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This bulletin contains important information about legislation enacted during the First Regular 
Session and First Special Session of the 130th Legislature and other recent developments that affect 
everyone who reports Maine sales, use, service provider, and other special taxes.  Please read it 

carefully.  The changes contain a variety of effective dates and apply to sales occurring on or after 
the applicable effective date. 

 
What you will find in this publication: 

 

SALES AND USE TAX 

 Amended Statutes: Registration requirements for sellers 
 Sourcing rules  

Pine Tree Development Zone reimbursement program extended 
 New Exemptions  

 Updated Exemptions 

 COVID-19 Related Updates 

 
HOSPITAL TAX   
 

MARIJUANA EXCISE TAX  
 

 

 

 

 

 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 

 
Maine Revenue Services Website www.maine.gov/revenue 

Laws and Rules www.maine.gov/revenue/rules/homepage.html 
Sales Tax Website www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/salestax/salestax.html 

 

For general assistance, call (207) 624-9693, 9 AM to 12 Noon, Monday through Friday (state 
holidays excepted), or email sales.tax@maine.gov. 
 



Sales and Use Tax 
Amended Statutes 
 

 

ECONOMIC NEXUS THRESHOLDS UPDATED 

36 M.R.S. § 1754-B(1-B) 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022 

 
Currently, a person making sales of tangible personal property – including products transferred 
electronically – or taxable services who is not located in the state of Maine is required to register 
with Maine Revenue Services (MRS) as a retailer and collect and remit the sales tax on sales 
delivered in or into Maine if the person’s total gross sales in Maine of tangible personal property 
or taxable services in the previous calendar year or current calendar year exceed $100,000; or the 
person sold tangible personal property or taxable services in Maine in at least 200 separate 
transactions in the previous calendar year or current calendar year. 
 
Currently, a marketplace facilitator is required to register with MRS as a retailer for the purposes 
of collecting and remitting the sales tax on all sales of tangible personal property or taxable services 
made through the marketplace in Maine, including sales facilitated on behalf of a marketplace 
seller and direct sales made by the marketplace facilitator, if the marketplace facilitator’s gross 
sales from delivery of tangible personal property or taxable services into Maine in the previous 
calendar year or current calendar year exceed $100,000; or the marketplace facilitator sold or 
facilitated sales of tangible personal property or taxable services for delivery into Maine in at least 
200 separate transactions in the previous calendar year or current calendar year. 
 
Effective January 1, 2022, the 200-transaction threshold for establishing nexus for both remote 
sellers and marketplace facilitators is repealed.  (PL 2021, c. 181) 

 
 

 

DEFINITION UPDATED 

“In this State” 
36 M.R.S. § 1752(5) 

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022 
 

The definition for “in this State or in the State” has been amended, effective January 1, 2022, to 
include sales of tangible personal property and taxable services that are sourced in this State 
pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 1819.  (PL 2021, c. 181) 
 

 
 



PERSONS PRESUMPTIVELY REQUIRED TO REGISTER 

Registration Requirement Repealed 
36 M.R.S. § 1754-B(1-A) 

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022 
 

The law providing a rebuttable presumption of nexus for persons presumed to be engaged in the 
business of selling tangible personal property or taxable services in the State has been repealed, 
effective January 1, 2022.  (PL 2021, c. 181) 

 
 

 
SOURCING 

36 M.R.S. § 1819(2) 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022 

 
The sourcing provision for sales made in the State was amended by removing the word “retail,” in 
order to ensure all sales made on or after January 1, 2022, in the State are sourced according to 
this section of law.  (PL 2021, c. 181) 

 
 

 

EXCLUSION FROM RETAIL SALE CLARIFIED 

Vehicles Rented for a Period of Less Than One Year 
36 M.R.S. §§ 1752(11)(B)(3) and (3-A) 

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022 
 

The exclusion from the definition of “retail sale” for automobiles purchased by a person engaged 
in the business of renting automobiles for a period of less than one year has been amended by 
separating into its own subparagraph the exclusion for the purchase of pickup trucks or vans with 
a gross vehicle weight of less than 26,000 pounds, including integral parts or accessories, made by 
a person primarily engaged in the business of renting automobiles.  (PL 2021, c. 181) 

 

 

 

PINE TREE DEVELOPMENT ZONE 

Program Extended  
36 M.R.S. §§ 1760(87) and 2016(4)(A) 

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2021 
 

The Pine Tree Development Zone (PTDZ) program has been extended.  Businesses may not be 
certified for the program after December 31, 2023, and qualified PTDZ businesses will no longer 
be able to receive certain PTDZ benefits after December 31, 2033.  PTDZ benefits include an 
exemption from sales and use tax for purchases of tangible personal property and the transmission 
and distribution of electricity used in a qualified business activity.  (PL 2021, c. 398) 

 

 



New Exemptions 
 

MENSTRUAL PRODUCTS 

36 M.R.S. § 1760(107) 
EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 1, 2021 

 
Beginning October 1, 2021, the law enacts a sales tax exemption for sales of menstrual products.  
“Menstrual products” means tampons, panty liners, menstrual cups, sanitary napkins, and other 
similar tangible personal property designed for feminine hygiene in connection with the human 
menstrual cycle.  (PL 2021, c. 398) 

 
 

 
AREA AGENCY ON AGING 

36 M.R.S. § 1760(108) 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022 

 
Beginning January 1, 2022, the law provides a sales tax exemption for sales to area agencies on 
aging designated under 22 M.R.S. § 5116(1)(B) or sales to a public or nonprofit private agency 
that is operating under grants authorized by Title 22, chapter 1457 of the Maine Revised Statutes, 
and that is providing social services in order to secure and maintain maximum independence and 
dignity in a home environment of for older people capable of self-care with appropriate supportive 
services.  (PL 2021, c. 399) 

 
 

 
NONPROFIT CEMETERIES 

36 M.R.S. § 1760(109) 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022 

 
Beginning January 1, 2022, the law provides an exemption from sales tax for sales to a cemetery 
company that is exempt from federal income taxation under Section 501(c)(13) of the Code.  (PL 

2021, c. 416) 

 

 
 

CERTAIN EDUCATIONAL COLLABORATIVES 

36 M.R.S. § 1760(110) 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2021 

 
Beginning January 1, 2022, the law enacts a sales tax exemption for sales to an incorporated 
nonprofit collaborative whose members are regional school units, as defined in 20-A M.R.S. § 
1(24-B), and that is organized to assist those units with professional development opportunities 
and service.  (PL 2021, c. 417) 

 

 



FIREARM SAFETY DEVICES  

36 M.R.S. § 1760(111) 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022 

 
Beginning January 1, 2022, the law provides an exemption from sales tax on sales of firearm safety 
devices.  A “firearm safety device” means, if specifically designed for securing firearms, a lockbox 
or a trigger lock or barrel lock. (PL 2021, c. 440) 
 

 

Amended Exemptions 
 

DIABETIC SUPPLIES 

36 M.R.S. § 1760(33) 
EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 18, 2021 

 
The sales tax exemption for diabetic equipment and supplies has been amended to specify the 
diabetic equipment and supplies must be used by the purchaser in the diagnosis or treatment of 
human diabetes.  (PL 2021, c. 253) 

 
 

 
LOCALLY ORGANIZED MEMBER OF NONPROFIT WORLDWIDE CHARITABLE 

ORGANIZATION 

 
36 M.R.S. § 1760(106) 

RETROACTIVE TO JUNE 16, 2020 
 

The sales tax exemption for nonprofit worldwide charitable organizations was repealed and 
replaced to clarify the exemption is intended for the local, community-based branches of the 
worldwide charitable organizations.  (PL 2021, c. 253) 

 

 

Covid-19 Related Updates  
 

MACHINERY OR EQUIPMENT USED IN PRODUCTION 

Definition of “Primarily” Modified 
36 M.R.S. § 1752(9-A) 

EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 18, 2021 
 

The definition of “primarily” found in 36 M.R.S. §1752(9-A) is modified by replacing “time” with 
“days in use” if the 2-year period described in that definition includes any portion of the state of 
emergency declared by the Governor due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  (PL 2021, c. 181) 
 

 

 

 



CERTAIN PROPERTY PURCHASED OUTSIDE THE STATE 

Exemption Updated 
36 M.R.S. § 1760(45)(A-4) 

EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 18, 2021 
 

The sales tax exemption for property brought into the State solely to conduct activities directly 
related to a “declared state of disaster or emergency” has been amended to align the definition of 
“disaster period” with the definition found in 10 M.R.S. § 9902.  (PL 2021, c. 181) 

 
 
Other 
 

ATV Recreational Management Fund 

36 M.R.S. § 1820 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2022 

 
The law establishes the ATV Recreational Management Fund, and beginning January 1, 2022, 
requires that 90% of the sales tax revenue collected from the short-term rental of all-terrain 
vehicles will be transferred to that fund.  The remaining 10% of the sales tax revenue must be 
transferred to the Multimodal Transportation Fund.  (PL 2021, c. 446) 

 

 

 

Hospital Tax  
 

DEFINITION UPDATED 

“Municipally Funded Hospital” 
36 M.R.S. § 2891(1-A) 

EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 18, 2021 
 

“Mayo Regional Hospital in Dover-Foxcroft” was removed from the definition of “municipally 
funded hospital” under the Hospital Tax law.  The sole “municipally funded hospital” at this time 
is Cary Medical Center in Caribou.  (PL 2021, c. 253) 

 

 
 

HOSPITAL’S TAXABLE YEAR 

36 M.R.S. § 2892 
EFFECTIVE JUNE 29, 2021 

 
For state fiscal years beginning on or after July 1, 2021, the hospital’s taxable year is the hospital’s 
fiscal year that ended during calendar year 2018.  (PL 2021, c. 29) 

 

 

 

 



Marijuana Excise Tax 
 

NEW DEFINITIONS 

“Wet Marijuana Flower” and “Wet Marijuana Trim” 
36 M.R.S. §§ 4921(13) and (14) 

EFFECTIVE JUNE 22, 2021 
 

The law enacts new definitions for “wet marijuana flower” and “wet marijuana trim” to 
differentiate between marijuana flower and marijuana trim, where the wet versions are not dried, 
cured, or otherwise prepared in any manner to reduce or eliminate any water weight.  This law 
change codifies in statute the definitions found for these terms under Office of Marijuana Policy 
Rule 18-691, Chapter 3, “Emergency Rule Regarding the Imposition of Excise Taxes on Sales, 
Purchases and Transfers of Adult Use Marijuana,” which was effective beginning August 20, 
2020.  (PL 2021, c. 323) 

 

 
 

EXCISE TAX RATE AMENDED 

Mature Marijuana Plants 
36 M.R.S. § 4923(3-A) 

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2021 
 

Beginning with sales or transfers occurring on or after July 1, 2021, the law amends the excise tax 
rate imposed on mature marijuana plants from $335 per pound to $35 per mature marijuana plant.  
The excise tax is payable by cultivation facility licensees when the plants are sold or transferred 
to other licensees in the State. 
 
The same rate would apply in the event a cultivating facility licensee purchases or receives a 
transfer of mature marijuana plants from a registered caregiver or registered dispensary pursuant 
to 36 M.R.S. § 4923.  (PL 2021, c. 323) 

 
 

 

EXCISE TAX RATE AMENDED 

Wet Marijuana Flower and Wet Marijuana Trim 
36 M.R.S. § 4923-A 

EFFECTIVE JUNE 22, 2021 
 

The law amends the way to determine the total weight of wet marijuana flower and wet marijuana 
trim for the purpose of calculating the excise tax due on those items.  The total weight of the wet 
marijuana flower or wet marijuana trim is reduced by 75% before applying the appropriate excise 
tax rate.  This law change codifies in statute the calculations required under Office of Marijuana 
Policy Rule 18-691, Chapter 3, “Emergency Rule Regarding the Imposition of Excise Taxes on 
Sales, Purchases and Transfers of Adult Use Marijuana,” which was effective beginning August 
20, 2020.  (PL 2021, c. 323) 

 


