
If you are considering choosing a
competitive electricity provider (CEP) for
your electricity supply needs, here are five
things you need to know before making a
decision.
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UNDERSTANDING YOUR BILL

UNHAPPY WITH YOUR
SUPPLY PRICE?
CONSIDERING A SWITCH?

1 - The Standard Offer Price vs
Each CEP
You can always find the current
Standard Offer price, compared to
the other suppliers in the state, on
the Office of the Public Advocate's
website: maine.gov/meopa or by
calling us at (207) 624-3687.

2 - The Contract
A fixed price contract will have the
same cost per kWh for the length
of the contract. If the price is
variable, it can change each month.
If the price is fixed, find out for
how long, so you know if the term
will last beyond the next Standard
Offer price change. 

WHY DID THE STANDARD
OFFER GO UP IN 2023?
In Maine, the supply price for
electricity is set annually through
a “standard offer” process
administered by the Maine Public
Utilities Commission. In this
process, the PUC solicits
competitive bids for the price of
electricity for the following year.

The PUC recently announced the
new standard offer prices per
kilowatt-hour beginning January
1, 2023 for residential and small
commercial customers. 

For Central Maine Power, the
standard offer increased by 49%
to $0.176 from $0.118 in 2022. 

For Versant’s Maine Public
District,  the standard offer
increased 34% to $0.148 

from $0.1108 in 2022. 

For Versant’s Bangor Hydro
District, the standard offer
increased 41% to $0.164.

According to the PUC, standard
offer price increases for 2023 are
driven by increased natural gas
prices, which heavily influence
wholesale electricity prices across
the New England region because
natural gas-burning generators
comprise a significant portion of
the New England generator fleet. 

Higher wholesale prices in turn
result in higher retail prices,
including the standard offer.

Learn more at
maine.gov/energy/electricity-prices
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Continued on page 2

https://www.maine.gov/mpuc/home


I t  depends.  Under  Maine’s  net  energy bi l l ing law,  e l igible  solar
projects  receive one bi l l  credi t  for  each kWh of  e lectr ic i ty  they
generate .  Uti l i ty  customers  can s ign up with the owner  of  a  solar
project  to  receive a  share  of  these credi ts  generated by the
project  (see the diagram below).  Each credi t  is  used to  offset
one kWh of  e lectr ic i ty  usage by the subscr ibing customer.  I f  you
sign up with the r ight  company for  the r ight  amount  of  credi ts  a t
the r ight  pr ice ,  you can save.  Be very clear  on your  contract
terms and do your  homework.

When wil l  I  receive my specif ic  disclosure form?
Do not sign a  blank disclosure form.      

Am I  get t ing $ or  kWh credi t  on my monthly electr ic i ty  bi l l?  
When wil l  the project  come onl ine? When wil l  I  s tar t  to
receive credi ts?
How long is  the contract  term?

Some companies  have no f ixed contract  and others  have
up to  a  20-year  commitment .

Wil l  this  solar  farm always generate  enough to  cover  my
usage?
What  happens i f  I  move?
Do I  need to  have a  smart  meter  to  par t ic ipate?
Wil l  my HEAP and/or  LIAP benefi ts  apply to  the solar  bi l l?
(Note that  you cannot  use these benefi ts  to  buy solar  credi ts)
How does the subscr ipt ion amount  compare to  my annual
electr ic i ty  usage?

Questions to ask the solar company:
EDUCATE YOURSELF

WILL SOLAR SAVE YOU MONEY? Continued from page 1
Remember: While a variable
rate may offer savings now, it
could change to a higher price
in future months.
Also, ask when the contract
will end so you can make a
note to review your options
before this date. 

4 - The Termination Fee
Some CEPs charge a fee if you
switch to the standard offer or
to another CEP before your
contract ends. Make sure you
know if the CEP has one of
these “termination” fees and
how much they will charge
before you switch.

5 - Your rights
CEPs are subject to oversight
by the PUC, and there are rules
to protect consumers. CEPs
must provide you with their
“Terms of Service” before you
can become their customer, and
you may change your mind
within 5 days of signing up.
CEPs also must notify you of
an automatic renewal, or if they
switch you to a variable price
at the end of a fixed term.
Always ask the CEP to confirm
if they will be contacting you
by mail or email. Always
ensure that the CEP has your
up-to-date contact information.Learn more: https://www.maine.gov/meopa/electricity/community_solar

or call (207) 624-3687 to request our new Solar FAQ!



F R E Q U E N T L Y
A S K E D  Q U E S T I O N S

Central Maine Power customers - The last page
of your electricity bill, the “Electricity Supply
Account Detail” page, lists your electricity
supplier and the price per kilowatt hour. 
Versant customers - The front page of the
electricity bill has a Supplier Information box
which lists the supplier and price per kilowatt
hour.

Contact your CEP and ask when your current
contract expires and if there is a termination fee
for breaking your contract early. (Their customer
service number is on your electric bill.)
If there is a termination fee and you have several
months left on the contract, ask if the CEP can
offer you a lower rate on your current contract. 
If you still want to switch, tell your CEP that you
want to break your contract and switch back to
the standard offer. (CMP Customers: There is a
new form on the CMP website where you can
also request the switch. Find it under
Account>Understand Your Bill>Choose a
Supplier.)

1) How do I know if I am in a contract with a
competitive electricity provider (CEP)? 

2) My electricity is supplied by a CEP, not the
standard offer.  How do I switch to the standard
offer?

Call your power company. They may have
payment plans, financial assistance, and tips for
improving efficiency. 
Call MaineHousing (1-877-544-3271) and/or your
local Community Action Agency (find them by
calling 2-1-1) to see if you qualify for any financial
help through LIHEAP, LIAP, Maine's Homeowner
Assistance Fund, AMP, and others.
Reach out to your city/town office for general
assistance.

CEPs are required to send you two notices between
30-60 days before a contract ends. They also need
to keep proof of this notice in their files. If you
don’t remember seeing these notices, contact your
CEP and ask them how they sent this information
to you, either email or regular mail. It is your
responsibility to update the CEP if your contact
information changes.
Ask the CEP for proof of the notice. If they cannot
provide it, contact the Consumer Assistance
Division at the Public Utilities Commission (800)
452-4699. 

3) My electric bill is just too high - what can I do?

4) I just discovered that I’m on a new contract with
a CEP and didn’t agree to a new contract. How did
this happen?

Learn more at www.maine.gov/meopa



The Off ice  of  the Publ ic  Advocate 's  pr imary responsibi l i ty  is  to
represent  the interests  of  Maine ut i l i ty  consumers .  Our at torneys
advocate  for  ra tes ,  services ,  as  set  for th  in  our  authorizing s ta tute ,  35-A
M.R.S.  §  1702 and pract ices  to  benefi t  ut i l i ty  customers  in  regulatory
and court  proceedings.  Most  of  our  work takes  place in  proceedings
before the Maine Publ ic  Uti l i t ies  Commission.

Our Off ice  a lso intervenes in  cases  before  the Federal  Energy
Regulatory Commission (FERC),  the federal  agency that  oversees
wholesale  e lectr ic i ty  markets ,  inters ta te  e lectr ic i ty  t ransmission and
inters ta te  gas  t ransportat ion,  and the Federal  Communicat ions
Commission (FCC) which regulates  inters ta te  communicat ions by radio,
TV, wire ,  satel l i te  and cable .  We are  a lso act ive as  a  consumer
representat ive in  the s takeholder  process  a t  ISO New England,  the
regional  e lectr ic  t ransmission gr id  operator .

In  addi t ion,  our  Off ice  tes t i f ies  before  the Legis la ture  on matters
affect ing ut i l i ty  consumers ,  and provides  information regarding ut i l i ty
services  to  the publ ic  a t  large.
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Learn more at www.maine.gov/meopa

Office of the Public Advocate
112 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0112
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