

## CERTIFIED VISUAL MEDIA PRODUCTION CREDIT WORKSHEET FOR TAX YEAR 2019 36 M.R.S. § 5219-Y

TAXPAYER NAME:			EIN/SSN:	
Date	visual me	dia production completed:		
Note	name and	f pass-through entities (such as partnerships, LLC ID number of the pass-through entity on the line ugh entity for the tax year.		
	NAME OF PASS-THROUGH ENTITY		EIN/SSN	OWNERSHIP PERCENTAGE
				%
<u>lı</u>	mportant:	Businesses claiming the Pine Tree Deve eligible for this credit.	elopment Zone income tax	credit are not
		To claim the credit, you must attach a co- certificate issued by the Department of B		
1.	√isual media	production expenses (see instructions)	1	
		Note: If less than \$75,000, STOP; you of Owners of pass-through entities, see	o not qualify for the credit. instructions for line 1.	
2.	Credit rate		2.	.05
	Certified visual media production credit (line 1 multiplied by line 2). Enter the result here and on Form 1120ME, Schedule C, line 1n or on Form 1040ME, Schedule A, line 20, or Form 1041ME, Schedule A, line 12			

**Note:** Any unused Certified Visual Media Production Credit may not be carried over to other tax years.

## 2019 CERTIFIED VISUAL MEDIA PRODUCTION CREDIT WORKSHEET INSTRUCTIONS

## **General Instructions**

The certified visual media production credit is based on visual media production expenses, defined below. To claim the credit, a visual media production company must obtain a visual media production certificate from the Department of Economic and Community Development ("DECD"). For more information on how to apply for a visual media production certificate, go to www.filminmaine.com/incentives. The credit is available to corporations through Form 1120ME, available to individuals who are owners/members of pass-through entities and sole proprietors through Form 1040ME and available to trusts and estates through Form 1041ME. The credit is available only for the tax year during which the visual media production is completed.

Visual media production expenses are expenses incurred in Maine with respect to a certified visual media production for the following: expenses associated with preproduction, production and postproduction; construction costs; operations; editing and related services; music, photography and film processing, including transferring film to tape or digital format; sound recording, mixing and synchronization; lighting, makeup, wardrobe and accessories; transportation; food and lodging for cast and crew; insurance and bonding; rental of facilities and equipment, including location fees; and any other expenses incurred in Maine with respect to a certified visual media production not specifically excluded by law (5 M.R.S. § 13090-L).

Visual media production expenses do not include the following: marketing, advertising, printing or disseminating a visual media production; wages, salaries, commissions or any other form of compensation or remuneration paid to employees for personal services; payments made to temporary employee-leasing companies; payments made to performing artists; and contractual payments for the service of individuals working in Maine for which reimbursement was claimed under the certified visual media production reimbursement program (36 M.R.S., Chapter 919-A and Maine Form 841ME) or for which reimbursement could have been claimed but for the \$50,000 limitation.

In the case of pass-through entities (such as partnerships, LLCs, S corporations, and trusts), the partners, members, shareholders, beneficiaries or other owners are allowed credits in proportion to their respective interests in these entities.

## **Specific Instructions**

**Line 1.** Enter the total visual media production expenses incurred, as described in the general instructions above. If you are an owner in a pass-through entity, enter on line 1 only that portion of the visual media production expenses that reflects your ownership percentage in the entity. Your portion may be less than \$75,000. This amount should be provided to you by the pass-through entity.