# **Reciprocal Jurisdictions**

Under 24-A M.R.S.A. §731-B(1)(B-3)(1)(b), "Reciprocal jurisdiction" means a jurisdiction that is:

- (i) A non-United States jurisdiction that is subject to an in-force covered agreement with the United States, as long as each agreeing jurisdiction is within its legal authority to enter the agreement, or, in the case of a covered agreement between the United States and the European Union, a member state of the European Union;
- (ii) A United States jurisdiction that meets the requirements for accreditation under the financial regulation standards and accreditation program of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners; or
- (iii) A qualified jurisdiction, as determined by the superintendent pursuant to paragraph B-2, subparagraph (3), that meets certain additional requirements, consistent with the terms and conditions of covered agreements, as specified by the superintendent by rule.

## **List of Current Reciprocal Jurisdictions**

## **Reciprocal Jurisdictions Subject to a Covered Agreement**

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Member States of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

### **Reciprocal Jurisdictions Accredited by the NAIC**

All 50 states, District of Columbia, U.S. Virgin Islands.

#### Qualified Reciprocal Jurisdictions Designated by the Superintendent

Bermuda, Japan, and Switzerland.

Updated: 6/2/2022