Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

February 9, 2007
Contact: Matthew Dunlap

Secretary of State Dunlap Announces Expansion of Rapid Renewal Service

Wayne Residents Can Now Renew Vehicle Registrations Online

The Town of Wayne has launched Rapid Renewal, the Department of the Secretary of State’s online service for the renewal of motor vehicle registrations. Residents of Wayne now join the hundreds of thousands of Maine citizens who can renew their vehicle registrations online, at anytime of the day, from the comfort and convenience of their homes or offices. Rapid Renewal is a groundbreaking e-commerce service that allows citizens to conduct business with municipal government and state government in one seamless online transaction. The service has gained national acclaim and has been enthusiastically embraced by Mainers. While municipal participation in Rapid Renewal is optional, the service has quickly grown to include 110 municipalities, and more than 190,000 transactions have been processed.

“Wayne joins a long and growing list of Maine communities choosing to provide their residents with the convenience of Rapid Renewal,” stated Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap. “I encourage nonparticipating towns to follow the leadership of Wayne and the many other participating municipalities. As budget-conscious municipal leaders seek new ways to provide efficient and convenient services, I’m confident Rapid Renewal will become available to an increasing number of Maine citizens.”

The 110 municipalities currently offering Rapid Renewal comprise more than 60% of Maine’s population. The service is being offered by municipalities from York County to Aroostook County, with populations ranging from Caswell’s 326 citizens to Portland’s 64,249. Through Rapid Renewal, citizens are able to renew their vehicle registrations and pay their municipal excise taxes online, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It’s quick, and it’s easy.

Rapid Renewal may be accessed through, the Secretary of State’s site for online services.

Rapid Renewal is currently available in Acton, Alfred, Arundel, Auburn, Augusta, Bangor, Bar Harbor, Bath, Berwick, Biddeford, Boothbay, Bowdoinham, Brewer, Brownfield, Brunswick, Buxton, Cape Elizabeth, Carmel, Casco, Caswell, Chelsea, China, Corinna, Cumberland, Dayton, Dover- Foxcroft, East Millinocket, Eddington, Eliot, Exeter, Fairfield, Falmouth, Farmington, Fort Fairfield, Fort Kent, Freeport, Gardiner, Gorham, Gray, Greene, Greenwood, Hampden, Harrison, Hermon, Holden, Jay, Jefferson, Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, Kittery, Lamoine, Levant, Lewiston, Limestone, Lincolnville, Lisbon, Lyman, Madison, Manchester, Millinocket, Monmouth, New Gloucester, North Yarmouth, Norway, Oakland, Old Orchard Beach, Palermo, Patten, Phippsburg, Portland, Raymond, Readfield, Richmond, Rumford, Sabattus, Saco, Sanford, Sangerville, Scarborough, Sebago, Shapleigh, Skowhegan, South Berwick, South Portland, Southport, Standish, Topsham, Turner, Vassalboro, Veazie, Waterboro, Waterville, Wayne, Wells, Westbrook, Westport, Whitefield, Windham, Winslow, Winterport, Winthrop, Wiscasset, Woodstock, Woolwich, Yarmouth, and York.

Municipal officials who would like more information about participating in Rapid Renewal and offering this service to residents in their community may contact John Smith in the Department of the Secretary of State at 626-8400 or by email at