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CASD MEMO 2022-06 
 
 
To:  All Electric, Gas, Telephone and Water Utilities 

From:  Derek D. Davidson, Director    
                       Consumer Assistance & Safety Division (CASD)   
 
Date:  May 11, 2022 
 
Re: L.D. 1847/Public Law 586 – An Act to Prohibit a Public Utility from Terminating 
                     or Disconnecting Service to a Public Safety Facility without Advance Notice  
 and Approval.  
 
************************************************************************************************************* 

The purpose of this Memo is to make utilities aware of the addition of section 719, 
“Termination of utility services for public safety facilities for nonpayment of rates, fees or 
charges for utility service” to Title 35-A by the second session of the 130th Legislature. 

Section 719 prohibits utilities from disconnecting service to a public safety facility for the 
nonpayment of rates, fees or charges for utility service unless the public utility has provided 
written notice to the municipal or plantation government using the public safety facility of the 
public utility's intention to disconnect the public safety facility's utility service at least 60 days 
before the disconnection date and the public utility has received written authorization to 
disconnect the public safety facility's utility service from the Commission and from the 
Department of Public Safety.  Section 719 also establishes administrative penalties for 
violations of the law and requires the Commission to open a rulemaking to implement the new 
law.  See attached copy of P.L. Ch. 586 for full details.  

 
Because L.D. 1847 contained an “emergency clause,” it became law when the 

Governor signed the legislation on April 12, 2022. Thus, Public Law 586 is currently in effect 
and utilities must follow the new requirements.  The Commission anticipates opening 
rulemakings to amend Chapters 815, 660 and 290 in the near future.  Please note that even 
though these rulemakings have not yet been initiated, utilities must nonetheless follow the 
requirements of the statute. 
 
 If you have any questions regarding this Memo, please feel free to contact me at:  
derek.d.davidson@maine.gov or by phone at 207-287-1596.  
 
 
DD/kp 
Attachment  
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STATE OF MAINE 
 

 
 

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD 

TWO THOUSAND TWENTY-TWO 

 

H.P. 1368 - L.D. 1847 

 
An Act To Prohibit a Public Utility from Terminating or Disconnecting 

Service to a Public Safety Facility without Advance Notice and Approval 
 

Emergency preamble. Whereas, acts and resolves of the Legislature do not 

become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and 

Whereas, continuous utility services are increasingly essential to the operation of 

Maine's public safety facilities; and 

Whereas, on at least 2 occasions public safety facilities in Maine have been 

disconnected or nearly disconnected due to billing errors and without advance notice; and 

Whereas, the purpose of this legislation is to ensure that public safety facilities receive 

adequate notice of terminations or disconnections of utility services; and 

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within 

the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as 

immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, 

therefore, 

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows: 

Sec. 1. 35-A MRSA §102, sub-§12-B is enacted to read: 

12-B. Public safety facility. "Public safety facility" has the same meaning as in Title 

30-A, section 5222, subsection 14-A. 

Sec. 2. 35-A MRSA §719 is enacted to read: 

§719. Termination of utility services for public safety facilities for nonpayment of 

rates, fees or charges for utility service 

1. Termination. A public utility may not terminate or disconnect a public safety 

facility's utility service for nonpayment of rates, fees or charges for utility service unless 

the public utility has: 

A. Provided written notice to the municipal or plantation government using the public 

safety facility of the public utility's intention to terminate or disconnect the public 

 



  
 

safety facility's utility service at least 60 days before the termination or disconnection 

date; 

A. Obtained from the commission written authorization to terminate or disconnect the 

public safety facility's utility service; and 

B. Obtained from the Department of Public Safety written authorization to terminate 

or disconnect the public safety facility's utility service. 

1. Penalties. Notwithstanding section 1508-A, subsection 1, the commission shall 

impose an administrative penalty on a public utility that violates this section in accordance 

with this subsection. 

A. For violations of this section by a public utility, the commission shall impose an 

administrative penalty for each violation in an amount between 0.1% and 0.25% of the 

annual gross revenue that the public utility received from sales in the State. Each day 

a violation continues constitutes a separate offense. The maximum administrative 

penalty for any related series of violations under this paragraph may not exceed 5% of 

the annual gross revenue that the public utility received from sales in the State. 

B. For a violation in which a public utility was explicitly notified by the commission 

that it was not in compliance with the requirements of this section and that failure to 

comply could result in the imposition of administrative penalties, the commission shall 

impose an additional administrative penalty of an amount between 0.1% and 0.25% of 

the annual gross revenue for each violation. 

C. In determining the amount of an administrative penalty under this subsection, the 

commission shall take into account the considerations in section 1508-A, subsection 2. 

2. Rules. The commission shall adopt or amend rules to implement this section. The 

commission shall ensure that any process or system changes made by a public utility to 

comply with this section are cost effective, result in operation and maintenance costs that 

are prudent and reasonable and do not involve capital investment. Rules adopted pursuant 

to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 

2-A. In adopting rules pursuant to this subsection, the commission shall consult with the 

Department of Public Safety and a statewide organization representing municipal interests 

in the State. 

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation 

takes effect when approved.  


