Moving to Maine
- Area Code: 207
- Demographics & Population
- Maine Statistics
- Elected Officials
- Maine Cities & Counties
- Maine Weather
- Maine Maps
- Maine Zip Codes
- Find a Doctor in Maine
- Maine Media
Links to Maine's newspapers and network TV stations, and public TV and radio.
- Travel Distances
If you are moving to Maine and have a valid out-of-state driver's license, you can get a Maine license by:
- Visiting the Maine motor vehicle office nearest you.
- Providing proof of your physical address in Maine.
- Providing proof of legal presence (the most common documents used are a certified birth certificate or U. S. Passport).
- Completing a vision screening. You may not be required to take a written and road test.
- Turning in your out-of-state license.
- Paying the exam and license fees (these fees differ by class).
Detailed information on laws, exams and licenses is available in booklet form. The Motorist Handbook and Study Guide (PDF) is for Class C licenses and motorcycles. The Commercial Driver's Manual (PDF) is the guide for CDL licenses. You can obtain these at any branch office.
If you are converting a class C license there will be a $10.00 application fee plus the $30.00 photo license fee.
Conversion of a CDL license must be processed by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles main office located on Hospital Street in Augusta. The telephone number is (207) 624-9000, extension 52122.
You must obtain a new license within 30 days of moving to Maine.
Registering your Vehicle
To register your vehicle in Maine, you will need to visit your town government office with your title if your car is 1995 or newer (you don't need to bring a title if your car's model year is older than 1995), your out-of-state registration certificate, and your current, dated insurance card. Fill out a title application if necessary, and pay all applicable fees.
Vanity plates: $25 annually, in addition to the regular registration fee Specialty plates: add an extra $20 in first year, $15 extra in each year after. Check vanity plate availability or order a vanity plate online
Excise Tax is paid yearly when you register your vehicle. This tax goes to the municipality and varies according to the value and age of your vehicle. The price ranges from $4 to $24 per $1000 of value. This is a tax which often surprises newcomers to Maine
You are not sent a renewal notice for your registration. It is up to you to remember to renew your registration at the appropriate time by visiting your town office. If you live in a participating town, you can renew your registration online using the Rapid Renewal system.
Register to Vote
You may register to vote at your town office, through any Motor Vehicle branch office, through most state and federal social service agencies, or at voter registration drives. Completed voter registration cards may be hand delivered or mailed to your town office or the Secretary of State.
See the HYPERLINK "http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/elec/votreg.htm" Maine Voter Guide for more information about how to register.
- Sales tax: 5%, lodging & prepared food tax: 7%
- HYPERLINK "http://maine.gov/portal/family/tax_finance.html" More Tax Information
Top Online Services
- Archives Records Search
- Unclaimed Property Search & Claims
- Birth, Marriage, & Death Record Searches
- Assisted Living Facilities Search
- Burning Permits