Apprenticeship Hunter License

  1. A resident or nonresident who is 16 years of age or older and not a holder of a valid hunting license or junior hunting license may hold an apprenticeship hunter license.
  2. A person may be issued an apprenticeship hunter license only once.
  3. Alien hunters are not eligible for an apprenticeship hunter license.
  4. An apprenticeship hunter license expires on December 31st.
  5. A resident apprenticeship hunter license, which includes a bear hunting permit and a Spring/Fall wild turkey hunting permit, is $25 plus a $2 agent fee.
  6. A nonresident small game apprenticeship hunter license, which permits the hunting of all legal species except deer, bear, turkey, moose, raccoon and bobcat, is $74 plus a $2 agent fee.
  7. A nonresident big game apprenticeship hunter license, which permits the hunting of all legal species and includes a bear hunting permit and a Spring/Fall wild turkey hunting permit, is $114 plus a $2 agent fee.
  8. A person who meets all the other criteria for obtaining an apprenticeship license can obtain an apprenticeship archery hunter license for $25 (resident) or $74 (nonresident) plus a $2 agent fee in either case.
  9. A person who meets all the other criteria for obtaining an apprenticeship license can obtain an apprenticeship crossbow hunter license for $25 (resident) or $55 (nonresident) plus a $2 agent fee in either case. In addition, in order to obtain an apprenticeship crossbow license, the person must also hold a valid big game license or an apprenticeship big game hunter license.
  10. A holder of an apprenticeship hunter license may not hunt other than in the presence of a supervising person at least 18 years of age who holds a valid Maine hunting license. The supervisor must have held a valid hunting license for the prior 5 consecutive years to be qualified to supervise a holder of an apprenticeship license. A supervisor is responsible for ensuring that the holder of an apprenticeship license follows safe hunting protocol as well as all hunting laws. “In the presence of” means in visual and voice contact without the use of visual or audio enhancement devices, including binoculars and citizen band radios.
  11. A person who holds a regular big game hunting license is eligible to obtain an apprenticeship archery hunter license or an apprenticeship crossbow hunter license if they meet all the other criteria to obtain an apprenticeship hunter license in those categories.
  12. A person is eligible to act as a supervisor for an apprenticeship archery hunter or an apprenticeship crossbow hunter if they meet the supervisory requirements for that particular weapon type. For example, to act as a supervisor for an apprenticeship archery hunter, a person must be at least 18 years of age, hold a valid Maine archery license, and have held a valid archery license for the prior 5 consecutive years.
  13. If a person buys an apprentice hunter license and then subsequently passes a hunter safety course, they may contact IF&W headquarters to exchange their apprentice hunter license for a regular adult hunting license at no cost. They would then be able to hunt on their own in the same manner as anyone else who holds a valid adult hunting license.
  14. If a person has previously held a junior hunting license, they are not eligible to obtain an apprentice hunter license.
  15. A person is not allowed to hunt moose on an apprentice hunter license.