Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Underground Damage Prevention Program


GidSafe Logo

Underground Damage Prevention Program

Maine Law Requires Anyone Using Power Tools to Penetrate the Ground (Including Homeowners) to First:

  1. Pre-mark the boundaries of the proposed area of excavation with white markings.

  2. Call 811 three (3) business days (72 hours) prior to digging.  Dig Safe® will then automatically notify all of its member utilities that own underground facilities in the area of the excavation so that they can mark their facilities.

  3. Notify all non-member owners of underground facilities in the area of the excavation 3 business days prior to digging as some underground facilities may be private.

The Maine Public Utilities Commission (MPUC) is vigorously enforcing these rules and may fine you up to $5,000 per violation if you do not comply.  Therefore, please take time to review and understand the law (Title 23, §3360-A) and the MPUC Rules (Word).

MUST - Managing Underground Safety Training (2015)


Training targeted to promote underground facility safety in cooperation with Dig Safe®, underground facility owners, private locating companies, municipalities, excavators and regulatory agencies, and to continually evaluate the New England one-call laws and underground safety best practices. Click on above link to register.


Registrations are also available via telephone, toll-free, at 888-883-MUST (6878).


Unpaved Road Grading form 

Word doc

PDF doc


For additional information, please visit:

Common Ground Alliance

Excavators Manual



If you have any questions, please call the MPUC at (207) 287-3831 or toll free at (800) 452-4699.

Remember - Dig Safe® is free and it's the law!