Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > FAQ

                                                                                                                                       

What is the application process for the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program?

Basic Law Enforcement Training Program Application Process

Only Full Time Law Enforcement Officers who are employed in a law enforcement capacity or a person making an application to and being accepted as a tuition student can attend the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program (BLETP).

A tuition student applicant should complete Phase I of the application form (web site: Forms; Basic law Enforcement Training Program; Application for BLETP tuition Candidates) by the due date indicated in order to be CONSIDERED for acceptance into the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program.

The Chief Law Enforcement officer of a currently employed full time law enforcement officer should notify the Academy by submitting a Notice of Employment (NOE) form within the first 30 days of employment. (web site: Forms; Administrative Forms; Notice of Employment or Termination) This will notify the Academy that an officer needs to be trained.

In addition to the notice of employment, the CLEO should send in the following properly completed forms to the Academy before any officer can be accepted into the BLETP.

Motor Vehicle License Verification form Signed by CLEO Background Investigation form Signed by CLEO & Officer; Notarized Medical Form Signed by Physician & Officer Polygraph form Signed by CLEO Psychological Form Signed by CLEO Weapons Form Signed by CLEO

These can be found under the forms section of the MCJA web site under Combined LE Agency forms (web site: Forms; Basic Law Enforcement Training Program; Combined LE Agency).

Once an officer is accepted into the BLETP, they are required to report to the MCJA approximately 1 month before the start of class to receive an orientation and PT testing. The PT assessment must be passed at least at the 40% for all three tests in the same testing period in order to qualify for the class.

Cadets will be expected to bring equipment similar to that listed below. It should be noted that this list changes slightly with each class. The official equipment list will be available to the Cadets at the Orientation, 1 month prior to the start of the class.

Cadets must bring the below listed articles with them when reporting for training at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy. There are no facilities available for purchase of these articles at the Academy.

Wearing Apparel Three (3) to five (5) pair of Propper International BDU navy blue pants, style no. (F5201). These may be purchased at Wise Uniform in Augusta, Tri-State Uniform in Winthrop, Allen Uniform in S. Portland, etc. (5 are recommended & no sewn-in creases on pants). Three (3) to five (5) long sleeve Propper International BDU navy blue long sleeve shirts, style no. (F5452). These may be purchased at Wise Uniform in Augusta, Tri-State Uniform in Winthrop, Allen Uniform in S. Portland, etc). (5 are recommended & no sewn-in creases on shirts or pants). One (1) black knit watch cap and one (1) pair of black gloves. One (1) pair of all leather full height boots that will accept a high gloss shine. A second set of footgear is desirable. (No vinal, leather luster prepped or similar style footgear will be allowed). One (1) raincoat. (No lettering, unless agency issued). One (1) black belt (garrison type or of equal thickness) which must have silver buckle or be agency issued. Four (4) single width belt keepers with silver snaps or be agency issued. One (1) agency nametag.

Athletic Equipment At least one (1) pair of running /cross trainer shoes. (1 each recommended). At least one (1) athletic supporter (males) and one (1) sports bra (females). (2 are recommended). Ten (10) to twelve (12) pairs of white athletic socks. (12 are recommended). Two (2) pairs of navy blue, mid thigh length athletic shorts with no pockets and no lettering. Five (10 to twelve (12) navy blue crew neck "T" shirts with no insignias. (12 are recommended). One (1) protective mouthpiece and one (1) groin protection, for defensive tactics training. One (1) pair of white cotton work gloves. (for running outdoors). One (1) navy blue crew neck sweat suit, with no insignias, zippers, hoods or lettering. (2 are recommended).

Miscellaneous Equipment Laptop computer with Microsoft Word One (1) net or nylon laundry bag. (white is preferred). One (1) fully operational flashlight. (4 to 5 C/D Cell or Re-chargeable). One (1) pocket rescue breathing mask with one-way valve for CPR training. Five (5) to six (6) personal white towels and white wash clothes. (6 are recommended). Shoe polish, brush, cloth and container for storage. (no larger than shoe box). Shaving gear, toiletry items and container for storage. (no larger than shoe box and may contain antibacterial soap). Ear and Eye protection for firearms training. (ear protection must be earmuff type). One (1) reflective traffic vest and one (1) small sewing kit. Two (2) small spiral bound notebooks that will fit in shirt pocket. One (1) bathrobe and one (1) pair of shower footwear. Seven (7) to Eight (8) pairs of underwear, as appropriate for gender. (8 are recommended). Six (6) to seven (7) closet hangers. (7 are recommended). One (1) can of Inert O.C. Spray and holder for your duty belt. One (1) solid white twin size fitted and flat sheet and solid white pillowcase.

Optional Equipment/Material Prescribed medication that is clearly marked, which will be kept secured by the Cadet. (H1N1 and Seasonal Flu Shots - highly recommended). One (1) additional standard size pillow and one (1) white pillowcase. Printer for laptop computer. (highly recommended). One (1) desktop fan. (highly recommended). One (1) electronic communications device (cell phone, blackberry, etc). (highly recommended). One (1) 8X10 family photo. (other photos may be approved by the BLETP staff). Room air fresheners and Lint rollers. (highly recommended). Bible or religious book, dictionary and/or thesaurus and a set of shoetrees. USB Memory Stick or Flash Drive. (highly recommended). One (1) twin size mattress pad and/or comforter.

Ballistic vests, duty gun belts and weapon cleaning kits should be available by the third week of training (includes handcuffs and keys, but NO WEAPONS or AMMO). Weapons should be available by the fourth week. 100-foot tape measure should be available for crash investigation week. DO NOT bring them to the Academy, until instructed to do so.

No personal items or clothing, except as listed above, are allowed in the billet area. All allowed personal items will be initialed with the Cadet’s initials in black permanent ink before reporting.

Meals and lodging for Cadets will be provided during attendance at the Academy. Special dietary and/or ADA needs, such as: food for diabetics, lactose intolerance, or vegetarian requirements, or special ADA equipment shall be brought to the BLETP Training Supervisor prior to the class starting or as soon as possible on Day 1.

How do I become a Police Officer?

If you are interested in becoming a Law Enforcement Officer in the State of Maine here is information that will guide you.

You first must meet the prerequisites. You can find these on our website at “Maine Criminal Justice Academy”. http://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja/ You must meet the age and education requirements listed. You must also take and pass the Alert Test. You can find this information as well on our website.

Law enforcement Pre-Service Course: This course is the least amount of education you need in the state of Maine to carry a firearm on duty and to have powers of arrest. You can visit our website page at http://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja/training/preservice/index.htm Here you will find a list of upcoming classes, as well as a place to download an application which will explain the process to apply to this course.

You will get a course completion certificate at the end of this course. This will allow you to apply at Law Enforcement Agencies to work as a Law Enforcement Officer on either a Part Time, or Full Time Basis. A Law Enforcement Agency is required to send the Criminal Justice Academy a Notice of Employment Form and a Firearms Qualification Form when they hire an employee as a Law Enforcement Officer. Once the Academy receives this information we will process the documentation and send your hiring agency your Certification Number. You can only be Certified as a Law Enforcement Officer if you are Actively Employed by a Law Enforcement Agency as a Law Enforcement Officer. Once your employment is terminated, you are no longer a Certified Officer.

Basic Law Enforcement Training Program: The Basic Law Enforcement Training Program is an 18-week residential program. You will be required to arrive at the academy early Monday morning, and will be in training until Friday late afternoon when you will be released to go home.

You can apply to the Criminal Justice Academy as a tuition student. You can find the requirements, cost, application, and deadline dates on our website. The financial responsibility for this training will be the students. This includes a polygraph examination, psychological testing, medical examination, and tuition for the course. You will also be required to complete the application process along with interviews and meeting physical agility testing requirements. You must pass all the requirement standards to be accepted into the training program.

If you are hired by a Law Enforcement Agency as a Full Time Law Enforcement Officer, your hiring agency must enroll you in the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program within one year of employment. You must meet all the requirements as stated above including the physical agility standards. If you do not meet and pass all requirement standards you will not be accepted into the training program.

Where can I go to find study material for the ALERT EXAM?

There are two websites that may help you prepare: http://lib.post.ca.gov/Publications/poWrittenPracticeTest.pdf http://www.testprepreview.com/sat_practice.htm

How can I get rid of my old cell phone to help other people?

MAINERS CAN SAVE A LIFE BY DONATING CELL PHONES TO

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE PROJECTS AND SEXUAL ASSAULT SUPPORT CENTERS

Bangor, ME, January 28, 2008 – A new law went in effect that requires Maine people to properly dispose of their cell phones. Title 38 Section 2143 entitled, "Cellular Telephone Recycling” bans Mainers from throwing their old and unwanted cell phones in the trash.

The Maine Coalition to End Domestic Violence and the Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault encourage Mainers to contact their local domestic violence project or sexual assault support centers to donate their phone or use the pre-paid mailing label to donate their phone. Donated cell phones will either be given to a victim or will be exchanged for a monetary donation to fund services.

Nicky Blanchard, Public Awareness and Prevention Coordinator, states. “Often abusers isolate and control victim’s finances, resources and even their contact with other family and friends. The simple act of providing a 911-programmed cell phone allows scared, threatened and endangered victims to reach out to law enforcement. One cell phone, one call may save a life.” Mainers who choose to donate their cell phones have the potential to save someone’s life.

Across the state, Mainers can help victims of domestic and sexual violence by dropping off their cell phones at their local domestic violence project or sexual assault support center. To find how to do so, Maine people can call the statewide domestic violence helpline 1-866-834-HELP or the statewide sexual assault crisis and support line: 1.800.871.7741 (or TTY: 1-888-458-5599).

People can also download a mailing label:

http://www.ncadv.org/files/BodyShop-NCADVPre-paidLabel.pdf and make a contribution without leaving their home.

The Maine Coalition to End Domestic Violence (MCEDV) mission is to create and encourage a social, political, and economic environment in which domestic violence no longer exists, and to ensure that battered women are supported and that batterers are held accountable. MCEDV mobilizes and coordinates community action through a statewide network of domestic violence projects. Through these partnerships, we focus our resources on public policy, education, and systems advocacy. For more information about MCEDV, please visit www.mcedv.org.

The Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault (MECASA) is organized to put an end to sexual violence in Maine, and to ensure that there will be ongoing support and services for victims and survivors. MECASA represents and serve Maine’s ten sexual assault support centers through public policy advocacy, assistance to Maine's sexual assault support centers, public awareness and prevention activities, and statewide training. For more information about MECASA, please visit www.mecasa.org.

Where do I go for On-Line Training?

The online training is located at the web site of Justice Planning and Management Associates. The web address is: www.jpmaweb.com

What is the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program Waiver Process?

Only Full Time Law Enforcement Officers who are employed in a law enforcement capacity or received a conditional offer of employment from a Maine law enforcement agency can apply for a waiver of the Basic Police School.

The Basic Law Enforcement Training Program (BLETP) is an intensive 18 week, 720 hour residential program to prepare Law Enforcement Officers for duty for the State of Maine. We do accept similar programs for officers who are trained in other states. Most Federal or Military programs do not meet the ‘substantially similar’ requirement. If you meet the conditions in the first paragraph, the Academy will require the following information to determine if you are eligible for a waiver. As a condition of any waiver request, you might have to take some additional classes in our program that we feel are important that might have been lacking in your Academy program. You must:

• Be employed as a full time Law Enforcement Officer or Conditional offer of employment for same ( COE require $250 in advance to process) • Provide documentation for your Basic Law Enforcement training, to include a course syllabus and schedule of classes. We also require the name of Academy, the address, and your specific dates of attendance.
• Provide documentation on In-Service classes (in hours) • Provide documentation on College course attended to include college transcripts • Provide documentation on Full Time Law Enforcement employment

You will also have to meet the following Academy standards and Pre-service Standards:

• Be at least a high school graduate • Be at least 21 years of age, or age 20 with 60 college credits • Have or able to obtain a Maine operator’s license • Have no convictions for or have engaged in any conduct which would constitute Murder, Class A, Class B, Class C, or Class D crimes, or any provision of the Maine Criminal Code, Chapters 15, 19, 25, or 45 which include Theft, Falsification in Official Matters, Bribery & Corrupt Practices, and Drugs. • Must be of good moral character as determined by a through background investigation by the hiring agency, and

You must also meet the equivalent of the pre-service program, which includes:

• pass Phase I of the MCJA Pre-Service program • successfully complete the examination in the pre-service program after all items above are completed. • And lastly, demonstrate proficiency with service weapon to the basic law enforcement school standard by a MCJA certified firearms instructor

Any waiver request is contingent upon formal approval by the Maine Criminal Justice Academy Board of Trustees and successfully passing a Certification Exam.

What is the "Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act"?

Under the “Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act” (HR-218), qualified active and retired law enforcement officers are permitted to carry concealed handguns nationwide. The law amends the Gun Control Act (18 U.S.C. Chapter 44) to exempt qualified active and retired law enforcement officers from state and local laws prohibiting the carry of concealed firearms.

This Act requires that all qualified retired law enforcement officers meet the same firearms standard required of active duty law enforcement officers. In accordance with the Federal Act, the Maine Criminal Justice Academy provides a process for Maine residents who are retired law enforcement officers to meet the firearms qualification standards.

A list of Participating Certified Instructors and the Application form are posted on this website under the "Forms" link.

How do I apply for the Law Enforcement Pre Service Program?

You can find out more about the Law Enforcement Pre Service and download an application from our web site under the "Law Enforcement Pre Service" link under "Training".

What is the Law Enforcement Pre Service Program?

Before any person may serve as a law enforcement officer in Maine, they must meet the training standards of the Law Enforcement Pre Service Program. The Law Enforcement Pre Service is the required training program for all part-time officers.

What is the ALERT Examination?

The ALERT Examination is a reading comprehension and writing skills test. It is used to ensure that applicants to the Law Enforcement Pre-Service and the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program have the requisite reading and writing skills to complete the programs and function as a law enforcement officer.

How do I sign up to take the ALERT Examination?

The ALERT Examination is offered at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month. To make an appointment to take the exam please call (207)877-8000. Applicants must bring with them a government issued picture identification such as a drivers license and the $50.00 fee. If paying with cash, please bring the correct amount. If paying with check, please bring a check for $50.00 made payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine”. Applicants should arrive at 8:15 AM, 15 minutes prior to the start of the exam at 8:30 AM. Anyone arriving after the exam has started will be asked to reschedule. No electronic devices such as cel phones or cameras will be allowed in the testing room. Please lock these devices in your vehicle before entering the building. Directions to the Academy can be found at Driving Directions.