Skip Maine state header navigation
Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation
|Home | Contact Us | Online Services | FAQ | Honor Roll||
Site Map |
JOIN THE TRADITION
FOR A CAREER WITH . . . A FUTURE . . . JOB SATISFACTION . . . AND PRIDE!
Being a Maine State Trooper is a demanding, challenging and rewarding way of life. From the day you apply to become a trooper you will have embarked on a great personal challenge. Our exhaustive selection process and rigorous training academy has set national standards for excellence. The reason is clear . . . only the finest men and women are good enough to wear the uniform and badge of the Maine State Trooper.
Troopers begin their career with a salary based on an annual rate of $36,753.60 which progresses through seniority steps to $49,420.80. Overtime is paid at one and half times the basic hourly rate for time worked beyond an assigned shift. The value of State paid Health and Dental insurance is $340.81 biweekly. The value of the State's share of employee's retirement is 23.04%.
If you've been considering a law enforcement career and are self-reliant and highly motivated with the self-discipline and desire to give us your level best, then you may be just who we're looking for. Look to your future; apply to become one of Maine's finest law enforcement officers today.
Being a trooper offers excellent benefits that include:
WITH GREAT CAREER OPPORTUNITIES
Any question regarding salary and benefits may be directed to Andrew Birch at the Security and Employment Service Center at 207-623-6739.
The Maine State Police is looking for qualified people interested in joining the ranks of an elite group of men and women who have dedicated their lives to a career of public service. If you think you are qualified to meet the challenge of being a State Trooper, contact the State Police training office for additional information.
Age: Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (or 20 years of age with 60 college credits) prior to entrance into Basic Law Enforcement Training at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy.
Education: An applicant must be a high school graduate or hold an equivalency certificate (GED) issued by the State Department of Education.
Conduct: Reputation must be above reproach. Applicants must have no serious criminal or extensive motor vehicle records.
Physical: You must be in adequate physical condition to perform the duties of a State Trooper. This includes meeting prescribed vision standards.
**physical fitness standards will be changing as of March 1, 2013 - applicants will be required to attain the 50th percentile prior to applying to the Maine State Police**
The following standards are the basic entrance standards (40th percentile) needed to apply and the Maine State Police Academy standards (50th percentile) needed to graduate from the BLETP, and to enter the Recruit Training Troop. A copy of your basic entry-level results are required with your application.
40% BLETP Entrance Standards
50% Maine State Police Standards (required for ALL Maine State Police applicants after March 1, 2013)
If your age bracket is not listed, please call us to determine what your standards are.
A valid driver's license upon employment is required.
You should be aware before starting the application process that you will automatically be eliminated for any of the following:
NOTE FOR CERTIFIED OFFICERS :
Candidates selected for initial appointment who are graduates of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy Municipal/County Basic Police School (or equivalent basic law enforcement training program as determined by the Maine State Police and can receive a waiver from the MCJA Board of Directors), AND are currently certified law enforcement officers (or are able to obtain a Maine law enforcement certification) may be exempted from attending the MCJA's basic law enforcement officer training course at the discretion of the Chief of the Maine State Police. All other selected applicants will be required to attend and successfully complete this program.
1. ALERT EXAMINATION: Applicants must have already taken and passed the ALERT test prior to applying for placement on the Employment Register. This may be done by calling 207-877-8000 (there is a $50.00 fee for this test). Testing is normally scheduled for the first and third Wednesday of every month at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro, Maine. This test must meet the Maine Criminal Justice Academy's minimum passing score for entrance into basic law enforcement training. Test questions are multiple choice and fall within the categories of Writing Skills and Reading Comprehension.
2. PHYSICAL FITNESS TEST (PFT): Applicants must have already taken and passed the Pre-Employment PFT within the past year prior to applying for placement on the Employment Register. This may be done by calling 207-877-8000 (there is a $35.00 fee for this test). Testing is normally scheduled for the first Wednesday of every month at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro, Maine. The Physical Fitness Test (PFT) is a Pass/Fail test. It consists of three events: Timed Push-Up Test (one minute), Timed Sit-Up Test (one minute), and 1.5 Mile Run. Standards for successful completion of the PFT are available upon request.
3. APPLICATION EVALUATION: Applications are reviewed to verify that each candidate meets the established Minimum Requirements (above and inside brochure). Candidates who do not meet these requirements are disqualified from further consideration.
4. ORAL BOARD EXAMINATION: All candidates successfully meeting the Minimum Requirements will be scheduled for an Oral Board Examination. Oral Boards are usually scheduled monthly and held at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro, Maine. The Oral Board is a structured interview that evaluates applicants' skills in the areas of Commitment & Independence; Judgment & Logic; Decision Making Decisiveness; Tact & Diplomacy; and Communication Skills. The Oral Board is a pass/fail component of the applicant process.
HIRING PROCESS: The Maine State Police hiring process is not only thorough, but is extremely competitive. Candidates will be subject to the following:
Approximately one month prior to the start date of the school, the Maine Criminal Justice Academy will require that every candidate who is attending the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program attend an orientation and successfully pass the Physical Fitness Test.
NOTE: Each component of the State Police Trooper examination process must be completed successfully. Failure to successfully complete a component (or portion of a component) will result in disqualification from further consideration. Applicants, after applying, who are eliminated from consideration, must wait six months from date of elimination before reapplying.
How do you apply?
Applications (along with copies of your Alert Test results, physical fitness test results, driver's license, and GED or High School diploma) should be submitted to:
Direct Hire Application Forms also may be obtained from the State Bureau of Human Resources, Maine State Police Personnel Office and any local Maine Job Service Office.
Click here to download the standard State of Maine Direct Hire Application. Be sure to include all necessary documents with your application and submit to the Security Employment Service Center office listed above.
If you have any other questions, please contact Corporal Jason Madore at 207-877-8004, or Jason.R.Madore@maine.gov and he will be happy to assist you.
A FUTURE with the Maine State Police
A PROUD tradition of SERVICE through core values . . . INTEGRITY, FAIRNESS, COMPASSION and EXCELLENCE.
page updated 1/29/2013
|Copyright © 2005 All rights reserved.|