2012

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES FIRE INVESTIGATION AND PREVENTION TAX ANNUAL RECONCILIATION / RETURN



Rev. 9/12

MRS Fire Tax Account Number NAIC ID Number Period Covered Due Date March 15, 2013 January 1 - December 31, 2012 CHECK ALL THAT APPLY: Business Name (Line 1) Initial Return Amended return Business Name (Line 2) Final return Street Address and/or Post Office Box Enter closing date: MM DD YYYY Change of name/address ZIP Code City State COMPUTATION OF TAX ON FIRE PREMIUMS Amount of premiums allocated to fire (See instructions) В D Line of Business **Gross Premiums** Percent of Premiums Amount of Premiums Dividends Paid Total Net (Less Return Premiums or Credited on Taxable Allocated to Fire Allocated to Fire and Premiums on **Direct Business** Premiums (column D x column E) Policies not Taken) .00 \$ \$ 100.00% 1a. Fire.....\$.00 1b. Inland Marine \$ \$ \$ 26.89% 1c. Aircraft Physical .00 \$ \$ Damage.....\$ Actual* **Auto Physical Damage:** .00 1d. Private.....\$ \$ \$ 1 24% .00 \$ \$ 1e. Commercial.....\$ 4.66% Fire, Theft and Miscellaneous: 1f. Farmowners.....\$.00 \$ \$ 43.67% Multiple Peril .00 1g. Homeowners......\$ \$ \$ 47.13% Multiple Peril .00 1h. Commercial.....\$ \$ \$ 50.13% Multiple Peril (non-liability) .00 1i. All Other Fire\$ 100.00% Related .00 2. Total amount of premiums allocated to fire (Add lines 1a through 1i)2. .00 .00 4. Estimated payments00 .00 6. Overpayment to be refunded (If line 4 is greater than line 3, line 4 minus line 3)........................6.

* Line 1c only: Enter in column F the premiums actually received on fire risks located in Maine.

MRS Fire Tax Account Number:



1231101

AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURE

This return is made in compliance with the provisions of 25 M.R.S.A. § 2399. The amount of all gross direct premiums or assessments for fire risks written by this insurer on risks located in, or received from risks resident of, the State of Maine during the year ending December 31, 2012 has been reported. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.

Date:	Signature:	Telephone #:
	Must be signed by the President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief Accounting Officer or Attorney-in-fact of a reciprocal insurer.	
	Preparer's	
Date:	Signature:	ID Number:

INSTRUCTIONS

Premium amounts to be reported: A premium is an amount paid or payable for an insurance policy, including all fees (except provider fees paid for service contracts), such as membership, policy, survey, inspection, service and finance fees, that are assessed by and paid to an insurance company in consideration for an insurance policy. The instructions below provide guidance to assist in the preparation of this return. However, accurate and full reporting of premium amounts, including any applicable fees, is the responsibility of each taxpayer.

Note: The fire investigation and prevention tax applies in addition to the insurance premiums tax. A fraternal benefit society, order or lodge, as defined in 24-A M.R.S.A. section 4101(1) is exempt from Maine insurance premiums taxes.

Line 1. Amount of Premiums Allocated to Fire. Calculate the total amount of premiums allocated to fire insurance for each line of business identified in column A.

Column B Gross Premiums. Enter the gross direct premiums written, less return premiums and premiums on policies not taken. Generally, gross direct premiums are reported on the Maine State Page of the NAIC Annual Statement, column 1 and related finance and service charges are reported on Schedule T, column 8 (Finance and Service Charges not Included in Premiums).

Column C Dividends Paid or Credited on Direct Business. Enter dividends paid or credited to policyholders on direct premiums. Amounts entered must agree with column 3 of the Maine portion of your NAIC annual statement.

Column D Total Net Taxable Premiums. Subtract the column C amount from the column B amount and enter the result.

Column E Percent of Premiums Allocated to Fire. The percentages listed represent the ratio of fire losses to total losses based on historical data. An insurer wanting to deviate from these percentages must clearly establish alternate ratios based on its own fire loss experience. The following procedures must be used to establish alternate fire ratios:

- The alternate ratios must be based on the prior five-year average fire losses.
- Complete the following steps to calculate the ratio for each product line listed in column A:
 - a. Calculate the five-year average of loss due to fire from claims

associated with risks located in Maine.

- Calculate the five-year average of loss from all claims associated with risks located in Maine.
- Divide a by b; this is the ratio to be used in column E for this particular product line.
- d. A separate calculation must be made for each product line.
- e. In the case of affiliated insurance companies, a separate calculation must be made for each insurer.
- Attach a computation to your return identifying loss due to fire and total loss by year for each of the five years used to calculate the five-year average.

Column F Amount of Premiums Allocated to Fire. Multiply the column D amount by the column E percentage and enter the result

Line 2. Total Premium. Add column F amounts for each line of business (line 1a. through line 1i.) and enter the sum on this line (Total amount of premiums allocated to fire).

Line 3. Tax Liability. Every fire insurance company or association that does business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute to pay 1.4% of the net taxable premiums for fire risks written in Maine.

Line 4. Estimated Payments. Enter the total amount of monthly estimated payments already made in 2012.

Line 5. Balance Due. Payment must be submitted with this return. Late payments are subject to interest and penalties.

Note: Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically. See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (select Laws & Rules) for details.

For calendar year 2013, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly. The penalty for failure to file a return is the greater of \$25 or 10% of the tax due. If the return is not filed within 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice to file, the penalty is the greater of \$25 or 25% of the tax due. The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability on time is 1%, up to a maximum of 25%, of the outstanding liability.

Line 6. Overpayment. All overpayments will be refunded.



If enclosing a check, make check payable to:

<u>Treasurer, State of Maine</u>
and MAIL WITH RETURN TO:
MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
P.O. BOX 1065
AUGUSTA, ME 04332-1065

If not enclosing a check, MAIL RETURN TO:

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES P.O. BOX 1064 AUGUSTA, ME 04332-1064