Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > News > Cumberland Town Clerk Nadeen Daniels Receives the Lorraine M. Fleury Award

September 29, 2009
CONTACT: Matt Dunlap (207) 626-8400

Cumberland Town Clerk Nadeen Daniels is Conferred the Lorraine M. Fleury Award
 by Maine Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap

BANGOR, MAINE —The opening luncheon of Maine's two-day Elections Conference in Bangor for municipal clerks and registrars of voters was capped with the announcement by Secretary of State Matt Dunlap that Cumberland clerk Nadeen Daniels had been selected as the 2009 Lorraine M. Fleury Award recipient.

Each year, the Secretary of State solicits nominations for the award, named for long-time state Elections Director Lorraine M. Fleury.  The award is presented to recognize and honor an individual who has made a significant contribution to the election process and who exemplifies the qualities of fairness, experience, knowledge and service.

"The integrity and efficiency of the election process depends almost entirely on the devotion of municipal officials,” said Secretary Dunlap. “It's tough to single folks out, but individuals who carry out their duties with extraordinary energy and commitment are recognized by their peers, neighbors, and many elected officials, who have acknowledged this work with nominations for the Lorraine M. Fleury Award.”

This year's winner truly embodies the qualities of the award. Her contributions to the election process are second to none. Having begun her career in municipal government more than 30 years ago, Nadeen Daniels has a lengthy record of public service, beginning with the city of South Portland in 1977.

One election worker described Daniels' commitment: “After serving three municipalities over 32 years, Nadeen continues to embrace new and innovative ways of enhancing and promoting our elections. She has accrued the wisdom and knowledge to have confidence that she is doing the job right, BUT that is not enough for her. She strives to do the job better.”

It is with that spirit of enthusiasm and good nature that, in the 2008 Presidential Election, Nadeen approached the city clerk in Bangor with a challenge. The challenge was to have a friendly competition between the two communities to see who could have the highest percentage of absentee voters. Bangor was not an easy target, having had a strong track record in this area. Nevertheless, Cumberland , under Nadeen's direction, approached the absentee project with fresh thinking. Rather than wait for voters to go to the town office, they took voting on the road to the voters.

Nadeen arranged for the town to have its first mobile voting unit—a full-sized motor home. The mobile unit, which was a huge success, was stationed at the Post Office every Saturday morning for five weeks prior to the election. Cumberland's residents loved the convenience, and voter turnout reached 83%. Cumberland won bragging rights in the friendly competition with Bangor, but more importantly, Nadeen's leadership increased voter access to the election while making the administration of absentee voting fun for her staff.

Nadeen Daniels has been the President of the Cumberland County Municipal Clerks Association. She also served as the Vice-President of the Maine Town and City Clerks Association in 2008, and she currently serves as President of the association. Daniels' peers have noted “her integrity, her class, her energy, her professionalism, her compassion, her dedication, her willingness to always to above and beyond.”

"Maine's a national leader in the administration of elections,” said Dunlap. “Committed municipal election officials like Nadeen Daniels are the reason why.”

Past recipients of the Lorraine M. Fleury Award include:

2008 – Joan Weeman of Buxton
2007 – Patti Dubois of Bangor
2006 – Irma Bowles of Livermore
2005 – Sue Mooney of South Portland
2004 – Fran Smith of Brunswick
2003 – Gilles Auger of Sanford
2002 – Rhonda Stark of Skowhegan
2001 – Sally Bryant of Brunswick
2000 – Kathleen Montejo of Lewiston
1999 – Debra Lane of Lewiston
1998 – Deborah Cabana of Cape Elizabeth
1997 – Ethelyn Marthia of Kennebunk
1996 – D. Brenda Caldwell of Gorham
1995 – Linda Cohen of Portland
1994 – Gerald Berube of Lewiston