

November 9, 2021

PUMPKIN SPICE EDITION!

Welcome to the Pumpkin Spice Edition of the PE News Flash! (Note the colors.) As we wend our way toward the end of 2021, we wish you all health, happiness, and prosperity. And we want to ensure that you are updated on recent changes and reminded of expectations as we go through RENEWAL SEASON! Yea!

PDH FAQ

Q: Is it true that PDHs have been eliminated for first-time licensees? A: YES. Anyone licensed for the first time between January I, 2020 and October 31, 2021 has no PDH requirement for their first renewal. This applies both to those who have their first-ever PE license and those who are licensed for the first time in Maine after being licensed someplace else.

Q: Have PDH requirements been waived because of COVID-19? A: NO. All licensees except firsttime renewals must complete 30 PDHs prior to renewal. The PE Board has discussed this issue at every board meeting since COVID began and the consensus remains that the availability of online programming has increased, not diminished. With restricted travel and less commuting there has been ample time to fulfill the PDH requirements.

Q: What if I just couldn't get the PDH done? A: Then you can't renew your license and you must cease practicing after December 31 until you complete the PDH requirement and renew your license. A late fee of \$50 is added to the \$120 renewal fee beginning January 1, 2022.

Q: What if the reason I couldn't get PDH done was serious illness or loss of job or something like that? A: Maine law permits the PE Board to waive or partially waive the PDH requirement in cases of "extenuating situation, hardship, or disability." You must make the request in writing (email, please — the mail is painfully slow) and we will address each request individually with the Board.

Q: **Do you recommend any online providers?** A: NO. The Maine PE Board does not pre-approve ANY courses. You decide if it fits the requirement of the Rule, "relevant to the practice of engineering." Note that some professional societies provide free PDH courses as a membership benefit.

Q: **Do you have requirements for specific topics or delivery methods?** A: NO. Topics can include technical, managerial, and ethics subject matter. Maine has no credit-hour requirements for type of course (technical, ethics) or for delivery method (live, video, on-demand).

Q: I took a course in another state, will it qualify for PDH credit in Maine? A: YES. Maine will credit you for any PDH accepted in any other state, including courses for other states' laws and rules.

Q: What do I need to submit with my renewal to prove my PDH? A: NOTHING. You only submit PDH records if you are audited. If audited, you submit a signed PDH Activity Log, downloadable from the website, and all supporting documentation (certificates, receipts, email confirmations, or other documentation that provides evidence of completing the PDH training). You MUST keep all records for 3 years! Failure to complete the required PDH, failure to provide records when audited, and failure to properly maintain records are each separate violations of Maine law.

RENEWAL FAQ

Q: When do we renew? A: All Maine PE licenses expire on December 31 of each odd-numbered year. The online renewal portal opened on November 1 and is open 24 hours/day for your convenience.

Q: How do we renew? A: You can renew online through the link you received in the email sent on November 1 or by going to the PE Board website at www.maine.gov/pe and clicking on "Renew License" in the lower right corner under "Resources." You can update your contact information, renew with a credit card, and print a copy of your new license and pocket card.

Q: What if our company insists we pay with a check? A: Complete the application online, print it when prompted, and mail it with a check (make sure your name is on the check) to the board address on the website. Remember the USPS is dreadfully slow right now, so you risk being late and being charged a late fee, which will delay your renewal. FedEx and UPS should be sent to the board's street address, NOT the 92 SHS address.

Q: What if we renew late? A: Any renewal received after December 31 will pay a \$50 late fee in addition to the \$120 renewal fee. Plus, you increase your chance of having your PDH audited. Of those who renew on time, 1.5% get audited. From Jan 1 to Mar 31, 5% get audited, and after March 31, 100% of the renewals get audited.

Q: Do we submit PDH materials with renewal? A: NO, only if audited. In response to an audit, you should either scan and email your signed PDH Activity Log (from our website) along with all documentation (certificates, receipts, etc.) or submit your NCEES CPC registry.

Q: What is the NCEES CPC (Continuing Professional Competency) registry? A: NCEES provides a free CPC registry where you can upload and store all of your continuing education (what we call PDH) records, so you can transmit them free to any state that needs to audit them. It also allows you to track your license expiration dates and helps to know if you are likely to meet the PDH requirements of all of the states where you are licensed. And it's free.

Q: Is there a penalty if I don't plan to work in Maine and I want to let my license lapse? A: There is no penalty for letting your license lapse. You can pick it up any time by paying the required fees and providing proof of completed PDH. After 3 years, you will also need to provide current PE references, and meet all current licensure requirements.

Q: What if I want to change my license to Retired status? A: You can renew online to the Retired status. Retired status is for people who are permanently ceasing the practice of professional engineering everywhere. If you remain licensed in another state, it is not for you. It confers no benefit to anyone outside of Maine, and the only benefit for those who reside in Maine is that they can use the credential "PE, retired" after their name on correspondence, like a Christmas card. It is an unlicensed status and cannot be used in any way that might be interpreted that you may offer or perform professional engineering. It used to mean we mailed you the printed roster and newsletter, but now those are online for free, and everyone is listed in the online roster. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the office.

Current PE Board

Seat	Name	Position	Seat	Name	Position
I	Vacant	Board Member	4	Brent M. Bridges, PE	Chair
2	Judith R. Pearse, PE	Board Member	5	Mandy Holway, PE	Board Member
3	Joyce Noel Taylor, PE	Vice Chair	6	Vacant	Board member



State Board of Licensure For Professional Engineers 92 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0092 T: 207-287-3236 E: professional.engineers@maine.gov

www.maine.gov/pe