photo of House Chamber with link to House Main Menu

House of Representatives

Qualifications for Office

Pursuant to the Maine Constitution, Article IV, Part First, Section 2, "The House of Representatives shall consist of 151 members, to be elected by the qualified electors, and hold their office 2 years from the day next preceding the first Wednesday in December following the general election." There are approximately 8,132 people in each of the 151 House districts. The Maine House of Representatives also has two non-voting members representing the Penobscot Nation and the Passamaquoddy Tribe.

Pursuant to the Maine Constitution, Article IV, Part First, Section 4, "No person shall be a member of the House of Representatives, unless the person shall, at the commencement of the period for which the person is elected, have been 5 years a citizen of the United States, have arrived at the age of 21 years, have been a resident in this State one year; and for the 3 months next preceding the time of this person's election shall have been, and, during the period for which elected, shall continue to be a resident in the district which that person represents. No person may be a candidate for election as a member of the House of Representatives unless, at the time of the nomination for placement on the primary, general or special election ballot, that person is a resident in the district which the candidate seeks to represent.

Pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated, Title 21-A, Chapter 8, Section 553, "A person may not serve more than 4 consecutive terms as a member of the state House of Representatives."

Pursuant to the Maine Constitution, Article IV, Part First, Section 2, "The Legislature which convenes in 1983 and every 10th year thereafter shall cause the State to be divided into districts for the choice of one Representative for each district." This means that the Legislature which convenes in 2003 will be responsible for developing a plan for reapportionment. If the Legislature fails to pass a plan within the required time, the Maine Supreme Judicial Court is responsible for reapportioning the Legislature. The Legislature is reapportioned after each 10-year census so that each member of the House will represent approximately the same number of people.

Similar information about the Senate may be found
on the Senate Home Page under the Student Page link in the list on the left.

Please send your questions and comments about the Maine House of Representatives to

Maine House of Representatives
2 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
(207) 287-1400
House Webmaster
Judy Barrows