Energy Efficiency Disclosure Form for Rental Units in Maine
Fact Sheet

1. What law establishes the disclosure form? During the 2006 Legislative session, the
Legislature passed a law (P.L. 2005 chapter 534) that establishes the energy efficiency disclosure
form and suggested efficiency standards for rental units in Maine. The law will become effective
on approximately September 1, 2006 (90 days after the Legislative session ends).

2. What is the Energy Efficiency Disclosure Form? The disclosure form lists aspects of a
rental property that influence the amount of energy that the property is likely to use. For
example, the form lists insulation levels and the type of heating fuel used.

3. What must a landlord do with the disclosure form? The landlord must fill out the
disclosure form for each rental property offered for rent or lease. The landlord must provide the
form to any person who requests the form in person, and must post the form in a prominent
location in a property that is being offered for rent or lease. In addition, before a tenant enters
into a contract or pays a deposit to rent or lease a property, the landlord must provide the
disclosure form to the tenant, obtain the tenant’s signature on the form, and sign the form.
Landlords must retain the signed forms for a minimum of 7 years.

4. Where can I get the disclosure form? The form is posted on the Public Utilities
Commission website (www.state.me.us/mpuc, then click on “Forms & Applications” and “Forms
for Businesses or the Public”) or on the Maine State Housing Authority website
(www.mainehousing.org)

5. What are the “suggested energy efficiency standards?” The law also requires the
preparation of energy efficiency standards that are suggested for rental properties used as a
primary residence. A landlord is not required to meet these standards; however, the standards
provide guidance to landlords seeking to improve the efficiency of rental properties.

6. Why must landlords distribute the disclosure form? The disclosure form will help
consumers judge the amount of energy (i.e., electricity, natural gas, wood, and fuel oil) a rental
property requires, before deciding whether to rent the property. In addition, the form and
standards may result in improved energy efficiency over time, as landlords and renters become
more knowledgeable about ways to improve building efficiencies.

7. What is the penalty if a landlord does not provide the disclosure form to a prospective
tenant? The law does not establish a specific penalty or means for enforcing the law’s
requirements. If a tenant believes that a landlord did not comply with the law, the tenant should
contact an attorney to determine the best approach to the problem.

8. Where can I call with questions? The Public Utilities Commission’s Consumer
Assistance Division (1-800-452-4699) can answer basic questions about how to obtain or use the
disclosure form. For information about energy efficiency, call Efficiency Maine (1-866-376-
2463). Maine State Housing Authority can also answer questions. Call Peter Merrill 1-800-452-
4668 or your asset manager.
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