## **State of Maine**

## **Bureau of Insurance**

## Schedule of Company Fees, Taxes and Deposits (Retaliatory Statement) Life & Health, Property & Casualty, Title

Maine is a retaliatory state and all fees, premium taxes, deposits and other charges will be charged at the rate in Maine law or the rate charged by the domiciliary state, whichever is higher. Title 24-A, M.R.S.A. § 428 & Title 36, M.R.S.A. § 2519.

Section I. Fees - (Payable to Treasurer, State of Maine) (Title 24-A, M.R.S.A.)		
Admission Fees		
Certificate of Authority Application Fee (due at time of application)	\$1,000	
Issuance Fee (billed at time of approval of application)	\$100	
Annual Fees		
Annual Statement Filing Fee (billed annually, in June)	\$100	
Annual Continuation of Certificate of Authority (billed annually in July)	\$100	
Other Fees		
Filing of Articles of Incorporation (due with amended document)	\$25	
Filing of Bylaws (due with amended document)	\$25	
Name Reservation for Name Change (due with reservation)	\$25	
Redomestication	No Fee	
Addition/Deletion of Line of Business (to reissue the Certificate)	\$10	
Certificate of Deposit	\$10	
Certificate of Compliance	\$10	
Certificate of Valuation	\$10	
Replacement / Reissuance of Certificate of Authority	\$10	
Rate and Form Filing Fees		
Forms		
Withdrawals	\$20	
Delay Adoption & Non-Adoption	\$20	
Consent to Rate/Form (Initial & Individual Filings)	\$20	
Amendment to Filing - *Before Effective Date*	No Fee	
Amendment to Filing - *After Effective Date*	\$20	
Continued Below		

Paper & Electronic Filings		
Rate & Rule	\$20	
Form	\$20	
Rate/Rule/&Form	\$20	
"Informational" Filings	No Fee	
Section II. Premium Tax		
Maine Revenue Services is the state agency responsible for the processing of premium tax returns and related information for Authorized Insurers & Surplus Lines Carriers.		
Life Insurance or Annuities issued in connection with the funding of qualified retirement plans are exempt from tax.		
Section III. Deposit Requirements		
General Deposit to operate in state (in place at time of admission in any admitted state)	\$100,000	

If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact the Financial Analysis Division by Phone: (207) 624-8475; by Fax: (207) 624-8599; or by Email: Insurance.PFR@maine.gov