ESTATE TAX STATEMENT OF VALUE FOR LIEN DISCHARGE
FOR CERTAIN NONTAXABLE ESTATES
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Estate
of:
First Name M.I. Last Name
Date of Death:
Social Security Number (SSN) MM DD YYYY
Residency Status: Resident Nonresident State of Residency (abbreviate)
If married/widow/widower, enter spouse’s name: and SSN:

Personal Representative or Person in Possession of Decedent’s Property:

First Name M.I. Last Name

SSN Telephone Number Fax Number
Street Address

City/Town State ZIP Code Email Address

Authorized Representative: [f youwould like to authorize a representative to act on your behalf, complete this section. Otherwise, sign and date at the bottom and mail to
Maine Revenue Services.

Authorization is granted to the representative listed below to receive copies of confidential tax information related to this statement under 36 MRSA § 191 and to act as the estate’s
representative before Maine Revenue Services.

Firm Name (or preparer, if self-employed)
Contact Person: First Name M.1. Last Name

Contact Person Mailing Address

City/Town State ZIP Code Telephone Number

Email Address Fax Number
|Z | declare that the value of the Decedent’s Maine gross estate is $2 million or less. | understand that the Maine gross estate includes all property  ev-
erywhere held by the Decedent that is included in the federal gross estate plus Maine elective property and taxable gifts made within 1 year of death.

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this statement and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct and complete.
Declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of Personal Representative Date

Signature of Preparer other than Personal Representative Preparer's SSN or PTIN Date

- Firm name (or preparer if self-employed) Preparer Address Preparer Telephone Number -



ESTATE TAX STATEMENT OF VALUE FOR LIEN DISCHARGE
FOR CERTAIN NONTAXABLE ESTATES

Mail this statement, along with a Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien to : MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
PO BOX 1064
AUGUSTA, ME 04332-1064

Maine tax law imposes an estate tax on the transfer of assets at the time of a person’s death. While most estates are not
taxable, Maine law places an automatic lien on the Maine property of all decedents. This statement is designed for certain
nontaxable estates to request a release of the automatic lien.

You can use this statement for 2013 decedents if the value of the property in the gross estate plus gifts made by the
decedent within one year of death plus Maine elective property is $2 million or less, and if a federal estate tax return is not
required. This gross estate includes all property everywhere held by the decedent. If the estate contains Maine qualified
terminable interest property, Form 706 ME must be filed. Attach a copy of this statement to a certificate of lien discharge
to request a release of the lien on the decedent’s property. For more information, including the Maine estate tax law and
the Maine Estate Tax Guidance Document, see the estate tax page on the MRS web site at www.maine.gov/revenue/inco-
meestate/estate.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

A worksheet is included in the Maine Estate Tax Guidance Document. This worksheet is designed to assist you in estimat-
ing the value of the decedent’s assets. If you think the estate’s value is close to the $2 million taxable threshold, you may
want to consider filing Form 706 ME and/or seeking the advice of an estate tax professional. Note: The estate’s value
must include all property in the U.S., even property that is located outside Maine.

An estate may be audited either before or after a lien discharge has been issued. The personal representative is liable for
any tax due if MRS determines that a Maine estate tax liability exists.

On the certificate of lien discharge, enter the location and description of the property for which you would like the lien
released. Generally, you will enter the name and address of the personal representative in the “Return to” box. Maine Rev-
enue Services will mail the signed lien discharge to that address.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Residency status. Check the box that corresponds to the residency of the decedent on the date of death. This may be dif-
ferent than the physical location of the decedent. If the decedent was not a resident of Maine, enter the state of residence.
If the decedent was married or a widow/widower at the time of death, enter the name and social security number of the
decedent’s spouse.

Personal representative or person in possession of decedent’s property. Enter in this section the information for the
appointed personal representative of the decedent. A personal representative may also be called an executor. If a personal
representative has not been appointed, or if there is more than one personal representative, enter the information for one
person on this form and attach a list containing information for all other persons in possession of property of the decedent.

Authorized representative. Complete this section only if you elect to have someone represent the estate for you. Gener-
ally, this authorized representative would be a tax professional who you hire and would like to communicate with MRS on
your behalf. This section is optional. If you do not wish to name an authorized representative, skip this section and com-
plete the signature area.
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