Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Gambling Control Board Members

The five members of the Gambling Control Board are appointed by the Governor of Maine to serve three years terms.  At least 4 members of the board must have training or experience in at least one of the following fields: corporate finance, economics, law, accounting, law enforcement, computer science, or the gambling industry.  One member must have experience in the Harness racing industry.  Appointees to the Board must also be reviewed and confirmed by the joint standing committee of the legislature having jurisdiction over gambling matters.  Currently that is the Veterans and Legal Affairs Committee.  The chair of the board is appointed by the Governor.

The members of the Gambling Control Board are:

Chair Timothy Doyle: Mr. Doyle is a resident of Turner and retired in 2008 from the Maine State Police after having attained the rank of Major, responsible for State Police Operations. Assignments while in the State Police included staffing the original Gambling Control Board in 2004 and with assisting in the development of the original rules, regulations, and processes for slot machine gambling. Mr. Doyle has been active in the Town of Greene, having served on various boards and committees, including 5 terms on the Board of Selectmen. Mr. Doyle is currently employed as the Vice President of the Maine Motor Transport Association in Augusta.

Joseph Laliberte: Mr. Laliberte is a Special Agent (ret.), DoD/AFOSI, Counterintelligence - Anti-Terrorism Division, Pentagon, VA. and a three term Sheriff to the County of Androscoggin. Mr. Laliberte currently owns a Forensic, Scientific and Specialized Investigative company with National & International capability.

Barbara Dresser: Ms. Dresser is a resident of Saco and is an associate attorney with the firm of Jones & Warren, P.A.  She received her B.S. in Business Administration from Lyndon State College in 1998 and her J.D. from the University of Maine School of Law in 2001.  In 2010 Barbara was appointed to the Maine Harness Racing Commission and currently serves as Chair of that Commission. 

Robert Harmon,CPA: Mr. Harmon of Raymond is a retired bank president & ceo of a Maine based community bank and currently is board chairman. Mr. Harmon graduated from SMCC and the University of Massachusetts- Amherst. Mr. Harmon has been active in many non-profit, town and local boards. He currently serves on the board of Dirigo Health.