Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

November 14, 2006
Contact: Doug Dunbar

Second Recount Completed -- House District 128

AUGUSTA, MAINE – Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap announced on Tuesday that a recount of results from the November General Election in House District 128 was conducted and completed today under the supervision of the Secretary of State's Office.

At the conclusion of the recount in House District 128, Peggy A. Pendleton (D) of Scarborough remained the winner. Sylvia J. Most (R) of Scarborough requested the recount after preliminary unofficial results from Election Day indicated that she lost the election. The recount determined that 2,079 votes were cast for Pendleton, while 2,053 were cast for Most. Votes cast for Green Independent Party candidate Leo Knighton Tallarico of Scarborough remained unchanged from Election Day.

All recounts are conducted at the Department of Public Safety headquarters on Commerce Drive in Augusta. Recounts are a public proceeding and members of the media may observe. State law requires the State Police to collect the ballots for the recounts and keep them in the secure State Police facility until the recounts have been completed. The ballots are stored in tamperproof metal containers and are closed with specially numbered security seals and locks.

In a recount, the representatives of each candidate and staff members from the Department of the Secretary of State manually review each ballot to determine the official vote tally. Recounts are requested based upon the unofficial initial results.

If a recount produces enough disputed ballots to affect the outcome of the election, the Maine House of Representatives would determine which candidate to seat in House races. The Maine State Senate would determine which candidate to seat in State Senate races. The Supreme Judicial Court would make a determination in County races.

In the first recount, John F. McDonough (R) of Scarborough remained the winner in House District 127.