
Rev. 05/2018 

Maine State Police – Traffic Division – Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit 
20 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0020 

624-8935 or 624-8934 

 

Application for Inspection Technician Exam/Renewal 

     

 

 

 

 

 

Application must be filled out completely.   

Incomplete applications & photocopied applications will be returned.   

False answers will be grounds for license refusal. 

Fees are as follows: Application - $1.00.  Inspection Manual - $15.00.   

Criminal History/SBI Fee (Exams & Renewals) - $21.00 

Make checks payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine 

 

 Requesting Exam  

           

 Renewing license, expiration 

date _____________

 

  Name:  Last                          First                                   M.I.                          Jr/Sr 

    

Date of Birth:   Inspection Technician #: 

   

Home (Mailing) Address:  

 

 

   

 

City State Zip Code U.S. Citizen 

Yes      No  

Home (Physical) Address:         

 

 

County 

 

Email Address (Required):    

    

Home Phone Number: 

 

Work Telephone Number: 

Cellphone Number:  Driver’s License 

Number: 

                     State/Providence: 

Are you currently employed at a licensed inspection station?                          Yes      No 

Station Name: Station Number: 
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CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE 

 

 

I want to take the following examination(s): 

 

 Administrative Exam (Tests the knowledge of the Administrative section 

and the Law section of the inspection manual.  This exam must be passed 

in order to take any further exams.) 

 

 Class A (Motor vehicles not exceeding a gross vehicle weight rating of 

26,000 pounds and excluding those equipped with air brakes, woods 

tractors, school buses, motorcycles, mopeds, and motor driven cycles.) 

 

 Class B (School Buses) (Must also have a Class A and D.) 

 

 Class C (Motorcycles and motor driven cycles.) 

 

 Class D (Motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 or 

more pounds, vehicles designed to transport more than 15 passengers, 

vehicles used to transport hazardous materials in quantities required to be 

placarded or commercial vehicles with a gross combination weight rating 

of 10,001 pounds or more, except school buses.) (Must also have Class A.) 

 

 Class E (Any motor vehicle required to be registered in Cumberland 

County which is subject to the enhanced inspection described in 29-A 

MRSA § 1751.) (Must also have Class A.) 

 
Have you ever had any criminal convictions?            Yes        No 

Have you ever had any traffic tickets?                       Yes        No 

Do you have any pending charges?                           Yes        No 

If you answered yes to any questions, please explain briefly on a separate page.   

 

NOTE: “I understand that false statements made on this form are punishable by law.  

Knowingly supplying false information on this form is a Class D offense under the 

Criminal Code, punishable by confinement of up to one year or by monetary fine of up to 

$2,000.00 or by both.” 

 

___________________________________      ______________________________ 

Signature of Applicant                                                Date 

 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Payment Type: 

    

Payment # 

 

 

Cash     Check     Money Order    PO  

 


