STATE OF MAINE OUARTERLY REPORT FORM FOR TRANSPORTERS OF HAZARDOUS WASTE

Section 1: Identification Name of Transporter: **EPA Identification Number:** Mailing Address: Maine HWT License Number: HWT-**Section 2: Reporting Period (Please Check One)** 1st Quarter (January 1-March 31) 2nd Quarter (April 1-June 30) 3rd Quarter (July 1 – September 30) Year: 20 Report due on April 30 Report due on July 31 Report due on October 31 4th Quarter (October 1-December 31) Report due on January 31 **Section 3: Total of Fees Owed for the Reporting Period** (from Section 5, Line C) **Section 4: Payment Instructions and Certification Statement** Make the check for the full amount payable to: Maine Hazardous Waste Fund and mail along with the Ouarterly Report to: Department of Environmental Protection Bureau of Remediation and Waste Management 17 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0017 ATTN: Hazardous Waste Management Unit If no activity occurred in the quarterly report period, the lack of activity should be noted on the form and submitted to the Department. "I certify that the information provided herein is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge. I understand that there are substantial penalties for filing a false report or failing to remit fees owed to the Hazardous Waste Fund by its due date." Signature: Date:

Printed Name and Title

Telephone Number:

Section 5: Computation of Fees

List the generator, manifest number, amount of hazardous waste in pounds for each shipment of hazardous waste made during the reporting period on the worksheet provided (Attachment 1) and enter the total number of pounds for each category of hazardous waste below. Multiply the Fee Rate by the Total in Pounds to calculate the Fees owed.

| A. | Fees for hazardous waste transporte Maine generators or into Maine | ed from | Fee Rate | Total in Pounds | Subtotal of Fees Owed | | | | |
|--|---|------------------|--------------|---------------------------------|--------------------------|--|--|--|--|
| | \$0.03 per pound for hazardous waste v transported offsite to a licensed treatm storage or disposal facility, or into Ma licensed treatment, storage or disposal | ent, ine to a | \$0.03/pound | (from Column A of Attachment 1) | | | | | |
| B. Additional fees for late payment (NOTE: If the fee is 6 months or more overdue, a late fee is due [subtotal from Item A x 2]) | | | | | | | | | |
| С. Т | otal of Items A and B | | | | | | | | |
| For further information contact the Division of Materials Management at (207) 287-7688. | | | | | | | | | |
| FOF | C DEP USE ONLY: | | | | | | | | |
| | e received: ount received: | Date of A | ormed: OK | | | | | | |

ATTACHMENT 1 Worksheet for Fees for Waste Transported from Maine Generators

| Generator's Name and Location (city & state) Manifest Document Number | | Storage, Treatment or Disposal in Gallons | Conversion Factor (See FAQs) | Storage, Treatment or Disposal in Pounds (Column A) | Total Fee in Dollars |
|--|--|---|------------------------------------|--|-------------------------|
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | \$ | | | |

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

- Fees for transportation of hazardous waste and waste oil are due on a quarterly basis from licensed hazardous waste transporters and licensed waste oil transporters. In the event of multiple transporters, the fee is paid by the first transporter which collects waste from a Maine generator or the last transporter to deliver waste from an out-of-state generator to a Maine TSDF. The one exception to this requirement are for those generators that hold licenses under Chapter 856, Section 11(A)(12) where the generator arranging transportation for the recyclable waste must file the quarterly report and pay the appropriate fee
- Waste oil containing PCBs at 50 ppm or over is considered hazardous waste in Maine. This waste must be included on the quarterly reports for hazardous waste. The appropriate fee is 3¢ per pound.
- Precious metal wastes with economically recoverable quantities of precious metal such as silver are NOT exempt from hazardous waste fees. An example is silver-contaminated photographic fixer solution. These wastes are subject to the 3¢ per pound fee if shipped for treatment, beneficial reuse, reclamation, or recycling, and disposal.
- Maine does not have a fee exemption for wastes that are shipped for beneficial reuse, reclamation or recycling. These wastes are subject to the 3¢ per pound fee for treatment, beneficial reuse, reclamation, or recycling.
- Hazardous waste manifested in gallons needs to be converted to pounds for calculating fees. Acceptable conversion factors are listed below for your use with this guidance.

Chlorinated solvent - 12 pounds per gallon
Corrosive liquids (acids) - 10 pounds per gallon
Corrosive liquids (bases) - 16 pounds per gallon
Gasoline - 6.3 pounds per gallon
Water contaminated with gasoline or solvents - 8.3 pounds per gallon
Paint related material - 7 pounds per gallon
Perchloroethylene/tetrachloroethylene - 13.5 pounds per gallon
Petroleum naphtha - 6.7 pounds per gallon

If the actual conversion factor can not be determined, 10 pounds/gallon should be used.