Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > News > Electoral College Advisory

December 15, 2008
Contact: John Smith



Electoral College to Convene Today, Monday, December 15th at 2 p.m.

Public invited to attend the ceremony in the House Chamber or view streaming video online

AUGUSTA At 2 p.m. today, in the Maine House of Representatives Chamber, Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap will convene the Electoral College for the State of Maine .  The Electoral College will conduct the official balloting for the President and Vice President of the United States of America .  The balloting is a public proceeding and the press and public are invited to attend or view the ceremony online at .

The popular vote on November 4, 2008 determined who would serve as Maine 's four Presidential electors.  The electors then convene and vote for the President and Vice President.  A brief explanation of the mechanics of Maine 's Electoral College is available on the Secretary of State's website at .

This year's Presidential Electors in Maine are:

First District - Jill Duson, Portland
Second District - Samuel Shapiro, Waterville
At-Large - Robert O'Brien, Peaks Island
At-Large - Tracie Reed, Portland

Electors of all 50 states and the District of Columbia will convene today in their respective states to cast their ballots.  Each state will report its results to the President of the United States Senate, the Archivist of the United States , the Chief Judge of their District Court, and their Secretary of State.  A majority of the 538 electoral votes is required to become President and Vice President.