The Public Utilities Commission issues its decision in case, now what options do you have?

If you are dissatisfied with a Commission Order, there are two ways to try to seek a different outcome: a request

for reconsideration, or an appeal to the Law Court. Both require that you be a party to the proceeding.

Instructions for pursuing each option are outlined below.

1) Reconsideration — When you seck reconsideration, you are asking the Commission to review its own

decision and reach a different outcome. To seek reconsideration, within 20 days of the written

Otder, you must file a petition with the Commission.

a.

b.

f.

Prepare a letter to the Commission describing your reasons for seeking reconsideration.

Log in to CMS (https://mpuc-cms.maine.gov/CQM.Public. WebUI/ExternalHome.aspx) using
your registered user account information.

Select the case file option from the menu on the left and then the “Submit New Case or Filing”

option. This process is similar to other filings you may have made throughout the case.

Select the existing case option and then fill out the information requested.

Under the Attach Non-Confidential documents header, select the document type “Request” and
document subtype “Reconsideration”.

Upload your letter.

If the request for reconsideration is not filed within 20 days of the Order, the filing will be denied.

2)  Appeal — When you appeal an Order, you are asking the Law Court to review the legality of the

Commission’s decision. To appeal a Commission Order, within 27 days of on Order, you must file

an appeal with the Administrative Director of the Public Utilities Commission.

a.

A Notice of Appeal to the Law Court must follow the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure. You
can view these rules from the Maine Court’s website. Scroll down to “Court Rules Continued”;

there you will find the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure.
There is a $150 filing fee that must accompany the Notice of Appeal. Checks made payable to
“Clerk of the Law Court.” If an appeal is filed without the filing fee, the appeal process will
nevertheless begin and the Law Court will pursue the issue of the filing fee.
Mail the Notice of Appeal document, the filing fee and send document to:

Maine Public Utilities Commission

c¢/o Administrative Director

18 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0018
Upon receipt of the Notice of Appeal, MPUC promptly sends the Notice, a copy of the service
list, a copy of the Docket Entries and the filing fee with a cover letter to:

Clerk of the Law Court

Maine Supreme Judicial Court

142 Federal Street, P.O. Box 368

Portland, Maine 04112-0368.
The Clerk of the Law Court will send notification of receipt of the appeal, the Law Court Docket
Number assigned to the appeal and the date by which the record on appeal is due to be filed
with the Law Court.

If an appeal is not filed within 21 days of the Order, the decision becomes final and cannot be appealed.


https://mpuc-cms.maine.gov/CQM.Public.WebUI/ExternalHome.aspx
http://www.courts.maine.gov/rules_adminorders/rules/index.shtml

