Welcome to the Department of the Secretary of State


In observance of Columbus Day all Secretary of State offices will be closed Monday, October 8, 2018

As you browse through our website, you will find a very diverse Department with three distinct bureaus - the Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, the Maine State Archives and the Bureau of Motor Vehicles . While each bureau has unique duties in the services and information it provides to the citizens of Maine, they all share the Department's goals of ensuring customer satisfaction and providing quality services. [Read more about the Department]

Documents page Presidential Advisory Commission on Election Integrity (PACEI)

REAL ID - The Facts:

Revised 8/27/2018

( PDF Format ) ( Word Format )

REAL ID Frequently Asked Questions

REAL ID Brochure

What's New in the Department

Towns of Rockport, Damariscotta now offering Rapid Renewal Service 
Maine Bicentennial Commission to launch website, outreach campaign
Unveiling of the New Barbara Bush specialty license plate
Bureau of Motor Vehicles announces new schedule for several mobile driver license units
Town of Randolph now offering Rapid Renewal Service

(More News)