Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > News> Driver License Renewal Postcard

For Immediate Release
September 28, 2010
Contact: Matthew Dunlap
207-626-8400

Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap Announces a New Cost Saving Measure
Driver License Renewal Postcards to Replace More Costly Information Packets

AUGUSTA - Maine Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap has announced that the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), as part of a new cost saving measure, will change the manner in which it notifies Maine driver license holders when it is time to renew their licenses.

The BMV has been reviewing business processes for more efficient and cost effective ways to operate.  One area identified relates to the cost of producing and mailing driver license renewal packets.  The BMV mails between 105,000 and 220,000 annually, depending on the number of Maine citizens whose driver’s licenses are up for renewal in a given year.

Beginning in October 2010, driver license renewal notifications will be changed from a packet of information that costs about 78¢ per notification to a postcard that will cost about 37¢ per notification.  This equates to a savings of 41¢ per notification, or between $43,000 and $90,000 annually.  Not only will BMV be saving money, but this initiative will also reduce the amount of paper consumed and ending up in landfills.

“This is a good common sense way to save taxpayer money and resources, without diminishing the renewal reminder service we provide to Maine’s citizens,” stated Secretary Dunlap.

All of the information that was mailed previously in the driver license renewal packets will be available online at www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/renewal.html.  This includes information regarding legal presence and residency, voter registration, eye tests, and organ and tissue donation.

“We save taxpayer money, citizens get the information they need on a convenient reminder card that can be placed on the refrigerator door or some other conspicuous place, and we reduce our environmental impact,” noted Dunlap.  “It’s a win all the way around.”

Secretary Dunlap also reminds drivers that state law requires licensees to notify the Secretary of State within 30 days of an address or name change.  Notifying the Secretary of State of such changes ensures that citizens receive their renewal reminder postcards as well as other important notifications from the BMV.

A copy of the postcard is below.

Bureau of Motor Vehicles Renewal Postcard Front

 

Bureau of Motor Vehicles Renewal Postcard Back