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            EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

 

Smoking has been the leading cause of fire deaths in Maine and across the nation for three 
decades and perhaps more. It is not however, a leading cause of fire in Maine. The rate of fire deaths due 
to smoking are higher than any other cause including cooking, heating, electrical, and arson fires 
primarily due to the proximity of the victim to the heat source (cigarette) and material first ignited 
(clothes, bedding, etc.)  This history and the nature of smoking related fire deaths, in combination with 
other states passing similar pieces of legislation lead Maine’s 123rd legislature to pass “An Act 
Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes,” Chapter 25 3, 22 M.R.S.A. §1555-E. 
 

Prior to Maine’s passage of Chapter 253, the states of Vermont, New Hampshire, California, 
Oregon and New York had passed similar legislation. In addition, Canada had passed national 
legislation. By 2007 Maine was surrounded by states and Canada who had enacted legislation requiring 
cigarettes sold within their boundaries be reduced ignition propensity (RIP) cigarettes. At the time this 
report is being written all 50 states have implemented RIP laws.  In general these laws are similar the 
most significant exception being that Maine’s law did not require payment of a fee for the certification 
of fire safe cigarettes.  Many states charge a fee ranging from $100 to $1,500 per brand style and up. 
 

This report describes RIP cigarettes, summarizes Maine’s implementation effort, examines some 
data on smoking related fire in Maine and looks at other findings regarding the impact of this legislation. 
 

             
            INTRODUCTION 

 

According to the National Fire Protection Association, fires started by smoking materials 
remains one of the top 5 causes of structural fires in the United States and the top cause of structural fire 
related deaths.  According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), only 15.5% of the 
adult population were current smokers in 2016 compared to 33.2% in 1980. Despite today’s 
comparatively small percentage of smokers, smoking remained the leading cause of home fire deaths 
over the total five-year period of 2012-2016. 

 

This higher level of lethality is due to the fact that smoking related fire deaths frequently involve 
an individual close to the heat source (cigarette), materials first ignited (upholstery, clothes) and point of 
ignition (where the fire started). The majority of home smoking related fire deaths involve mattresses, 
bedding and upholstered furniture in addition to the trash. The close proximity to ignition worsens burn 
and smoke inhalation injury because mitigation technologies such as smoke detectors, sprinklers or 
escape planning strategies can’t be activated soon enough to mitigate injury.   
 

Mid to older age citizens comprise 76% of smoking related fire deaths.  Older adults in general, 
already at high risk in terms of fire fatality, continue to smoke more.  A substantial number of Maine’s 
older adult population use medical oxygen.  Since 2009 Maine has averaged at least one death per year 
due to smoking while on oxygen.  The combination of so many residents still smoking and the data on 
smoking related fire deaths set the foundation for a movement to propose and pass RIP legislation with 
New York leading the way in 2004.   
 

Ultimately the best strategy for reducing smoking related fire fatalities is prevention. Prevention 
can include efforts to educate the public and change behaviors, continued efforts at smoking cessation in 
addition to the policy requiring that only RIP cigarettes be available to the consumer. 
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REDUCED IGNITION PROPENSITY CIGARETTES 

 
A fire-safe cigarette has a reduced propensity to burn when left unattended. The most common 

fire-safe technology used by cigarette manufacturers is to wrap cigarettes with two or three thin bands of 
less-porous paper that act as “speed bumps” to slow down a burning cigarette. If a fire-safe cigarette is 
left unattended, the burning tobacco will reach one of these speed bumps and self-extinguish. 

 
Fire-safe cigarettes meet an established 

cigarette fire safety performance standard based on 
the American Society for Testing and Materials 
(ASTM) E2187, Standard Test Method for 
Measuring the Ignition Strength of Cigarettes.  
Cigarette packs, cartons, and boxing are also 
required to meet marking requirements set forth in 
the law.   
 
  

 
 

STATISTICS ON SMOKING RELATED FIRES AND DEATHS IN MAINE 
 
Cigarette fires comprise a small overall percentage of fires but are the most lethal.  Cigarettes were 

reported as the heat source in 345 fire reports filed by Maine Fire Departments between 2018 and 2020.  
These fires killed 7 civilians and 1 firefighter.  Another 14 civilians and 1 firefighter were injured.  The 
fires resulted in total contents and property losses of $1,926,651.  Of these 345 fires, smoking was the 
cause of the fire in 158 structures1 and 129 residential structures (1 & 2, multifamily structures). Because 
the impetus of the Fire Safe Cigarette effort was to reduce deaths due to smoking fires which occur almost 
always in a residential structure, we focused on structures and residential structures  Table 1 below 
provides you with the frequency of structure fires by cause for 2008, the year the law was enacted, and 
the last three years covered in this report.  Structure fires caused by smoking have increased since the law 
was enacted.  However, in contrast to other causes smoking continue to comprise a smaller percentage of 
all structure fire causes.  

  
Table 1  

  
Maine Fire Incident Reporting System - All Structure Fire Causes 2008, 2018 – 

2020 (Maine NFIRS Reporting System) 
  2008 2018 2019 2020 
  # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL 
Incendiary/suspicious 54 2.8% 59 2.6% 57 2.5% 58 3.0% 
Smoking 34 1.7% 63 2.7% 42 1.9% 57 2.9% 
Heating 756 38.7% 691 30.0% 659 29.1% 520 26.6% 
Cooking 469 24.0% 588 25.5% 615 27.2% 519 26.6% 
Electrical Malfunction 82 4.2% 139 6.0% 152 6.7% 109 5.6% 
Other 559 28.6% 767 33.2% 739 32.6% 690 35.3% 
Total 1,954 100.0% 2,307 100.0% 2,264 100.0% 1,953 100.0% 
         

 

 
1 This would include any type of structure, i.e. piers, tunnels, bridges in addition to non-residential buildings. 
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When we look at smoking as the cause of residential structure fires, Table 2, we also see that 
smoking related fires comprise a small share of the distribution of fire causes.  Residential structure fires 
are the most frequent among structure fires in Maine and across the nation and are where most fire fatalities 
occur. 
 
Table 2          

  
Maine Fire Incident Reporting System - Residential (1 or 2, multifamily) Structure Fire 

Causes 2018 – 2020 (Maine NFIRS Reporting System) 
  2008 2018 2019 2020 

Cause # Fires % of TL # Fires % of TL 
# 
Fires % of TL 

# 
Fires % of TL 

Incendiary/suspicious 31 1.9% 38 2.1% 36 2.0% 39 2.5% 
Smoking 29 1.8% 54 3.0% 31 1.7% 44 2.9% 
Heating 661 41.1% 597 32.7% 567 31.6% 455 29.5% 
Cooking 348 21.6% 439 24.1% 452 25.2% 397 25.8% 
Electrical 55 3.4% 93 5.1% 106 5.9% 83 5.4% 
Other 485 30.1% 602 33.0% 600 33.5% 523 33.9% 
Total 1,609 100.0% 1,823 100.0% 1,792 100.0% 1,541 100.0% 

 
 
Overall, smoking related fires in residential 1 or 2 and multifamily dwellings have remained relatively 
steady since 2008.2 
 
Graph 1 

 
Source: Maine NFIRS Reporting System  

 
When we look at fire fatality’s we use the Fire Marshal’s Office Investigations files since the bureau is 
charged with investigating all fires resulting in the death of an individual.  In reviewing that data for the 
ten-year period beginning in 2011 you can see that fatalities due to smoking caused fires contrast sharply 
with other causes.  Nearly double the count of heating related fires resulting in a fatality.  What is most 
surprising about Table 3 is the fact that there were no smoking related fire deaths in 2020.  A year in 
which people remained in their homes more so than any other year due to COVID.   

 
2 Fire reporting among Maine fire departments increased during this time frame.  Possibly influencing the upward 
trend.  
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Table 3 

Fire Fatality by Year: Four Determined Leading Causes of Fire Death (Maine Fire Investigators Reports) 
Year Heating Electrical Smoking Cooking 
2011 2 1 6 1 
2012 0 0 0 0 
2013 0 2 3 2 
2014 2 1 7 1 
2015 2 0 6 1 
2016 3 1 1 1 
2017 3 0 2 1 
2018 1 3 1 2 
2019 4 2 6 0 
2020 0 1 0 1 
Total  17 11 32 10 

 
 
Graph 2 below illustrates the lethality of smoking related fires in terms of the percentage of all fire 

deaths they comprise.  Though smoking only comprises a small percentage of structure fire causes and 
even smaller percentage of all fires, it comprises nearly half of all fire deaths in structures. 
 
Graph 2 

 
Source: Maine Fire Investigators Reports  

 There were a total 129 smoking related fires in 1 or 2 family dwellings and apartments from 2018 
to 2020.  Of these 80 took place in single family dwellings and 493 in apartments.  Smoking related fires 
in other occupancies such as dorms, hotels and others have always experienced a lower rate of smoking 
related fires and deaths.  Fires in these occupancies continue to decline because these occupancies are 
highly regulated and subsequently mostly smoke free.4   

 
3 Thanks to the effort of organizations such as the “Smoke-Free Housing Coalition” the number of apartments 
prohibiting smoking has grown and is very likely a contributing factor to there being fewer smoking related fires in 
multifamily dwellings.  
4 Boarding houses, hotels, fraternities, and other residential occupancies combined for a total 4 smoking related fire 
incidents between 2018 and 2020. 
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Because Fire Safe Cigarettes were designed to extinguish prior to igniting other materials they are placed 
upon, the Fire Marshal’s Office decided to look closer at the data we have on cigarette fires in homes (1 
or 2 and multifamily dwellings) and where the fires originate, what materials are first ignited and the type 
(composition) of materials first ignited.  Historically, smoking related fire fatalities occur in residential 
dwellings where an individual is most often near the ignition by dropping the cigarette into furniture or 
has carelessly disposed of smoking materials in the trash.  We will not focus on the trash scenario because 
the cigarette was probably damaged prior to being emptied into the trash.  The damage would render the 
speed bumps in the cigarette inoperable.     
  

In chart 1 below you can see the distribution of smoking fires in the home by where they started 
in the home.5  We ranked them and focused on the top 5 and grouped those remaining into other.  Giving 
the history of “never smoke in bed” public messaging it is somewhat both surprising and disappointing to 
see that the bedroom still ranks first in area of origin of smoking fires in the home.  However, more people 
seem to be stepping outside to smoke.  Overall, 57% of these fires started just outside the dwelling 
furthering the hypothesis that smoking indoors is becoming a less accepted behavior.  This is good for 
both fire safety, indoor air quality and health.   
 
Chart 1 

 
Source: Maine NFIRS Reporting System 

 A closer look at items first ignited, Chart 2, suggests that we’re still seeing too many fires of the 
type the fire safe cigarette was meant to prevent.  Upholstered furniture, mattress/pillow and bedding 
comprise 27% of fires by items first ignited.   The remaining 73% being distributed between items outside 
the structure or somewhere other than the bed or living rooms.  
 
 
 
 
 

 
5 Chart 1 only represents 101 of the 129 total home fires caused by smoking.  Where the area of origin was not 
identified in the data, the fire was excluded. 
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Chart 2 

 
Source: Maine NFIRS Reporting System 

 Chart 3 below essentially reaffirms what we see in Chart 2 above.  Materials associated with cloths 
or furniture lead the way at 28% of the identified type of (composition) materials followed by materials 
that might be related to exterior fires and finally materials associated with trash. Materials such as 
plywood, processed wood and fiberboard reflect new types of composite materials that contribute to faster 
flashover. We can conclude that based on area of origin, items first ignited, and type of materials first 
ignited that Maine’s Reduced Ignition Propensity law hasn’t eliminated the type of fires it was developed 
to prevent.   
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Chart 3 

 
Source: Maine NFIRS Reporting System 

Though data on where smoking related fires start and what type of materials first ignite suggest 
fire safe cigarettes might not be effective, the frequency of deaths due to smoking fires has declined (See 
Table 4).  This decline is probably due in part to continued declines in cigarette consumption.  The total 
property and contents dollar loss attributed to smoking for the four years prior to and after the law took 
effect, remained steady and continued to do so during the period of this report 2018 – 2020. Table 4 shows 
mixed gains in in terms of smoking related fire deaths and injuries but the overall cost of smoking related 
fires remains a problem.  Deaths, injuries, property losses combined with the personnel and equipment 
used to fight these fires are costly to Maine residents at the local and state level who pay to maintain fire 
departments.  

 
Table 4 Maine NFIRS Reporting 
System       

Time Frame Total Dollar Loss 
Civilian 
Deaths 

Civilian 
Injuries 

Firefighter 
Deaths 

Firefighter 
Injuries 

Total 
Personnel 
Used 

Total 
Apparatus 

2004 - 2007 $2,037,070 10 12 0 3 na na 
2008 - 2011 $1,799,237 12 2 0 5 na na 
2018 - 2020 $1,926,651 7 19 1 1 1,192 535 
Total $5,762,958 $29 33 1 9 1,192 535 

 

When smoking related fires happen is worth considering.  These fires, in homes, peak in May, 
begin to decline and start to rise again in January (see Graph 2).  The pattern is random for the remaining 
seven to eight months of the year.  In contrast to the months of the year, the time of day in which these 
fires occur is very clear.   

 

Graph 3 on the following page illustrates the strong correlation between waking hours, being home 
and smoking related fires.  A correlation not as strong in heating, electrical or other fire causes.  Fire 
frequency is at it’s lowest from after midnight to around six and then shoots up from eight to nine in the 
morning spiking again at seven to ten at night.  These morning and after five o’clock hours are those in 
which homes are occupied the most. 
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CIGARETTE CONSUMPTION AND THE RIP LAW 

 
Cigarette manufacturers expressed concern that RIP regulations would hurt them and small 

businesses because people wouldn’t like the cigarettes, they might cost more, and this would result in a 
diminished market of buyers.   

 
In Maine this is difficult to ascertain but when we look back over a decade we do observe that 

consumption of cigarettes in Maine as measured by the number of tax stamps issued was declining prior 
to the passage of the law and has continued to decline absent any observable significant spike downward.  
Figure 1 below shows the number of cigarette tax revenue amounts from 1997 and ending in 2021.  Sales 
tax revenues have declined but so has cigarette consumption due in part to smoking cessation programs, 
taxation and other variables and not necessarily RIP program alone.  In addition, tax revenue has leveled 
off despite no changes in RIP policy.  
 
 
Figure 1 
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IMPLEMENTATION OF MAINE’S RIP CIGARETTE LAW 
 
Implementation of Chapter 253 “An Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes” 

began almost immediately upon passage of the legislation.  Manufacturers began to send certification 
documents attesting to their compliance with the testing and marking requirements outlined in the law.  
The Fire Marshal’s Office reviews the testing and marking documentation even though accompanied by 
a statement attesting to compliance with the law. 

 
 
Certification documents include three essential elements: 
 

1. A letter attesting the manufacturer’s compliance with Maine’s law. 
2. Testing results for each brand and brand style of cigarette stating that each cigarette being certified 

was tested in accordance with ASTM Standard E2187-04. 
3. A sample of the packaging that includes the marking used to designate the cigarette as being a fire 

safe cigarette (FSC) brand. 
 
 Upon receiving the certification documents the Fire Marshal’s Office reviews them for compliance 
with all aspects of the law.  Include all cigarettes being certified are listed on the testing documents with 
date of test as well as a check to see that the marking is the right font size and clearly visible in the area 
of the bar code.  Upon verification of compliance, the Fire Marshal’s Office issues a letter to the 
manufacturer and copies the Maine Attorney General’s to notify them that the specified cigarettes are fire 
safe.  If there is a problem the manufacturer is also notified.  All correspondence is forwarded to the 
Attorney General’s Office so they can make sure the cigarette brand is on that is listed in the directory of 
all tobacco manufactures required under Title 22 § 1580-L. 
 
  
 
In addition, the Fire Marshal’s Office has built and maintains its own listing of certified cigarettes being 
sold in Maine.  The current list contains approximately 1,732 brand styles many of which will expire or 
be re-certified with little or no modifications to the physical characteristic of the cigarette.  It is the Maine 
Fire Marshal’s Office policy to inform manufacturers that should they alter the physical characteristic of 
a cigarette, i.e. circumference or length changes, they are required to recertify even though the three-year 
certification period has not expired.  The following details are in the listing for each brand style of 
cigarette: 
 

1. Brand or trade name on the package; 
2. Style, such as light or ultra-light; (these names are no longer used) 
3. Length in millimeters; 
4. Circumference in millimeters; 
5. Flavor, such as menthol, if applicable 
6. Filter or nonfilter; 
7. Package description, such as soft pack or box; 
8. Marking approved in accordance with the law; 
9. The name, address and telephone number of the laboratory, if different than the manufacturer, that 

conducted the test; and 
10. The date that the testing occurred. 

 

 The certification and listing costs for the cigarettes and all other required correspondence is 
absorbed by the Office of the State Fire Marshal.  Other states have managed this cost through a fee paid 
for the certification of each brand or brand style. Here is a list of what states are charging in terms of fees 
for certification per brand: 
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FINDINGS 
 
Chapter 253, An Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarette took effect on 
January 1, 2008.  Since that time: 
 

• Smoking related fires remain the most lethal of fires in Maine due to the proximity of the victim 
to fire ignition. 
 

• Most of these deaths take place in or just outside of 1 or 2 and multifamily dwellings (homes). 
 

• The counts of fire deaths due to smoking related fires remain relatively unchanged. 
 

• The count of all residential structure fires where cigarettes were the source of ignition has ranged 
from a high of 46 in 2012 to a low of 27 in 2014.  Overall the trend has remained relatively steady 
since the law was enacted.    
 

• The distribution of cigarette related structure and residential structure fires by area of origin, items 
first ignited, and materials first ignited suggests that smoking in sleeping areas and living room 
areas remains a problem. More fires are taking place directly outside of the dwelling.  
 

• RIP cigarettes have had no discernable impact on cigarette consumption in Maine. 
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SUMMARY AND RECOMENDATIONS 
 
This report has provided the legislature with a set of model indicators that can be used to measure 

the effectiveness of LD 70, “And Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes” passed during 
the 123rd Maine legislature.  We have examined fire deaths and fires caused by cigarettes over a three and 
ten-year periods in structures with a focus on residential structures.  Because the RIP cigarette is designed 
to reduce the frequency of fire deaths in homes and on upholstered furniture, we also looked closely at the 
distribution these fires in terms of the area of origin, items first ignited, and type of material first ignited. 

 
We believe the information we do have supports the law for the following reasons: 
 

 Smoking related fires continue to kill more people and injure many others. 
 
 These deaths are due primarily to the proximity of the victim to the ignition of the fire and therefore 

the FSC designed to go out on such materials makes is still of value. 
 

 Cigarette fires cost Maine communities in terms of life lost, injury, property loss and the cost of fire 
department personnel and apparatus. 

 
 RIP cigarettes seem to have no negative impact on cigarette consumption in Maine. 

 
 The history of smoking fires and deaths examined within the context of variables presented in this 

analysis indicate that a cigarette with a reduced propensity to ignite will be less likely to result in 
someone being killed as the result of a fire caused by a cigarette.  However, education aimed at 
prevention is ultimately the best approach to reducing smoking related fire deaths.  Given Maine’s 
aging population, a population that smokes and uses oxygen therapy more than any other age 
cohort, public education and awareness programs targeting this audience will still be useful.   

 
 With this summary in mind the State Fire Marshal recommends: 
 
 That the public education efforts focused on Maine’s middle age to older adult population and 

smoking currently underway remain in place. 
 

 Continue to monitor cigarette related fires in Maine and its cost. 
 

 Continue to work toward obtaining more quality data from Maine’s fire service who report these 
fires so that a more quality analysis of the impact of fire safe cigarettes can be conducted. 
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Appendix A:  Chapter 253 An Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes 
 

PLEASE NOTE: The Office of the Revisor of Statutes cannot perform research, provide legal advice, or interpret 
Maine law. For legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney. 

Public Law 
123rd Legislature 

First Regular Session 
Chapter 253 

H.P. 68 - L.D. 70 

An Act Concerning Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes 

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows: 
Sec. 1. 22 MRSA §1555-E is enacted to read: 

§ 1555-E.  Reduced ignition propensity cigarettes  
  

1.  Definitions.     As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the 
following terms have the following meanings.  
  

A.  ” Agent” means any person licensed by the State Tax Assessor to purchase and affix 
stamps on packages of cigarettes.  

  
B.  ”ASTM” means the American Society of Testing and Materials or a successor 
organization.  

  
C.  ”Cigarette” means any product that contains nicotine, is intended to be burned or heated 
under ordinary conditions of use and consists of or contains any roll of tobacco wrapped in 
paper or in any substance not containing tobacco or in any substance other than tobacco and, 
because of its appearance, the type of tobacco used or its packaging or labeling, is offered 
to or purchased by consumers as a cigarette.  

  
D.  ”Distributor” has the same meaning as in Title 36, section 4401, subsection 2.  

  
E.  ”Manufacturer” means: 

  
(1) An entity that manufactures or otherwise produces cigarettes, or causes cigarettes 
to be manufactured or produced anywhere, that the entity intends to be sold in this 
State, including cigarettes intended to be sold in the United States through an importer; 
  
(2) The first purchaser anywhere that intends to resell in the United States cigarettes 
manufactured anywhere that the original manufacturer or maker does not intend to be 
sold in the United States; or 
  
(3) An entity that becomes a successor of an entity described in subparagraph (1) or 
(2). 

  
F.  ”Quality control and quality assurance program” means the laboratory procedures 
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implemented to ensure that operator bias, systematic and nonsystematic methodological 
errors and equipment-related problems do not affect the results of testing under subsection 
2. A quality control and quality assurance program ensures that the testing repeatability 
remains within the required repeatability values stated in subsection 2, paragraph A, 
subparagraph (6) for all test trials used to certify cigarettes in accordance with this section.  

  
G.  ”Repeatability” means the range of values within which the results of repeated cigarette 
test trials from a single laboratory will fall 95% of the time.  

  
H.  ”Sale” means any transfer of possession or exchange or barter, conditional or otherwise, 
of cigarettes in any manner or by any means or any agreement. In addition to cash and credit 
sales, the giving of cigarettes as samples, prizes or gifts and the exchanging of cigarettes for 
any consideration other than money are considered sales.  

  
I.  ”Sell” includes offering to sell or agreeing to sell.  

  
J.  ”Tobacco retailer” has the same meaning as in section 1551, subsection 3-A.  

  

2.  Test methods and performance standards.     Cigarette test methods and 
performance standards are governed by the provisions of this subsection.  
  

A.  Unless federal law provides otherwise, cigarettes may not be sold or offered for sale in 
this State or offered for sale or sold to persons located in this State unless the cigarettes have 
been tested in accordance with the test methods and meet the performance standards 
specified in this subsection, a written certification has been filed by the manufacturer with 
the State Fire Marshal in accordance with subsection 3 and the cigarettes have been marked 
in accordance with subsection 4. 

  
(1) Testing of cigarettes must be conducted in accordance with ASTM Standard E2187-
04, “Standard Test Method for Measuring the Ignition Strength of Cigarettes.” 
  
(2) Testing must be conducted on 10 layers of filter paper. 
  
(3) No more than 25% of the cigarettes tested in a test trial in accordance with this 
subsection may exhibit full-length burns. Forty replicate tests constitutes a complete 
test trial for each cigarette tested. 
  
(4) The performance standards required by this subsection may be applied only to a 
complete test trial. 
  
(5) Written certifications must be based upon testing conducted by a laboratory that has 
been accredited pursuant to standard ISO/IEC 17025 of the International Organization 
for Standardization or other comparable accreditation standards required by the State 
Fire Marshal. 
  
(6) Laboratories conducting testing in accordance with this subsection shall implement 
a quality control and quality assurance program that includes a procedure that will 
determine the repeatability of the testing results. The repeatability value must be no 
greater than 0.19. 
  
(7) This subsection does not require additional testing if cigarettes are tested consistent 



17 
 

with this section for any other purpose. 
  
(8) Testing performed or sponsored by the State Fire Marshal to determine a cigarette’s 
compliance with the performance standards required by this subsection must be 
conducted in accordance with this subsection. 

  
B.  Each cigarette listed in a certification submitted pursuant to subsection 3 that uses 
lowered permeability bands in the cigarette paper to achieve compliance with the 
performance standards set forth in this subsection must have at least 2 nominally identical 
bands on the paper surrounding the tobacco column. At least one complete band must be 
located at least 15 millimeters from the lighting end of the cigarette. For cigarettes on which 
the bands are positioned by design, there must be at least 2 bands located at least 15 
millimeters from the lighting end and 10 millimeters from the filter end of the tobacco 
column or 10 millimeters from the labeled end of the tobacco column for nonfiltered 
cigarettes.  

  
C.  The provisions of this paragraph apply to alternative test methods. 

  
(1) A manufacturer of a cigarette that the State Fire Marshal determines cannot be tested 
in accordance with the test methods prescribed in paragraph A shall propose test 
methods and performance standards for the cigarette to the State Fire Marshal. Upon 
approval of the proposed test methods and a determination by the State Fire Marshal 
that the performance standards proposed by the manufacturer are equivalent to the 
performance standards prescribed in paragraph A, the manufacturer may employ the 
test methods and performance standards to certify the cigarette pursuant to subsection 
3. 
  
(2) If a manufacturer has certified a cigarette pursuant to subsection 3 and thereafter 
makes any change to the cigarette that is likely to alter its compliance with the reduced 
ignition propensity standards required by this section, that cigarette may not be sold or 
offered for sale in this State until the manufacturer retests the cigarette in accordance 
with the testing standards set forth in this subsection and maintains records of that 
retesting as required by this subsection. Any altered cigarette that does not meet the 
performance standards set forth in this subsection may not be sold in this State. 
  
(3) If the State Fire Marshal determines that another state has enacted reduced ignition 
propensity standards that include test methods and performance standards that are the 
same as those contained in this subsection and finds that the officials responsible for 
implementing those requirements have approved the proposed alternative test methods 
and performance standards for a particular cigarette proposed by a manufacturer as 
meeting the fire safety standards of that state’s law or regulation, then the State Fire 
Marshal shall authorize that manufacturer to employ the alternative test methods and 
performance standards to certify that cigarette for sale in this State, unless the State 
Fire Marshal finds a reasonable basis that the alternative test should not be accepted 
under this section. All other applicable requirements of this subsection apply to the 
manufacturer. 

  
D.  Each manufacturer shall maintain copies of the reports of all tests conducted on all 
cigarettes offered for sale for a period of 3 years and shall make copies of these reports 
available to the State Fire Marshal and the Attorney General upon written request. Any 
manufacturer who fails to make copies of these reports available within 60 days of receiving 
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a written request commits a civil violation for which a fine not to exceed $5,000 must be 
applied for each day after the 60th day that the manufacturer does not make such copies 
available.  

  
E.  The State Fire Marshal may adopt a subsequent ASTM standard test method for 
measuring the ignition strength of cigarettes upon a finding that the subsequent method does 
not result in a change in the percentage of full-length burns exhibited by any tested cigarette 
when compared to the percentage of full-length burns the same cigarette would exhibit when 
tested in accordance with ASTM Standard E2187-04 and the performance standard in 
paragraph A, subparagraph (3).  

  

3.  Certification.     This subsection governs the certification of cigarettes under this 
section.  
  

A.  Each manufacturer shall submit to the State Fire Marshal a written certification attesting 
that: 

  
(1) Each cigarette listed in the certification has been tested in accordance with 
subsection 2; and 
  
(2) Each cigarette listed in the certification meets the performance standards set forth 
in subsection 2. 

  
B.  Information listed in the certification of each cigarette must include: 

  
(1) Brand or trade name on the package; 
  
(2) Style, such as light or ultra-light; 
  
(3) Length in millimeters; 
  
(4) Circumference in millimeters; 
  
(5) Flavor, such as menthol, if applicable; 
  
(6) Filter or nonfilter; 
  
(7) Package description, such as soft pack or box; 
  
(8) Marking approved in accordance with subsection 4; 
  
(9) The name, address and telephone number of the laboratory, if different than the 
manufacturer, that conducted the test; and 
  
(10) The date that the testing occurred. 

  
C.  The manufacturer must make a certification available to the Attorney General for 
purposes consistent with this section and the State Tax Assessor for the purposes of ensuring 
compliance with this section.  

  
D.  Each cigarette certified under this subsection must be recertified every 3 years.  
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4.  Marking of cigarette packaging.     The provisions of this subsection govern 
marking of cigarette packaging.  
  

A.  The packaging of cigarettes that are certified by a manufacturer in accordance with 
subsection 3 must be marked to indicate compliance with the requirements of subsection 2. 
The marking must be in 8-point or larger type and consist of: 

  
(1) Modification of the universal product code to include a visible mark printed in the 
area of the universal product code. This mark may consist of an alphanumeric or 
symbolic character or characters permanently stamped, engraved, embossed or printed 
in conjunction with the universal product code; or 
  
(2) Any visible combination of alphanumeric or symbolic characters or text 
permanently stamped, engraved or embossed upon the cigarette package or cellophane 
wrap. 

  
B.  A manufacturer shall use only one marking and shall apply this marking uniformly for 
all packages, including, but not limited to, packs, cartons and cases, and brands marketed by 
that manufacturer.  

  
C.  Prior to the certification of any cigarette, a manufacturer shall present its proposed 
marking to the State Fire Marshal for approval. Upon receipt of the request, the State Fire 
Marshal shall approve or disapprove the marking offered, except that the State Fire Marshal 
shall approve any marking in use and approved for sale in New York pursuant to the New 
York Fire Safety Standards for Cigarettes. Proposed markings are deemed approved if the 
State Fire Marshal fails to act within 10 business days of receiving a request for approval. 
The State Fire Marshal shall notify the State Tax Assessor as to the marking that has been 
approved.  

  
D.  A manufacturer may not modify its approved marking unless the modification has been 
approved by the State Fire Marshal in accordance with this subsection.  

  
E.  A manufacturer certifying cigarettes in accordance with subsection 3 shall provide a copy 
of the certification to all distributors and agents to which the manufacturer sells cigarettes 
and shall also provide sufficient copies of an illustration of the package marking used by the 
manufacturer pursuant to this section for each tobacco retailer to which the distributors or 
agents sell cigarettes. Distributors and agents shall provide copies of these illustrations to all 
tobacco retailers to which they sell cigarettes. Distributors, agents and tobacco retailers shall 
permit the State Fire Marshal, the State Tax Assessor, the Attorney General and their 
employees to inspect cigarette packaging marked in accordance with this subsection.  

  

5.  Violations.     Penalties for violating this section are as set out in this subsection.  
  

A.  A manufacturer, distributor, agent or any other person or entity who knowingly sells or 
offers to sell cigarettes, other than through retail sale, in violation of subsection 2, paragraph 
A commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than $10,000 per each sale of 
cigarettes must be imposed.  

  
B.  A manufacturer, distributor, agent or any other person or entity who knowingly sells or 
offers to sell cigarettes, other than through retail sale, in violation of subsection 2, paragraph 
A and has previously been adjudicated of violating that subsection commits a civil violation 
for which a fine of not more than $25,000 per each sale of cigarettes must be imposed, except 
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that the fine against any one person or entity may not exceed $100,000 during any 30-day 
period.  

  
C.  A tobacco retailer who knowingly sells 1,000 cigarettes or less in violation of subsection 
2, paragraph A commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than $500 per each 
sale or offer for sale of cigarettes must be imposed.  

  
D.  A tobacco retailer who commits a violation as described in paragraph C and has 
previously been adjudicated of committing that violation commits a civil violation for which 
a fine of not more than $2,000 per each sale or offer for sale of cigarettes must be imposed.  

  
E.  A tobacco retailer who knowingly sells more than 1,000 cigarettes in violation of 
subsection 2, paragraph A commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than $1,000 
per each sale or offer for sale of cigarettes must be imposed, except that this fine against any 
tobacco retailer may not exceed $25,000 during a 30-day period.  

  
F.  A tobacco retailer who commits a violation as described in paragraph E and has 
previously been adjudicated of committing that violation commits a civil violation for which 
a fine of not more than $5,000 per each sale or offer for sale of cigarettes must be imposed, 
except that this fine against any tobacco retailer may not exceed $25,000 during a 30-day 
period.   

  
G.  In addition to any other penalty prescribed by law, a corporation, partnership, sole 
proprietor, limited partnership or association engaged in the manufacture of cigarettes that 
knowingly makes a false certification pursuant to subsection 3 commits a civil violation for 
which a fine of not less than $75,000 must be imposed for each false certification.  

  
H.  A corporation, partnership, sole proprietor, limited partnership or association engaged in 
the manufacture of cigarettes that commits a violation as described in paragraph G after 
having previously being adjudicated of committing that violation commits a civil violation 
for which a fine of at least $75,000 and not more than $250,000 must be imposed for each 
false certification.  

  
I.  A person who commits a violation of a provision of this section other than those described 
in paragraphs A to H commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than $1,000 
must be imposed for each violation.  

  
J.  A person who commits a violation as described in paragraph I and has been previously 
adjudicated of committing a violation described in paragraph I commits a civil violation for 
which a fine of not more than $5,000 must be imposed for each violation.  

  

6.  Forfeiture.     Any cigarettes that have been sold or offered for sale that do not comply 
with the performance standards required by this section are subject to forfeiture under Title 36, 
section 4372-A, as long as, prior to the destruction of any cigarette forfeited pursuant to these 
provisions, the true holder of the trademark rights in the cigarette brand must be permitted to 
inspect the cigarette.  
  

7.  Injunctive relief.     In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the Attorney 
General may file an action in District Court or Superior Court for a violation of this section, 
including petitioning for injunctive relief or to recover any costs or damages suffered by the State 
because of a violation of this section, including enforcement costs relating to the specific violation 
and attorney’s fees. Each violation of this section or of rules adopted under this section constitutes 
a separate civil violation for which the State Fire Marshal or Attorney General may obtain relief.  
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8.  Implementation.     This section must be implemented as set out in this subsection.  
  

A.  The State Fire Marshal may adopt routine technical rules, pursuant to Title 5, chapter 
375, subchapter 2-A, necessary to effectuate the purposes of this section.  

  
B.  The State Tax Assessor in the regular course of conducting inspections of distributors, 
agents and tobacco retailers, as authorized under Title 36, section 4373-A, may inspect 
cigarette packaging to determine if it is marked as required in subsection 4. If the packaging 
is not marked as required, the State Tax Assessor shall notify the State Fire Marshal.  

  
C.  Beginning in 2009 and every 3 years thereafter, the State Fire Marshal shall review the 
effectiveness of this section and report to the Legislature the State Fire Marshal’s findings 
and, if appropriate, recommendations for legislation to improve the effectiveness of the 
implementation of the standards and certification of those standards in this section. The 
report and legislative recommendations must be submitted no later than March 1st of each 
year a report is required.  

  
D.  This section must be implemented by the State Fire Marshal in accordance with the 
implementation and substance of the New York Fire Safety Standards for Cigarettes or a 
comparable or successor standard.  

  

9.  Inspection.     To enforce the provisions of this section, the Attorney General and the 
State Fire Marshal may examine the books, papers, invoices and other records of any person in 
possession, control or occupancy of any premises where cigarettes are manufactured, tested, 
placed, stored, sold or offered for sale, as well as the stock of cigarettes on the premises. Such a 
person shall give the Attorney General and the State Fire Marshal the means, facilities and 
opportunity for the examinations authorized by this subsection.  
  

10.  Fire Prevention and Public Safety Fund.     The Fire Prevention and Public 
Safety Fund is established as a nonlapsing fund. The fund must consist of all money recovered 
as penalties for violations of this section. The money must be deposited to the credit of the fund 
and, in addition to any other money made available for such purpose, must be made available to 
the State Fire Marshal to support fire safety and prevention programs.  
  

11.  Sale outside of State.     Nothing in this section may be construed to prohibit a 
person or entity from manufacturing or selling cigarettes that do not meet the requirements of this 
section if the cigarettes are or will be stamped for sale in another state or are packaged for sale 
outside the United States and that person or entity has taken reasonable steps to ensure that such 
cigarettes will not be sold or offered for sale to persons located in this State.  

Sec. 2. Existing inventory may be sold. Notwithstanding the Maine Revised 
Statutes, Title 22, section 1555-E, subsection 2, paragraph A, distributors or tobacco retailers, as 
defined in Title 22, section 1551, subsection 3-A, may sell their existing inventory of cigarettes 
on or after January 1, 2008 if the distributor or tobacco retailer can establish that state tax stamps 
were affixed to the cigarettes prior to January 1, 2008 and can establish that the inventory was 
purchased prior to January 1, 2008 in comparable quantity to the inventory purchased during the 
same period of the prior year. 

Sec. 3. Effective date. This Act takes effect January 1, 2008. 
  

Effective January 1, 2008. 


