Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Driver License Services > Suspensions & Revocations

Suspensions and Revocations

All reinstatement fees, fines and court fees must be paid before your driver’s license can be reinstated.  No reinstatement fees apply to medical suspensions.

Reinstatement fees can be paid at any branch office or by telephone. If reinstating over the telephone, please have your Visa or MasterCard ready. Reinstatement fees can not be paid at any mobile unit location.

For information regarding a suspension or revocation, please call or send a request in writing to:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Driver License Services Division
29 State House Station
Augusta, ME  04333-0029
Telephone: (207) 624-9000
TTY Users Call Maine relay 711

The request should include your name, date of birth and current address.  Please specify the type of information you are requesting. 

If you require a copy of the suspension or revocation letter, please include the effective date along with a fee of $10.00.  If you wish the information to be faxed to you, please include the fax number and an additional fee of $2.00.  There is an additional fee of $1.00 for a certified copy of the record.

COURT RECORDS - for questions regarding the following call (207)624-9000 extension 52100

Administrative Suspensions
Adverse and Erratic driver suspensions
CDL suspensions resulting from court decisions
Court Ordered suspensions
Demerit Points
Failure to Pay Child Support
Failure to Pay Fine / Failure to Appear / Failure to Pay Fine Contempt
Material Misstatement of Fact suspensions
Non-filing Illegal Transportation Drugs/Liquor
Out of State Failure to Pay Fine/Appear
PDPS suspensions
Protested Check
Provisional suspensions
Signature Withdrawals

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY AND ACCIDENT - for questions regarding the following call (207)624-9000 extension 52108

Judgment suspension resulting from accident
SR-22 Requirements resulting from court decisions
Toll Suspensions
Uninsured Accidents

OUI/HO - for questions regarding the following call (207) 624-9000 extension 52104

Administrative suspension resulting from alcohol related offenses
Court Ordered OUI suspensions
Habitual Offender Revocations
Ignition Interlock
Issuance of work restricted licenses for persons convicted of OUI
Operating Under the Influence resulting from court decisions
Refusals
Vehicular Manslaughter suspensions

LICENSE INFORMATION - for information regarding the following call (207)624-9000 extension 52114

Clearance/Verification letters

MEDICAL (No reinstatement fee’s apply) - for information regarding the following call (207)624-9000 extension 52124

Adverse suspension resulting from medical adverse report
Medical condition suspensions
Vision condition suspensions

What is the difference between a suspension and a revocation?

Suspension of a driver’s license means the temporary withdrawal of a license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle by formal action of the bureau or a court.

Revocation of a driver’s license means the termination of a license or privilege to operate by formal action of the bureau or a court.  A revoked license may not be restored or renewed but may only be regained by a new application.

Driving Records

A driving record or driving history is a list of tickets, suspensions and accidents for an individual driver.  You can obtain a copy of your driving record online or in person at any branch office or mobile unit location. The fee for a 3 year record is $5.00 and the fee for a 10 year record is $10.00.