his
or her position. Such termination shall not be
considered disciplinary in any way. If the employee later
becomes capable of performing the job duties of the
position from which he/she was terminated, the
employee may return to that position if it is vacant. If
that position is filled, unfunded, or no longer exists, then
the employee shall be entitled to be placed in a vacant
position, or the next available position if no such
vacancy exists in the same classification within the
department or agency and for which the employee is
qualified, and shall be treated as if on layoff status.

If an employee who is terminated pursuant to this
article is eligible for and makes application for disability
retirement, the State shall continue to provide the
employee's group health insurance and shall continue
to pay the cost of the employee's coverage, as well as
sixty percent (60%) of the dependent coverage, until the
employee receives his/her first disability retirement
check or until six (6) months after the termination,
whichever occurs first.

In the event that any employee who has been
terminated pursuant to this article regains a work

capacity and returns to work, the employee shall not
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lose the benefit of any prior years of State service
immediately preceding his/her termination, for
purposes of seniority, vacation accrual rate, restoration
of sick leave credits, and longevity pay.

ARTICLE 50
TERM OF AGREEMENT

This Agreement shall be effective as of December
29, 2021, until June 30, 2023, unless otherwise
specifically provided herein.
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Addendum A

STATE POLICE UNIT
CLASSIFICATIONS

State Police Corporal

State Police Detective

State Police Pilot

State Police Pilot Supervisor

State Police Polygraph Examiner

State Police Polygraph Examiner Supervisor
State Police Sergeant-E

State Police Specialist

State Police Trooper

Transitional Duty (MSTA)
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FOR THE STATE OF MAINE:

Janet T. Mills
Janet T. Mills
Governor

Kelsie Lee
Kelsie Lee
Chief Negotiator

Deb Phillip
Deb Phillips
Member, Negotiating Team

Anna Love
Lieutenant Anna Love
Member, Negotiating Team
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Kirsten LC Figueroa
Kirsten LC Figueroa
Commissioner, DAFS

John Cote

Colonel John Cote
Member, Negotiating Team

William Harwood

Lt Colonel William Harwood
Member, Negotiating Team



FOR THE MAINE STATE TROOPERS ASSOCIATION:

Craig A. Poulin

Craig A. Poulin
Chief Negotiator

Christopher Hashey

Christopher Hashey
Northern Vice President

Joseph Bureau

Joseph Bureau
Southern Vice President

Lucas Hare

Lucas Hare
MCU South
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Thomas Pappas

Thomas Pappas
President

Bernard Brunette

Bernard Brunette
Central Vice President

Jonah O’Roak

Jonah O’Roak
Secretary
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