Duck Stamp Program

Maine Migratory Waterfowl Stamp 2013

2013 was the third year MDIFW used an Open Category, with 3 duck species to choose from : Greater or Lesser Scaup, Bufflehead, and Common Goldeneye. 2013 winners include 1st Place Richard Alley, Jr., Islesford; 2nd Place Olga Wing, Peru; 3rd Place Michael Loring, Windham; HM Thomas Merriam, Lovell; HM Georgette Kanach, Gray.

In 1984, the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife [MDIFW] instituted a state duck stamp program modeled loosely after the federal duck stamp program: the stamp was required by hunters 16 years and older, and all revenues from the sale of ducks stamps (about $13,000 - $16,000 annually) are dedicated to the conservation and management of waterfowl in Maine.

In 2002, MDIFW discontinued the duck stamp requirement of hunters, but instead required the purchase of a waterfowl hunting permit on the hunting license.

Duck stamps still are available for purchase by collectors, and revenues from the sales of both the stamp and the waterfowl hunting authority are dedicated to waterfowl conservation programs in Maine.

The 2014 stamp will return to the one species format; the selected subject is the American Widgeon. In 2014, the contest will be on March 28 @ 5pm, in the Art Room at the Augusta Civic Center.

Duck Stamps From Previous Years

2012 Duck Stamp

2011 Duck Stamp

2010 Duck Stamp

2009 Duck Stamp

2008 Duck Stamp

2007 Duck Stamp

2006 Duck Stamp

2005 Duck Stamp

2004 Duck Stamp

2003 Duck Stamp

2002 Duck Stamp

2001 Duck Stamp

2000 Duck Stamp

1999 Duck Stamp

1998 Duck Stamp